We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Judy's Motel PA Dutch Heritage
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The image painted on the website was not what we experienced. We should have realized it especially with all the 'NO's' on their website but the video and 'family-owned' comment sucked us in.

You will get: a bed, a room with a door, and a lav.

You won't get:
* individual bathroom amenities eg soap or shampoo - you get the utilitarian single sudsy product for all things in the bath
* a room that doesn't reek of pinesol
* a hairdryer
* a single family owned business. A family owns it but not the same family over those 10 generations (And be prepared for an attack on the previous owner's - very off-putting.)
* a room close to town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norwoodpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Judy's Motel PA Dutch Heritage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

judy’s motel was a great place for us to rest our heads for the evening, as we were driving through on our way to cleveland. on our road trip we wanted somewhere simple to sleep and head out the next morning.

positives
- bill checked us in and we felt safe right away, he was very sweet, talked to us about where we were headed and recommended we check out the “coffee pot” the next morning. you should check it out too!
- room was simple, clean – just what we were looking for to catch some zzz’s.
- price is more than right - very cheap.
- bedford pa is a nice town so if you did want to check it out and stay someplace cheap this would be a good place to do it.
- we like retro and the bathrooms at judys are retro! we craved being at a motel that took us back in time!
- close to a sheetz which is useful for snacks and other things.

negatives
- some car noise from the road.
- might not be everyone’s cup of tea.
- rooms may be too outdated for some.

we would definitely return to judy's if passing through the bedford area and needing a place to sleep for the night!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vacasRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I found Judy's Motel on Trip Advisor, and decided to give it a try. I'm very glad we did. You can't beat the price, $50. for a weekend night for a room with free wifi, 2 double beds, coffee maker, air conditioning. We parked right outside our room, it's an old style basic hotel - no pool, restaurant or breakfast. But at this price we were able to purchase breakfast at Both Judy and her husband are lovely people, and offered local information and suggestions. The room was clean and quiet. Beds were comfortable. You do have to arrive before 10:00 PM to check in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank idlewood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Reminds me of the little motels you see from the 50's. It is clean, bug free, maid service daily, the couple that owns the place is very nice and will help you find things to do. I will stay there any time I go near the area. Great little place to be, and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stay at Judy's about one time per year, in the month of July. The staff is always friendly and very helpful when we have a need or a question. The rooms are smaller that most of the locations that we stay, but that is part of the atmosphere of the location. My in-laws have be staying here on vacation for the past 30+ years and have had no complaints about the staff or the facilities,

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stargazerken73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I stayed here based on the positive feedback here on Trip Advisor. The place was consistent with the ratings; this is a classic 1960 vintage motel that is literally owner-occupied: The husband & wife who own and run the motel live in the house attached to the property, and the motel's office is a converted sun porch.

The room itself was small - a bed, desk, chair, TV was about it. Separate small but functional bathroom. Everything worked and was immaculate. Baseboard heat, wall-mounted a/c with a fan that be left on for white noise.

Decent and free Wifi service too.

For $40 + tax for one night, Judy's offers excellent value.

Coffeemaker in room, and soft drinks are available at the office (for 50 cents!) according to a posted sign.

The owners make the difference; Bill and Delores Beideman clearly put themselves into the property and are eager to make things right and will cheerfully provide recommendations on restaurants and activities in the area.

Definitely worth a return trip. Oh...remember to say 'hi' to Sneakers, the Beidemans' cat who guards the property...

Room Tip: The owners request that you not call the hotel or check in after 10 PM.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdcuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stopped here on the way east, based on TripAdvisor reviews. We called ahead to make sure we had a place, and we were met by the owner upon arrival. He seemed happy to see us and took us to our room and showed us all of the "features." It was a nice beginning to a pleasant stay. The motel and our room were indeed from the 50's, but it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. I didn't mind walking around the room in my bare feet, which, as you know, you often don't want to do. Overall it was a great value and we would definitely stay again. The owner gave us a few suggestions for places to eat, and we visited one that he wasn't too excited about--he was right, not surprisingly. Although the Jean Bonnet restaurant is supposedly historic, it doesn't look like it from the inside and the service and food were so-so. I'd go with his recommendations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
717 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#9 of 10 in Bedford
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judy's Motel PA Dutch Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judy's Motel PA Dutch Heritage

Address: 3521 Business 220, Bedford, PA 15522-1124
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bedford
#5 Family Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £45 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Judy's Motel PA Dutch Heritage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Judy's Motel all rooms are ground level with at-door parking. We offer queen size or two double beds, in-room courtesy coffee, well-maintained clean rooms, direct dial phones with data ports, no hidden charges and free local calls, 50-channel 25' cable TV w/ remote, room controlled heat and AC, tourist info, and discount ski lift packages. "Clean, secure, comfortable rooms ... at reasonable prices." This is the goal we set for ourselves. This is the goal that we achieve every day at Judy's Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Judy's Motel PA Dutch Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judys Hotel Bedford
Judys Motel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing