We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what to think”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Pearljoanna
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not sure what to think”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from what was supposed to be a two night stay (but ended up being a one night reasons you'll see in a minute). Very,very beautiful building, love the historic photos and artifacts throughout the resort. Room was very comfortable but I have to say they felt like the smallest double beds we've seen in awhile. Nice mattresses, though. Although other reviewers noted AC being sort of annoying, ours ran smoothly. Room was very nicely decorated. But we changed our plans from two nights to one. While higher end resorts always have resort fees, and more fees tacked on for activities, we had a really hard time with the high price of the room plus the resort fee and on top of it swallowing even more fees- for example, in the kids area, you have to pay to play a game of pool with your kids. Seriously? Can't Omni just throw that in? And they charge guests for a tour of the resort. Again, do they really have to charge on top of everything else for a tour? It just became really annoying. Although they talk a lot about being kid friendly, in our opinion it really is best for people without kids or maybe a girls weekend. There were minimal activities for kids that didn't cost extra. We really didn't even see board games when we checked out the kids area. Maybe we missed them but it seemed pretty stark. The outdoor pool was a bit of a strange experience. First, it seems like it should be twice as big for the size of the resort. It was primarily filled with adults, so no kids were crowding the pool, but it felt like everyone was standing on top of each other. Not sure why Omni planned it that way. It didn't seem to be related to how busy the resort was, because while there were many people lounging and only maybe 10 people in the water. Yes, the indoor pool is available, but in the summer everyone wants to be outside in the nice weather. The other weird thing was that an extended family of adults started playing with one of those water hacky sacks and spread out and took over a majority of the pool throwing it between five adult men. (One of the guys even yelled at his own kid to get out of the way of their game) It felt like we were intruding on someone's backyard pool. The other guests were all clinging to the wall looking perplexed like we were. I know people will do strange things but no staff stepped in to ask the forty year old men to stop. The family was probably an anomaly, but it was still strange. (In general staff were helpful). So...overall, I'm not really sure what we think. We've stayed at resorts in Hawaii, Europe and the Caribbean that cost the same so we aren't shy about spending money, but we were just left with a very mixed opinion despite all the rave reviews. We went somewhere else the next night where more was included with the resort fee.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearljoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such an extensive commentary! I assure you we welcome all feedback in an effort to improve any areas of services that may show any deficiencies. Your bringing attention to these outdoor pool activities will certainly assist in our continuing efforts to improve upon this very important summer amenity. Further, I will be more than happy to share your feedback regarding the cost of individual resort activities. I regret that you were unable to find additional activities and hope that you will consider consulting with our Concierge upon your next visit so they may help you locate games or suggest other activities that we have available for our younger guests. I am hopeful that you and your family will have the opportunity to visit with us again next summer – or perhaps you will keep an eye out for the family friendly activities we plan for the Fall and Winter months as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,766
    669
    180
    67
    39
See reviews for
766
1,855
72
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place!! The greeting we received was genuine,the food is excellent,and the spa will make you so relaxed you melt. My room is great and the rocker on the porch outside my door is the best.
Only negative is Resturant service is slow. 1796 is supposed to be the better Resturant ( than the Chystal Room) but the hostess was not friendly , our table was not ready, though we had the opening time and we were seated in a back corner ,like we were unwanted. I had made the reservation a week before and tried to change it to a half hour later and was told they did not have a table available. When we left ,and throughout our meal the Resturant was less than half full??The Chystal was the same great food with friendlier staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spent our 50th Wedding Anniversary at Bedford Springs Resort. It is a quiet, retreat with excellent hospitality. The staff is ever present to meet all ones needs. Spa is superb. Dining in the Crystal Room is a must.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethedsa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful relaxing trip at this hotel. Service was terrific and hotel facility and room was immaculate. Cannot wait to go back. Grounds were well maintained and truly spectacular. Did not play golf or use the spa facilities but they appeared to be top notch. Food at the 1796 room for dinner was terrific and waiter was very knowledgeable of the products being offered. This was truly an enjoyable experience for me and my wife

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigantine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Want to get away and relax, relax, relax???...Omni Bedford Springs Resort is the place!!...This charming resort is decorated with muted tones to capture the early days of this resort. The staff, the food, and the amenities are awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from our first visit. The setting, the grounds, the accommodations, and the food surpassed expectations.Used the spa and had the best massage ever- Swedish. Spent about an hour in the women's lounge at the spa after my massage- a very lovely, quiet and comfortable place to rest, snooze or read after a spa treatment.
Am impressed with the attention to detail throughout the resort- from the quality of the bedding (luxuriously soft sheets, great pillows, mattress) to the selections at the breakfast buffet (the best gluten free bread I've ever had). It's been a long time since I've encountered such consistently high quality and personable customer service- right up to the moment we left.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Bedford Springs was a very relaxing time. Except for the rain while golfing...the food and drinks were excellent. Their pit fire was a nice addition. Very quiet and we loved sitting on the porch outside our room in their rocking chairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
373 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
665 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
71 reviews
14.2 mi away
Best Western Plaza Inn
Best Western Plaza Inn
#4 of 8 in Breezewood
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Property: Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522-2026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing