We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Bedford Springs Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice hotel, very historical, but looks spooky, reminded me of the movie The Shining. Beautiful rooms-great beds/pillows. Eat in town, it's cheaper-go to 10/09 - try the Risotto!! $25/per day resort fee. Pool is nice but gets very crowded. Indoor pool is not heated as they advertise. Food is expensive. Covered bridge tour very nice but print out your own directions and don't pay $85 the hotel charges. They won't show you the spa unless you book a service. They say it's to protect the clients. If I don't like the way it looks, then why would I book a service. Doesn't make sense. Grounds are beautiful! Golf course is very nice. Overall it's okay for a quick weekend. Wait for a Groupon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MdmPurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Bedford Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for this great all-around synopsis of our resort! Yes - we do have great dining options both on and off the property with The 10/09 Kitchen being a local favorite. As Nick and Sara, the owners, are both former employees of the Resort, we are extremely happy and very proud to share in the success of their new business! As you mentioned, our spa area is indeed a very private retreat where our guests can relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the world. It is amazing how much reinvigorated just a few hours “away from it all” can make one feel.

And again Yes! We often get compared to various movies, with “The Shining” being one that is mentioned quite a bit as this beautifully renovated property does sprawl across almost a quarter of a mile in total dimension! “Dirty Dancing” also seems to come to mind when guests discuss how the resort reminds them of a simple, less hectic by-gone era. As our hallways and common areas are full of historical artifacts, ledgers, and photographs, it is easy to imagine any number of film classics. I am glad that you enjoyed the historical aspect of the resort and hope that you will consider another visit with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,523 - 2,529 of 4,044 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel has been restored to it's turn of the century glory days. A beautiful Grand Dame that has charm and luxury in an unexpected place. Add to that wonderful service from the staff and you have a great place to spend a night or a week and enjoy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KerwinN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I can or say enough about this great resort. Excellent AND pleasant service all around. Rooms are exquisitely appointed. Food and wine is outstanding. So peaceful and relaxing on the porches and inside the many nooks around the hotel. Excellent.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We enjoyed a two night visit in July for a mini family reunion. The hotel is very nice and the service quality is most impressive. Beautiful location in Bedford Pa. Hotel staff is outstanding and very friendly. Enjoyed great food in the 1796 Room (best steak in years here) and the facilities were all well run (golf, spa, pool, biking). The resort is somewhat expensive, but the experience is worth it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved our time at this hotel. Beautiful grounds, nice rooms, and wonderful restaurants. Staff worth mentioning that went above and beyond were Scott (he is the nice guy at the front door that greets you). He told us so much about the hotel, it's history and some fun suggestions on what to do while there during the weekend. He was such a nice guy and deserves lots of recognition!!! The hotel should be lucky to have him on their staff.
On the downside, the lady (did not get her name, but has short brown hair and wear glasses) who works at the Concierge desk never smiled at us, when we asked her what to do indoors (due to inclement weather) she name zero recommendations,just looked at us like ghosts. Each time we saw her and approached, she was just unfriendly and seemed truly bothered to be doing her job. A complete difference from Scott. I think management NEEDS to train this lady on kind customer service and how to make indoor hotel suggestions to guests. She should have promoted events
going on (like the cooking class for instance),but never did.
Another fail, the service in the dining area was good, and food was good, but they served the food so fast that it took away from the concept of a relaxing dinner. This happened at both the Tavern and 1796. Slow down the service, guests are there to relax. It is a resort after all.
There are so many great things about this place (indoor/outdoor pool, spa, rooms, food), but certain things require some major attention by management.

Room Tip: this is place is pet friendly. You may hear dogs barking in the early morning. Kind of a fail esp if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetting79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We actually saw this on Groupon for a great price and, although it was less than 40 miles from Johnstown, PA where we had been to the AAABA baseball tournament for 3 years in a row, we had never heard of it. It was equidistant for our children coming from Charlottesville, VA, Philly, and east of Cleveland. The grounds are lovely, the rooms comfortable and attractive, and the surrounding area just lovely. Great retreat spot. I enjoyed reading the variety of historical plaques and framed writings throughout the hotel...
We did have a problem checking in...one of our rooms was not available due to a water problem. The hotel was booked that night. My son-in-law negotiated for a great room the next two nights and we finagled the first night in 3 instead of 4 rooms.
My husband insists the $22.00 breakfast buffet is overpriced...I figure it goes with the territory.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Bedford Springs Hotel is an impeccably restored grand hotel that proudly displays its 200 years of history in photographs and ornamentation throughout its extensive common spaces. We enjoyed the guided tour of the hotel as much as the exceptional recreational facilities that have been added to attract guests of all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank 365gregorym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bedford hotels
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bedford
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Bedford
Quality Inn Bedford
#2 of 10 in Bedford
438 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bedford
Hampton Inn Bedford
#4 of 10 in Bedford
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#6 of 10 in Bedford
727 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Bedford
Super 8 Bedford
#5 of 10 in Bedford
90 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel Town House
Motel Town House
#9 of 10 in Bedford
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Bedford Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Bedford Springs Resort

Address: 2138 Business Route 220, Bedford, PA 15522-2026
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bedford
#1 Family Hotel in Bedford
#1 Business Hotel in Bedford
Price Range: £153 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Bedford Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located within a two hour drive of Washington, DC and Pittsburgh, PA the Omni Bedford Springs is the ideal destination for rejuvenation. The resort recently completed a $120 million restoration and features 216 elegantly appointed guest rooms and suites. This historic resort boasts the number one golf course in Pennsylvania, the 30,000 square foot Springs Eternal Spa, 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, 5 restaurants, two pools, 25 miles of hiking trails and a variety of other on-site activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Bedford Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Bedford Springs Hotel Bedford
Bedford Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing