We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like royalty at The Queen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Bellefonte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Feel like royalty at The Queen”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Spent an absolutely wonderful night in Anne's room. Lovely, cozy room. We enjoyed playing with the Victorian music "toys" in the parlor - player piano, victrola,etc. available for all to try. The gardens around the house are beautiful. Enjoyed a great breakfast prepared by our host, Nancy, with whom we had several very pleasant conversations. Next time we are in victorian Bellfonte, won't have to think twice about where to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbeachbum56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review for us. We certainly hope that "next time... in Bellefonte" comes real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
42
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This place was exactly why I really like B & B's. The proprietor was very friendly and accommodating. We stayed one night in The Maid's Quarters, which is a 1 bedroom suite with a living room, full kitchen, and bathroom. The living room had a futon for 2 kids to sleep in, so 4 people fit comfortably. The decor is Victorian and quirky. Everything was clean and there were chocolate truffles awaiting us on arrival, as well as water and soda in the fridge. Breakfast was delicious, and the proprietor asked us if we had any food preferences or dislikes the night before (we didn't). The place is in a nice part of town surrounded by other similar large, well kept homes. Nancy had some really interesting stories to tell at breakfast; she is a smart, fascinating person.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CursedIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review for us. It is always appreciated. We hope you will return sometime soon. Please let us know how we can make your next visit even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My husband and I discovered this gem almost ten years ago, when our newly married daughter and son-in-law lived in Bellefonte and didn't have a guest room fixed-up yet. We looked for a B&B and discovered "The Queen." We were welcomed warmly by Nancy. She proudly showed us the treasure of a home she and Curt had painstakingly restored. Since I love old restored homes furnished with period decor, I immediately fell in love with this beautiful homey B&B. We stayed in Anne's Room the first time -- a tasteful, luxurious room. After eating Nancy's absolutely delicious gourmet breakfast served in the gorgeous dining room, we knew we would have to return. Since then, we have stayed in the Governor's Suite numerous times. We simply love that room, as there is an inviting little sitting room with two comfy upholstered chairs, complete with a gas fireplace, in the attached turret off the bedroom. We have often commented, we would die to spend a snowy winter's night up in that cozy warm turret. The Governor's Suite is decorated with a fisherman's theme my husband especially admires, but which is classy enough for me to feel very attracted to it, too. Recently, we spent several days in The Maid's Quarters, an apartment complete with fully equipped kitchen, dining area, sitting room, bath and, of course, the lovely bedroom. Among the numerous attractions Bellefonte has to offer, my husband discovered early on an idyllic trout stream only blocks from The Queen. Curt, also a fisherman, often graciously gives him tips on other locations he might try. Even though our children lived in Bellefonte for only a few years, whenever my husband and I need to get away for a few days, The Queen beckons!

Room Tip: The Governor's Room is especially good if you want to curl up and read. Relax in a warm bath in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks so much for your glowing history of your numerous stays here at The Queen. And especially thanks for bearing with us as we transitioned to our new Mitsubishi individual room air system. I've promised myself that I will spend a snowy night in that turret myself. Hope you and your very special husband can too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALLENTOWN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

From the moment you enter the "home" your are welcomed with warmth and surrounded with "love". The Parlor is an adults playland with a working victrola and records and a player piano. Many other "toys" . I stayed in Anne's room SIGH. slipper tub -- luxurious. sheets like slipping between silk. Oh and the steps to get into the High Bed. Lounging area in the room with a fire place. Breakfast, fresh flowers on the table, music, coffee and juice as you enter the dining room. First time I ever had eggs benedict. YUM. Fresh strawberries in sweet cream. So pampered, so cared about, so spoiled. oh spoiled spoiled spoiled. Definitely will return not only for my business trips but just for get aways. If you are going to State College for a reason stay here -- only a hope skip and a jump to the campus. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Anne's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBRA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you so much Debra for your flattering comments. You were an innkeepers delight as a guest because you were so easy to please. We look forward to many more visits. you are always welcome to invite your clients to meet you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Thank you for being such a great host to me and Cindy on Valentine's Day. Your Victorian home was wonderful, our suite of rooms with the fireplace & reading room in the turret was excellent, and the Eggs Benedict were fantastic. Historic Bellefonte is one of the best of Centre County's many underrated treasures, as are you and your B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 225818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Columbus Day will be here before you know it! Now would be a great time to plan a return visit to The Queen. We appreciate the time you took to write a review and hope to make your next stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We love The Queen and stay here every time we come through PA. It's a lovely Victorian in a quiet, safe, charming neighborhood in an historic town tucked into mountains. Super comfy beds (with the softest sheets imaginable), yummy breakfasts, pet friendly (one room) and run by a lovely, caring couple who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and pampered. All kinds of fun collections -- antiques everywhere -- bee hives out back that put honey on the table...and every amenity you'd expect to find at a fine, 5-star hotel. We love this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Lorna, thanks so much for your wonderful comments. I hope you know we enjoy your visits as much as you enjoy coming. Hope too see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

While attending the annual Center County Arts Festival in State College, we decided to stay in nearby Bellefonte. Bellefonte has many charming Victorian houses and much history...the Queen stands proud among them. Food was great, decor was busy and tastefully done...could spend a whole day exploring the vast collection of curiosities, service was pleasant. Only complaint is that the price was a bit high.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerT359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thequeenbnb, Owner at The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review for us. Hope you will be able to join us again this year. Unlike the hotels in State College, we do not raise our rates for events like the Arts
Festival. We just checked and most hotels are charging as much or more as The Queen and do not offer FREE WI-fi, formal gourmet breakfast, patio dining by the gardens,or 24 hour FREE access to unlimited coffee, tea, soda,and bottled water. Some even charge extra for parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellefonte
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
7.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Milesburg
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
757 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lamar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Address: 176 E Linn St, Bellefonte, PA 16823-1704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bellefonte
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellefonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an evening of Victorian pastimes. Relax by the fireplace in the foyer surrounded by a collection of Santas. Common areas for guests include a Victorian parlour with working Victrola, player piano and steroptic viewer. Sit on the front porch and listen to the quiet while sipping a mint tea and watch the neighbors enjoy caring for their beautiful homes. Walk to the historic commercial district and purchase that unique gift or enjoy fine dining in a charming Victorian village. Indulge in a gourmet breakfast served in the large dining room with antique glassware and linens. Weather permitting, breakfast is served on the patio where you can also enjoy a small waterfall and perennial garden. We hope that you will share our green philosophy during your stay and perhaps go home a little richer for it. The Queen is making every effort to be as environmentally friendly as possible. We welcome your ideas and suggestions, as well. Stay in Annie's Room, the original master bedroom with turret and stained glass overlooking the rooftops of its neighbors. Relax in a Victorian slipper tub in the privacy of your own room. Browse through new hunting and fishing books as well as collectibles while relaxing in front of the fire in the Governor's Suite. Enjoy a formal breakfast in the elegant dining room or, weather permitting relax on the patio while enjoying the music of a waterfall. The Maid's Quarter's offers total privacy for an extended stay in your own apartment with full kitchen, bath and laundry. From $86/night (based on weekly rate). Just bring your suitcase, everything else can be provided if you wish. Need more space? Share your accommodations with friends and family in the three bedroom Guest House with full kitchen, living room and your own front porch. "Virginia's House" nightly rate starts at $90/night with rates based on length of stay. As an added convenience for our guests, take the CATA bus line, State College and Penn State campus sites from a step right outside our front door and leave the parking and driving to someone else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing