We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Stop Along the Way"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellefonte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Great Stop Along the Way"”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Wanting a mid-way stopping point off I-80 between New Jersey and Cleveland, we chose Bellefonte, PA, and the Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast. Although we've stayed at many bed and breakfasts, some in historical buildings, we were wowed by the Victorian architecture, furnishings and detailed craftsmanship of the Reynolds Mansion. Our genial host Mike explained the house was built in the 1880s for a banker, and it shows -- from carved woodwork to ornate fireplaces. We stayed in the Colonel's Green Room, which true to its name was decorated in green, with all the modern conveniences you could ask for, including a king-sized bed, flat-panel TV, Jacuzzi and air conditioning. For an early dinner, we tried the nearby Gamble Mill Restaurant, where we were welcomed warmly at the bar and enjoyed good food and drink. Although it was only a stop along the way to our ultimate destination, the Reynolds Mansion was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
120
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Harbor, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Generally we do not stay at Bed and Breakfasts. However, the Reynolds Mansion has changed our minds. After a long drive to Penn State, we were welcomed warmly by Mike and Tricia and shown to a beautiful room. The crowds that weekend in Happy Valley were truly incredible and it was nice to "get away" from them and return to the Reynolds Mansion. The porch was such a nice place to relax with a glass of wine after the crowds and parking problems at Penn State.
Mike's breakfasts were delicious and Trish's baking (scones, cookies, cake) were equally as good. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My family has always preferred to stay in B&B’s when we travel and Reynolds Mansion is by far the best we have encountered. We found the Reynolds Mansion five years ago when our son started at Penn State. It is our home away from home when visiting Happy Valley. The owners, Tricia and Mike are wonderful people and gracious hosts. The inn is absolutely beautiful; from the wrap around porch, to the snuggery, billiards room or living room, you will always find a place to relax. Each bedroom has a personality of its own with very comfortable beds, and spa like bathrooms. Mike is a fantastic chef and the breakfasts are always delicious and unique.
We have visited for events, football and most recently with extended family for our son’s graduation from Penn State. We wanted to avoid the hassles of restaurants and crowds so we asked Tricia and Mike if they would host the weekend for us not only with rooms but dinners as well. Tricia and Mike truly outdid themselves on this visit. We arrived Friday afternoon and before heading to graduation we enjoyed a delicious dinner of sandwich wraps, salads and yummy birthday cake (prepared by Tricia) for our younger sons 21st birthday. Saturday evening was the graduation celebration for our older son, starting with appetizers (amazing) of scallops wrapped in bacon, asparagus wrapped in prosciutto and the best ham and cheese sliders (yum!) around. These tasty treats were followed by dinner (even more amazing) of braised short ribs or chicken marsala (yum! yum!). Tricia’s delicious desert of molten chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream is a chocoholics dream.
Reynolds Mansion has not only provided us with a wonderful place to stay, but with new friends, the Andriaccio family, Tricia, Mike, Carly, Tony and Nia. Tricia and Mike, we cannot thank you enough for all the wonderful stays at your inn, full of family, friends, food, fun and some very special memories. You’re the best!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

very nice feels like home.
clean,comfortble rooms nice bad's .
people mike and trice where very lovely.
if your around this place book this.
You won't be disappointed.
Beautiful Home, Family and Hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Willem v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Have stayed multiple times for football weekends at near by PSU and for a family gathering one weekend this past may. Really beautiful B&B with excellent service. Mike and Trish are wonderful hosts and provide nothing less than perfect service. The food is a really treat as Mike has a knack for preparing simple yet amazing breakfasts. The rooms are all large and spacious with very comfortable beds. Bathrooms are large and come with jacuzzi tubs! Plenty of things to do from relaxing on the porch, to sitting and talking in the study, or playing a game of pool! All-in-all this is a wonderful place to get away and relax. Mike and Trish really are wonderful and so is Reynolds mansion!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We were heading to New York, started to get tired so we searched B&B's on the ipad. What a wonderful surprise to find this lovely place. Everything was wonderful! Mike was most accommodating and even hooked us up with an early breakfast departure. This mansion is gorgeous with its beautiful carved wood and moldings. Our room was lovely! You will not be disappointed. We will be back!!! P.S. Hungry for the best Reuben sandwich? Check out the Governors Pub which is in walking distance!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I cannot say enough positive things about the Mansion and the hospitality of Mike, Tricia AND Tony and Nia! Over the past six years I have stayed alone, with friends and also arranged to have several work retreats at the Mansion. Every occasion has been absolutely perfect! The beautiful mansion is so well kept up and historically interesting. I love the tiles around each fireplace and the amazing woodwork. The rooms are spacious, clean, and each with a huge personality of it's own. I have enjoyed each room over the years and it is difficult to have a "favorite" I would say try each one. What makes the experience the very best is the wonderful hospitality of Mike and Tricia. They would do anything to make your stay what you want it to be. It surely does not hurt that Mike presents you each morning with a wonderfult gourmet breakfast. The lunches and snacks that he makes for the business retreats are top notch. And Tony and Nia are the very best canine inn keepers that I have met in my travels thus far! Bellefonte is an interesting victorian town with lots of history and intersting shopping and walking. Very good places to eat and only a quick 15 minute ride to State College.
I look forward to each stay at the Reynolds Mansion and I promise that you will too!.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootsie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellefonte
9.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
758 reviews
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Milesburg
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen - A Victorian Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 101 W Linn St, Bellefonte, PA 16823-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bellefonte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellefonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reynolds Mansion is a beautiful historic mansion located in Bellefonte, PA, which is minutes from Penn State University. It's original woodwork and breathtaking architectural detail add to the ambiance created by the owners, Mike and Tricia. Each of the eight spacious guest rooms have private baths. Additionally, many have gas fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Breakfast is typically three-course gourmet, but, heart-healthy, gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian can be arranged. Complimentary water bottles, coffee/tea, WiFi, and brandy and Hershey Kisses are offered to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing