We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B, Fabulous Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Bellefonte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
“Charming B&B, Fabulous Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stopped at the Reynolds Mansion for one night on a road trip from CT to WI. We had just gotten married on the east coast and were exhausted from the festivities. We decided that on the way home, instead of picking a hotel off the highway at random when we got tired, we wanted to stay at a nice B&B. We chose Reynolds Mansion because of the proximity to the highway as well as the wonderful reviews. We stayed in the Colonel's Green Room which was huge and absolutely charming. The whole place was beautiful and clean and in the morning we came downstairs to a lovely breakfast. This B&B was exactly what we hoped for.

We were most impressed with the owners who are so warm and genuine. You could tell they love what they do and they make you feel at home when you're there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTAJ33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
116
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were exploring the area for retirement purposes and stayed at the Reynolds Mansion for three nights. The atmosphere at the mansion is informal, warm and inviting. Our accommodating hosts, Tricia and Mike were excellent in recommending a variety of restaurants and sights. The rooms were very clean and a great breakfast was served in a beautiful dining area. If you happen to be a dog / animal lover as we are, you will enjoy their two friendly and well behaved dogs Nia and Tony. Overall we had a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

An excellent B&B run by Tricia and Mike that is a traveler's dream. Several rooms on the first floor to amuse yourself (including a billiard table) in a 19th C. historic house with rooms upstairs as guest rooms. We stayed in the Colonel's Green, a large corner room with a jacuzzi. Breakfast was delicious and the owner's were very welcoming and friendly. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank abulafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

My partner and I took our road trip in March 2013, part of this involved driving from Washington to Niagara, Bellefonte offered us a good stop off and Reynolds Mansion provided the best experience.

We were warmly welcomed by both the owners and their two friendly dogs (I will say that as a avid dog fan I encouraged them to come play from the laundry where they were relaxing, so for people that are not in to dogs - I'm sure they remain quietly chilling in the laundry room).

Our room was warm, cosy, clean and well presented. As a two guy couple, we were made to feel extremely welcome by Mike and Trisha.

We asked for a recommendation for dinner, Gamble Mill Restaurant was exactly what we were looking for. Good food, nice wine and a ten minute slow walk back.

Breakfast was amazing (see the photos!), all prepared by Mike.

We were able to sit and read and generally relax with a coffee, before then packing up the car and heading out.

We would both highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandMikeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for one night on the way back to NY from a Midwest road trip. Pure luxury. I almost did not want to leave the house, but the town is beautiful and has lots of cute bars and restaurants too. Even though we will probably never have a reason to be back in Bellefonte, I have a feeling we will come back just to stay at Reynolds Mansion again.

Room Tip: Green room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on the way back to NY from a Midwest road trip. Pure luxury. I almost did not want to leave the house, but the town is beautiful and has lots of cute bars and restaurants too. Even though we will probably never have a reason to be back in Bellefonte, I have a feeling we will come back just to stay at Reynolds Mansion again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is an excellent option to explore the college and get a taste of history without the big-box hotel feel.

We reserved the “trophy room”, and upon arrival learned we were the only people staying our first evening so we got a complete tour of the house from the host and got a peek at all of the rooms. I found the “cherub room” less creepy in person than on the website and the “trophy room” while large was a little awkward as the bathroom is not fully enclosed. Indeed, the door to the bathroom is clear glass and not actually attached to the wall in a way that will afford any privacy (this is due to the owners trying to keep as much architectural integrity as possible). This awkwardness and the desperate need for new pillows that are not completely flat pancakes or hard lumps are the only downsides to the room we had. (But maybe all the other rooms have excellent pillows?) A side note: “the trophy room” and “the colonel’s green room” are the only two rooms with king beds; the others have queens.

The house itself was lovely and we took advantage of all of it. I sat and read a book and had a glass of wine on the front porch. We played pool and cards in the billiard room and had brandy in the library/snuggery. There were 2 other couples staying at the house on our second night but we never even saw them until breakfast. It made me wonder if guests ever actually take advantage of exploring the house or using the game room. I highly recommend immersing yourself into the house and its architecture. The floors, woodwork, and details are a true throwback to real craftsmanship.

The owners were welcoming, the dogs were friendly, and breakfast was delicious. We’d consider staying again if we were in the area, but we’d probably choose a different room.

Room Tip: The trophy room bathroom is not completely enclosed--no ceiling and a clear glass door directly in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyosha666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwy2257, Owner at Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
We are constantly striving for excellence in our service, accommodations, and breakfasts, and take our guest reviews very seriously. We appreciate advice/concerns and try to remedy them as soon as possible. In the case of the Trophy Room, yes, the door to the bathroom is glass and we have considered putting cellular shades on it. As this guest mentions, it was the original door to the ammunitions closet dating back to the 1920's, and it adds a certain character to the room, so we decided to leave it. However, we do understand that it could be less than private. We are going to try putting an opaque film on the door rather than a shade that would move around or be cumbersome.

As for the pillows, they are brand new. We do have a closet full of extra pillows and would have gladly changed the pillows out for the second night's stay if we knew that they weren't comfortable.

We make every attempt to have satisfied, happy guests! The Reynolds Mansion is a unique property that we are fortunate to live in and share with others. It is our hope that our guests have a great experience that keeps them coming back. If something isn't quite right then we need to know about it and we'll do everything we can to fix it. Thank you for the input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellefonte
9.5 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
7.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#4 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
9.0 mi away
Toftrees Golf Resort
Toftrees Golf Resort
#17 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 101 W Linn St, Bellefonte, PA 16823-1656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bellefonte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bellefonte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reynolds Mansion is a beautiful historic mansion located in Bellefonte, PA, which is minutes from Penn State University. It's original woodwork and breathtaking architectural detail add to the ambiance created by the owners, Mike and Tricia. Each of the eight spacious guest rooms have private baths. Additionally, many have gas fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. Breakfast is typically three-course gourmet, but, heart-healthy, gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian can be arranged. Complimentary water bottles, coffee/tea, WiFi, and brandy and Hershey Kisses are offered to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Reynolds Mansion Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing