We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elk viewing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Winslow Hill

Winslow Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benezette
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Winslow Hill
Ranked #1 of 2 Benezette B&B and Inns
Garards Fort, PA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Elk viewing”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Betty's place is the perfect spot to stay for elk viewing.
We stayed in the Sunrise Room and heard the elk bulging through the night.
Loved the private bath and private deck/entrance.
Betty and Laura were perfect hosts serving a great breakfast.
Betty's bacon was out of this world.
Did not want to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellows2neTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We saw Elk today --but it was very FOGGY when we arrived..the BUGLE SOUNDS from the BULLS is the most amazing sound...you MUST GO to hear it -- the calls echo through out the valley and hollows---many cows were around the Bull--- they are Huge animals -Be safe

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoodus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

If you're coming to Benezette, you're most likely coming to see elk and you will see lots of them on Winslow Hill Rd. The evening we were here there was a huge male nibbling on the plants in the front yard, a good sized herd just down the road, and lots of others along the loop. We were the only guests that night, and Betty made us a nice breakfast in the morning and sat and chatted. There's a great common room with big windows overlooking the back yard (evidently elk often come in to the yard) and complementary driinks and snacks..

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland Key, FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This bed and breakfast home has the warmth and comfort that we all need when we aim to getaway from it all! The rooms are beautifully decorated, each one different but equally wonderful with their own balconies and bathrooms, DirectV in each room, THE most comfortable beds, ironed soft sheets, perfect pillows aplenty and thick towels. Every thing you can possibly need has been thought of. There is a beautiful, common room with a stone fireplace, liquid refreshments and homemade goodies that Rex makes daily! Games, puzzles, books and other pastimes are provided should you need it!
The property sits in the best place for Elk viewing and lying in bed at night with the sliders open to hear the enchanting and haunting bugling of the Bull Elk throughout the nite is unmatched! You will feel renewed and amazed at the sights and sounds!
Betty's breakfast are beyond delicious and nourishing as even the EGGS were picked that morning from her beautiful chickens and YOU can even learn to gather them! Her apple fritters are renowned and every wish that you want is granted! The owner is warm and truly loves providing guests with the respite from the world that we all need at times! Go and don't miss this one!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were equally wonderful! A bathtub is provided in Sunrise Room! Showers in Moonlig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JimandNancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

If you plan to go to Benezette, PA to view the elk or to just plain relax, the Winslow Hill Inn is the place to go. The owner, Betty, is just as kind, thoughtful and welcoming as can be. The rooms are immaculately clean and everything within the rooms is high quality. This is the perfect location for seeing the elk. You don't even have to leave the deck if you don't want to. The location is quiet and very pretty. And as for breakfast -- Betty does a fine preparation, especially the way she prepares her bacon -- thick, rubbed with brown sugar and then baked not fried. It was delicious along with everything else. My husband and I felt like family, and Betty is extremely knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: .The Sunset Room has some neat decor and it is in the back of the house. All of the rooms are A.O.K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peachymeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The B&B is very cozy and is a great elk viewing location. The innkeeper is very welcoming and friendly and she makes a great breakfast! She is also very knowledgeable about the area, the elk, and local businesses. I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: I loved the sunset room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benezette
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Inn
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites St Marys
11.5 mi away
Cobblestone Inn and Suites St. Marys PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Royal Inn
The Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Ridgway
41 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Winslow Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winslow Hill

Property: Winslow Hill
Address: 2313 Winslow Hill Rd, Benezette, PA
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Benezette
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Benezette
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing