We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bensalem
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here over the holidays while visiting family. Our room was cozy, and the front desk/lobby area looked recently renovated. We didn't have any issues while we were there. There are a lot of restaurants and diners in the area that are very close by. We visit family that live in Philadelphia, and this hotel is about 5 minutes to Philly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was a Hotwire "Mystery" Hotel (3 stars/$51 a night), and much like DMLMK said it's hard to complain at that rate, but there's no way it's worth the $95-$110/night they want. Room was clean, though I arrived to find a non working air conditioner unit, which after I inspected it turned out to just be unplugged. Plenty of parking, and they have several entrances so you can always park very close to your room, which is my key complaint about the nearby Radisson. They have laundry machines which I needed to utilize, but one had standing brown water (check the machines before putting clothes in, thank god I did) and I had to wait awhile to get my hands on the one that was working, seems like laundry is a popular thing to do at this hotel. Speaking of the laundry room, the hotel advertises having an arcade/game room, well the laundry room is also the game room, 3 machines, one not working, as a gamer I'm a little dissappointed in that. The pool is outdoor, and with my stay being in January I obviously didn't utilize it. The amenity list is a little lacking considering that this is a non express holiday inn. To me this is pretty much a Holiday Inn Express that charges for breakfast. There's also a Dunkin Donuts in the parking lot. Hotel is right by a "slip ramp" for the PA Turnpike, you can get off the eastbound turnpike and get back on the eastbound turnpike if you have an ezpass, otherwise the "full" interchange is about a mile west of the hotel. I-95 is not too far either, but you have to drive on the traffic light littered Street Road for several miles.
Bottom line, 4 stars thanks to Hotwire, would have been 3 if I had paid the full rate, it's overpriced.

Room Tip: No elevator in the hotel (it's 2 stories), so keep this in mind when reserving/checking in.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBensalem, Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review from your previous stay with us, we appreciate the feedback. These issues have been brought to management and we will make sure to keep an eye on the laundry machines throughout the day so this does not happen again. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Pros: Large, clean comfortable bed & room with refrig, microwave, desk, sofabed, great TV.

Cons: Connecting door not soundproofed. Heard every word spoken in next room and this kept us awake, Wireless so spotty as to be useless. Restaurant was filthy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBensalem, Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We value our guests feedback and depend on these reviews to see how we can improve. I assure you these issues have been brought to the managements attention and they will be looked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Booked on Hotwire for $56/night so hard to complain! Clean, didnt smell, nice rooms, easy check in. We did find a huge beetle type bug in the room which was creepy but we got rid of it ourselves! We had brought spray just in case!
It's a little odd the curtains over the windows are transparent so there's no privacy and the room is very bright in the morning. We had to use bathroom to change clothes bc you can see through the drapes!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMLMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear DMLMK,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is nice to know that you found our rooms to be clean and your check-in went smoothly.

We are hopeful that the next time you are back in the area you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

There is really not very much to talk about with this hotel. It has paper-thin walls and you can really hear every noise during the night. I would not recommend this for a stay longer than one night. It is convenient to the interstate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferBT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear JenniferBT_13,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Nice except for the fact that there are "NO ELEVATORS!" So if your disabled such as I am and you want a descent room which is normally on top floors and sometimes away from the noisy traffic, please stay away.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RastaMan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear RastaMan7,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We apologize for the challenges you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered that fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stay away from this hotel!!!! Only thing it has to offer is a pool!! When we first got here we were informed that our room was on the second floor which would have been fine if they had a elevator to help bring our luggage up. The halls were long and just kept on going not to mention hot and stuffy feeling!!! When we asked what to do at night there we were told you are in the suburbs nothing to do instead of maybe saying if your willing to drive you can do this or that. Thankfully I had my cellphone and I was able to find something to do at night. Talking about cellphone was only able to use my 4g on my cell because the wifi in the hotel and in my room didn't work. The first night we were suppose to stay there we saw a bed bug in our bed when we called the front desk they sent up security!!! What was security going to do kick the bug out of the hotel???? We were told that they had no other rooms in the hotel available for us (which we didn't believe we believe it was said to us because they couldn't trust the other rooms and we believe other rooms had bed bugs as well)..... Did they really think we wanted to stay here anymore anyway??? They helped get us in a nearby hotel but refused to have our money we paid for there room transferred over to the new hotel because we had used Priceline to book the room. We were on the phone back and forth arguing for over an hour (this was after 2am!!!!) we were left on hold for 20 min then told nothing and then put back on hold this went on for over an hour!! Finally the receptionist (who I did feel sorry for because I do believe felt overwhelmed by all this) got in touch with the manager of the hotel and got then to pay for our nights stay in the new and much better hotel (Sleep Inn). In speaking to the manager in the morning and finally getting our money back we had asked if we can still use the pool being that our new hotel that they sent us to didn't have one. After thinking it over the manager said fine but asked that we don't speak to any of the other guests and let them know about the bed bugs!!!! What kind of hotel is this??? They said they were getting an exterminator to clean our room and I understand not wanting to freak everyone out in the hotel but they could have said they are just doing a routine check of the rooms without even worrying the guests. But I believe that they knew they would find bed bugs in many of the rooms which would have cost many of the stayers to want to leave!!!!
In summary dirty hotel with bed bugs and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Curiousme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnBensalem, Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

We are sorry to hear that you had experienced these problems while staying with us. We take this matter very serious and follow all proper precautions to take care of it. Security was sent up, since the time you called there was no one else working other than the front desk agent, and we would have been able to switch your room if we had another one available. Our hotel does sell out, especially in the summer, and that is why you were told there were no other rooms available. The front desk agent was not in any way trying to be disrespectful or not help you out, but only a manager is able to make a refund, which she did the next morning. And our housekeeping staff and management are the ones who are trained on bed bugs. We took every precaution necessary, followed all proper procedures, and had an outside exterminator come check the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bensalem
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 9 in Bensalem
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Philadelphia/Bensalem
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia NE - Bensalem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bensalem - Philadelphia Area
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Philadelphia Northeast
0.3 mi away
Inn of the Dove - Bensalem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel

Address: 3499 Street Rd, Bensalem, PA 19020-1547 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Bensalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Bensalem
Price Range: £67 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of beautiful Bucks County, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel offers exceptional service and outstanding amenities to Bucks County visitors. We are located close to Sesame Place(R), Parx Casino and Philadelphia Mills Mall. Corporate guests love the easy access to I-276, I-95, US-1 and being only 20 miles from downtown Philadelphia. Having free Wi-Fi access, 24-hour business center and flexible meeting rooms makes doing business on the road a pleasure. Our hotel offers a complimentary full breakfast to all of our guests as well as new restaurant and lounge Ben's BBQ & Beer that is open for lunch and dinner and try one of our delicious BBQ plates that will have you come back for more. Our custom catering adds a bit of flair to any meeting in Bucks County. Families know our Bensalem, PA hotel's location means less travel time and more time for fun. Flyers Skate Zone is nearby as well as Sesame Place(R), Peddler's Village and the Philadelphia Mills(R) Outlets. Kids love the Please Touch Museum(R) and the Philadelphia Zoo. Don't miss the chance to bring history to life with a trip to Independence Hall in downtown Philadelphia. After a long day of visiting our local attractions, you can relax in one of Bucks County largest spa tub with our 10 person salt water spa while the kids enjoy our great indoor pool. Our hotel's guests can spend the day experiencing the best of Philadelphia and Bucks County when you allow our Bensalem, PA hotel's staff to serve you. Book your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Philadelphia Bensalem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Philadelphia - Ne Bensalem Hotel Bensalem
Holiday Inn Bensalem
Bensalem Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing