We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ricketts Glen State Park Campground
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We live locally but this is one of the best places around here for a getaway! Beach is fun and has a great concession. No cell service but really who needs it? The whole park is great for the whole family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geekgirl213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We visited Ricketts Glen State Park and stayed overnight in the campground in May 2013. The park and waterfalls are absolutely terrific. Camping was also a very pleasant experience. I will just list some notes and tips here.
* For weekend stay, reserve sites in advance. We booked ours about a month before the trip, and by that time most lakeside sites were already booked. And it was May, when trees are still lacking foliage;
* Not all sites are created equal. Some are large, some are small. Some have plenty of space in between, some have none. We had no choice but to pitch our tent close to an adjacent site. It was Ok, but later in the evening, when everybody retired to their tents and the air grew quiet, we've become an inadvertent witnesses to their, well... happiness being together;
* Sites are limited to either one family or 5 people, but there is no limit to the number of tents;
* All sites have picnic tables and fire rings. But not all fire rings have grills attached. If you are planning on having a barbecue, bring your own grill;
* Bring your own firewood as well, and buy it locally. We've got ours at Red Rock corner store;
* Restrooms and showers are clean and very nice to have. The only little thing is that they don't have doors between the restroom and shower so restrooms feels a little like Turkish bath.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank Alex_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Where to start with this beautiful park! We camped 2 nights and it was nothing short of wonderful. The campsites are not too close but close enough that you aren't secluded from others. Every site has ample room (we had 2 large tents) and all of the camping essentials with room to spare. Almost all sites have a view of the lake, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the showers/restrooms were some of cleanest I have seen at a state park. Word of advice keep trash away as the Racoons were all over the place! The falls trail is an absolute must! Although it can be slick and a bit terrifying at points it is well worth it! Expect the hike to last about 4 hours, be ready to take a ton of pictures and just be amazed at the true beauty of mother nature. Be sure to pack a lot of water, snacks, and wear really good shoes (hiking shoes are best). You can walk up to a couple of the falls so make sure they are waterproofed or bring water shoes along. Although it seems like a long hike and is definitely a difficult trail the pure beauty keeps the mind off of the "exercise" and length of the hike. I would highly recommend this park to anyone of ability. I would not recommend for children as it is very long and a bit dangerous (would make me a nervous wreck), or for people who are not in good physical health. There are a ton of other trails however and you can still see some of the waterfalls without doing the Falls Trail so don't stay away for that reason :) Seen a ton of dogs on the hike and was pretty impressed, my dog would of keeled over so if fido is able bring them along as all the water would be a field day! Very much looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Becky626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had a great time at this campground. I wish we'd known to reserve a site on the lake - Call and speak to someone to get the best site for you. Once we moved to a lake-shore site we put our chairs down on the lake to eat our meals there. It was beautiful. The sites are private enough, level, clean. Bathrooms are OK, don't have to high expectations - but they are adequate if you're not very picky. They aren't buggy and there is sometimes warm water. The service is fantastic, the boat rental great with reasonable prices and excellent, friendly service. The hiking gorgeous - do bring sturdy shoes but we did fine with our sturdy 'sneakers' and didn't need boots - though they would have been nice as it is very rocky terrain. There's a small store at the bottom of the mountain, (non in the park) but head up 118 a mile or two and on the left is a guy selling firewood at a decent price (the park had run out when we were there). Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DCMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed in the cabins located at Rickett's Glen State Park for 2 nights and 3 days. The hiking was fantastic as we saw 20+ different waterfalls and spent the morning trekking up and down the trails (bring a camera!). The cabin itself was very clean and easy to maintain. We had a campfire everynight and enjoyed the fresh air.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This park is great! It is so secluded and so wooded it's like a fairy tale. The sites are level and shaded and there is dense woods between each site. The rangers patrolled frequently. We saw many animals including chipmunks, rabbits, a snapping turtle and a bear! The hiking was great and the waterfalls are gorgeous! Bathrooms are clean. I highly recommend this park to anyone looking for a quiet retreat in the woods.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank kristy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We just returned from a three day stay here. We decided to go as Rickett's Glen was listed in the book 1,OOO Places To See Before You Die. The main reason to go here is for the hiking trails. There are three main trails that form kind of a triangle (with several other longer trails extending out from this) with a total distance (of just the three trails) of about 4.2 miles. The trail map listed the route as extremely difficult, which turned us off at first. But, after asking at the camp office, we were assured that it was family friendly and should take about two hours. In actuality it took three and a half, with a few brief stops for pictures/rest/brief moments of children complaining:) Two sides of the trails have the waterfalls (there are 22 in all, 18 of which you will see if you complete the triangle loop) and one trail (Highland Trail) is a nice, wooded, flat trail that connects the two. The waterfalls range from 13' to 96' and are really quite spectacular. Keep in mind that if you do the whole loop, one side will be going down (easy), the other side will be going up (not so easy, but worth it) and the Highland trail will be flat.
The campground itself is nice with many sites right on the water. Most of the sites we saw did not seem suitable for large trailers. The majority of ampers were tenters, but us and a few other did have pop-ups or smaller campers. No electricity. Paved roads and bike friendly and a quite large mountain lake (no lifeguard) with a sand beach that is very clean and scenic. There was no camp store (but a very large and nice Concession/Beach House is being constructed) and no stores nearby, so definitely bring what you need. Also, if you come in from the Red Rock direction, there is a very steep hill to get to the top of the mountain. The park recommends coming in from the Dushore direction to avoid this hill if towing a camper.
Also keep in mind that if you bring your own canoe/kayak, you have to gt it registered there/pay a fee to use it on their lake (Lake Jean).
One of the nicest camping spots we have ever been to. Definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
8  Thank serenity37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bloomsburg
0.0 mi away
The Old Tioga Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mattress and Muffin Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 2 in Mifflinville
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Super 8 Mifflinville Near Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ricketts Glen State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ricketts Glen State Park Campground

Address: Benton, PA 17814
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Benton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Benton
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Ricketts Glen State Park Campground Hotel Benton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing