We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disposable everything”

Kauffman's Bar-B-Que Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bethel
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/252/1158215/restaurant/Pennsylvania/Kauffmans-Bar-B-Que-Chicken-Bethel - This is a GREAT local favorite!
amish country pa.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disposable everything”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

chicken is tasty, potato filling is very good, sodas are $1.75 extra which is too high IMO, totally disposable meal, styrofoam plates, plastic cups and plastic silverware....noisy atmosphere, run of the mill salad bar...try the hot chicken sandwich, more meat than ordering 1/2 chicken and less messy....excellent modern restrooms

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rfied112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euclid, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“OK family cafeteria restaurant”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Did not know this was cafeteria style til we got there. We both had the chicken - my husband had the half chicken and I had the quarter chicken. I had almost no meat on mine - he had a lot and the price was 25 or 50 cents difference - can't remember for sure. I would have ordered the larger if I had known I had no meat on my piece of chicken for the price difference. The dessert selection (mostly pies) were wrapped individually in plastic but no names on the pies so I had no idea what some of them were and no one around to inquire to. The rolls on the salad bar were cheap puffs of air and the butter pats were freezing cold so when you spread the butter on the cheap rolls they broke up in pieces. Sat by the trash container (did not know you cleaned up after yourself) and we were disturbed by everyone standing there fumbling with their trays and trash. The salad bar had a good array of choices for the salads but some of the dressings weren't marked so you had to guess or ask one of the young workers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 626Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit Station, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great chicken”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Their rotisserie chicken is the best around. The weekly specials something to look forward to. Good prices and good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank don w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good chicken and family friendly”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Watch the chickens get ready for dinner while you decide on 1/4, 1/2 or a full chicken with fries/potato filling/bake potato and salad bar. Good food, basic dining room experience ...try the mini-golf out back too. About $9/person dinners.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenEricTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,899 reviews
641 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,875 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure between Allentown and Harrisburg off I-78”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We have eaten at this famous, local BBQ chicken place many times over the years and go there when we are in the area. Sometimes it gets very crowded (weekend and evenings) because it is a great deal. There are many items to choose at this self serve spot, but the BBQ chicken is famous--a half chicken with the salad bar and one side (try their tasty potato filling) is about $8.25. Tricky to find--it is off Route Old 22, which is south of I-78. Get off the Interstate at Exit 16 and go south for a short distance to a stop sign at Old 22--turn right and go west following Old 22 a mile or two--there is a large sign at the corner of Old 22 and Gravel Pit Road--go south a short distance--there is a large statue of a chicken outside--you cannot miss it. We have a friend from out of state who wants to go there every time he visits PA.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kauffman's Bar-B-Que Restaurant also viewed

Been to Kauffman's Bar-B-Que Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing