We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recreational Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montour Trail

Montour Trail
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Recreational Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This spur of the Montour Trail in Bethel Park gets lots of use and for very good reason. Users enjoy a lovely scenic walk free from motorized vehicle traffic. Walk safely with fitness buffs, healthy seniors, babies in strollers, cyclists, whole families, a gaggle of friends, a cross section of the community. While you can easily take your morning walk on this section, the spur also connects to the main trail, which in turn connects to the route from Pittsburgh to Washington DC. This linear park, created and maintained by trail volunteers, is a community treasure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bike-walk-Run...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

You can do it all on this beautiful trail. The train tunnel and bridge over the creek near the country club are some of the most beautiful sights along this tree filled, winding trail. It's quiet and the addition of new bridges makes it easy to stay on the trail from the Peters Township entry. We bike, walk, and run this section. Because it's crushed rock, you don't encounter many strollers to maneuver around...although I love seeing families on the trail. The Peters section of the trail (Arrowhead) is paved and so, easier for parents with strollers. We often take out of town visitors for a walk/bike ride here and get many envious remarks that we live so close to a great trail. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pittteach3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Biking on the trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

The montour trail is great for biking with your children and also walking. The trail is right up the street from my house.

Helpful?
Thank BrisketKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“lizzy and i love the trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

i walk the trail often with my dog lizzy. we greet a lot of people there and ive always felt safe even tho im usually by myself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank barb o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Mountour Trail is a very nice trail to ride and well kept. There is plenty of trail access, parking, and facilities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montour Trail also viewed

South Park Township, PA
 

Been to Montour Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing