We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goddesses' Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Goddesses' Getaway”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having visited the Bird in Hand Family Inn several times over the years, it was at the top of my list for the Goddesses' Getaway so off we went. We took advantage of the package deal and got so much for our money. We actually bought two 2-night packages which then gave us free breakfast smorgasbord for all 4 days and dinner 2 nights, a dozen free cookies (or a shoo fly pie and 6 cookies or 2 shoo fly pies) from the bakery, a $5 gift certificate which we used to buy souvenir mugs, and the complimentary tour of the beautiful countryside including stops at two Amish farm/gift shops. The first night, we were able to get tickets to the musical Half-stitched which was on site and was awesome. The double queen room was comfortable enough for the four of us although I prefer a firmer mattress. We all wished the bathroom was bigger and more comfortable as far as being able to move around - perhaps a suite would have served us better but, all in all, it was a great time. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms in the pool building are newer and larger than in the front building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammy2jjmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
We’re so glad we were your first choice for the Goddesses’ Getaway. Our package deals really are the way to go, and we’re thrilled that you loved the show as well. We’re looking forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    165
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
244
89
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location, relaxing if needed. This is my second time staying here in a span of 13 years. The property has been updated commercially, there is now a restaurant as well as mini golf,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbDunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Barb, we’re so glad to have you back! Come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Recently stayed here while on a bus tour and had a great stay. Rooms were clean, well lighted and staff was courteous and helpful. Room included a breakfast buffet which was outstanding as usual. Stayed here several times and have never been disappointed. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redtail196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We’re glad you had another great stay. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July 2013. We had read many reviews, some bad, some good, but decided to check it out, and hope for the best. Based on other reviews, we asked for the pool building. Our room was clean, lovely, and overlooked the pool. My husband has Parkinson's Disease, so he has some mobility issues. I mentioned this when we made our reservation, so we got a room right near the elevator, and there was also a ramp to the rooms, and the outdoor pool was "walk in" so no steps.Everyone we met was friendly, staff was helpful, food was delicious!!! This is not chi chi food, this is good, old fashioned country cooking, like I grew up on, and we loved it. (Just so you know what I'm talking about, my favorite dish was the pork and sauerkraut, which I have never had in a restaurant, but my mom used to cook when I was a child). At Bird In Hand, I ate it for every meal except breakfast, in addition to many other delicious country dishes. The pools were all great, but spent most of the time at the wonderful, outdoor pool, or at the huge, 16 person hot tub. This is a particularly great place for families as they have so much for kids to do, three pools, some arcade games, gorgeously landscaped mini golf, big, new playground equipment, walk up ice cream, and next door to the Farmer's Market. We could not have been more pleased with our stay, and told our kids and grandkids that we will be bringing them back with us next year. I think we have begun a new family tradition, and look forward to wonderful, family vacations here for many years to come.

Room Tip: Ask for the Pool Building. It is newer, and our room was perfect, including TV, and air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
As a family-owned company, we love seeing families starting new traditions, and we’re so glad to be a part of yours! We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I just spent two nights at the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn. This hotel is very centrally located for all Lancaster and Amish attractions. Our package included a breakfast and dinner buffet in their restaurant. The food is regional and also very good. Also many of the locals frequent the restaurant, especially for breakfast. The room I stayed in was very clean and spacious. Room amenities included a refrigerator and a 40-42 inch HD TV. Their heated indoor pool was a relaxing touch to a long day of sightseeing in Amish country.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeS43207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We’re glad you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed the amenities. The Smucker Special, which includes breakfast and dinner, really is the way to go. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a great family hotel. Centrally located in the area. The rooms are fine, just normal hotel quality, but clean. Since we have two kids under 3, we appreciated the petting zoo, playground and ability to walk to the restaurant at the corner of the property - especially when it was one of the only restaurants around that was open. Everything in town seemingly shuts down at 5pm. The pools looked nice but we didnt use them. We also didnt use the miniature golf.

Room Tip: I would avoid the pool area - seemed to be a strong "pool" chemical/warm air smell as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bps75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We’re delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay here. You’ll have to come back when you’re able to use the pools. That’s one of the amenities our guests rave about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed three evenings and used a 2 day and 1 day package which included morning and evening buffets, a 2 hr tour of the Armish country side, and coupons for free bakery items each day. We loved the breakfast buffets and enjoyed sitting on the front lawn in the afternoons and early evenings watching the new and old worlds pass by. The atmosphere was relaxing and family friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraCorson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Sandra, we’re so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here. The Amish Farmland Tour continues to be a highlight for our guests, so we’re glad you were able to take advantage of it. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,017 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Property: Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing