We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time week after Christmas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Bayside, New York
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun time week after Christmas”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night the Friday after Christmas because we had tickets to the Sights and Sounds Christmas show. We stayed in the building with the pool which was great for my 4 year old son. We had a package with the free dinner and breakfast included which was a great deal. You could either order off the menu or do the buffet (aka Smorgasbord). My son was never charged for his food which was a nice little plus. (When we went to pay for his food, it was waived). Our room was nice and clean. While it wasn't the most modern decor it was fine for it's purposes and we had no complaints. We walked across the street to the bakery to get our free cookies and also walked around the little market which was next door. This was a great deal for a family...right in the heart of all the activities in Lancaster. We would definitely come back and stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    176
    43
    21
    6
See reviews for
259
91
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I bought the 2-night package offered on the Bird-in-Hand Family Inn website. We checked in on 12/20, and checked out 12/22. Two nights, two breakfasts and one dinner, 2 hour Amish tour, $10 gift card, and free Shoo-fly pies or cookies for each guest....for a price of $374.00. There's a lot to do in the area. We went to the Sight & Sound theater to see "The Miracle of Christmas" (excellent production), and spent a day at Hershey "Candy Lane" (Christmas theme). We were lucky, the weather was warm for December. The hotel was clean, and the staff was very friendly. This place brought me back in time. I felt like it was 1975 all over again. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the pool building. You won't have to take a step outside to use the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1986-Mets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Living in an urban environment where things are busy and hectic, we look forward to traveling to Bird-In-Hand. Each time we turn onto Old Philadelphia Pike headed to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn we feel the sense of stepping back in time to a more relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. It only gets better as we pull into the the parking lot for our stay at the Family Inn. We look forward to receiving our pumpkin bread in the lobby at check-in and eating at the Smorgasbord restaurant on site. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds are comfortable and there is no outside noise. The location is perfect and within short driving distance to everything we enjoy doing while visiting there. We look forward to staying there again very soon!

Room Tip: We enjoy staying in the rooms facing the street so we can park our car directly in front of our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennypbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
This is just the kind of oasis we strive to be. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

What an amazing experience staying for Thanksgiving and the Thanks giving feast that the hotel restaurant offers ( amazing food). We loved our 3day stay so much we decided not to leave and stay an extra day. Hotel is very clean as well as the pool and game room area too. There is so much to do in walking distance also. The bus tour is a must. Thanks to Nancy for answering all my amish questions, she was so informative and tons of fun. I can't wait to take the tour again. The staff was extremely kind and accommodating. A special Thanks to Ginny for her impeccable customer service. Thank you to our house keeper linda in our first room. And thank you to Thea , Janet, and staff. This will definitely be our new Thanksgiving tradition.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKDevlin143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My family and I have been vacationing here for over 20 years. Although we have tried other hotels in the area, we always return to this one. The rooms are clean and a small refrigerator is in every room for you to use. There is a beautiful lobby in the pool building with couches, tables and chairs. We sometimes play games there at night after pool hours. There is a game room, billiard table and ping pong tables. There are two pools for you to enjoy. However, we have found them always to be cold in the winter time. During the summer, an in ground out door pool is opened for your enjoyment as well. Tables with umbrellas surround the pool areas.

A free tour of the Amish area is included with your stay. This is definitely a must! It is worth seeing. Reservations must be made when booking your reservation. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Outlet shopping is close by as well as other shopping. However, you have to know your prices! Great deals at Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: The first floor in the pool building is always a little more noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnalynn323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Absolutley the best place to stay when visiting the area! Beautiful location, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Couldn't ask for a better place. When vacationing with family in the area this place is second to none. Have never had a bad experience when staying here.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rmck158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re honored to be your favorite place to stay in the area. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The room was very comfortable and very clean, nicely decorated with quality furniture .
Very well maintained property. The two hour complimentary Amish tour was a plus .
Will always stay here when in Lancaster county

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 461charlesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Charles, we’re so happy you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Property: Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing