We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun in slow paced environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family fun in slow paced environment”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We took a family vacation stopping here for two nights. The hotel itself is older and nothing special but had a very nice playground area, three swimming pools (2 inside and one outdoors) along with a miniature golf course that my four year old loved. It was fun to watch the buggies drive by and the staff made the hotel great, at check in they gave us free strawberry bread from their bakery and were some of the nicest smiling folks you could have the pleasure of meeting. They suggested some local places to eat, fun things to do and just overall very accommodating. The restaurant on property was ok, lots of options but nothing that we thought was spectacular. Rooms were standard, clean and comfortable but walls were thin as you can definitely hear your neighbors.

If you have young children, I would recommend this place for the amenities for sure. We are so glad we took the advice of a staff member and visited Dutch wonderland, which I will be writing a glowing review of!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    160
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
241
87
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

If you like a fancy hotel, this spot is not for you and in fact could actually stand an update. However if you want amenities plus this is the place for you. Everyone who stays there gets a free two hour tour of the Amish countryside with 2 to 3 stops at shops on the back roads. They have tennis courts, basketball court, new play ground equipment, two on site miniature golf courses, snack shop, game room, exercise room, a huge outdoor pool, 2 huge indoor pools and the largest hot tub I have ever seen. They also have a very good restaurant and gift shop. Beds are very comfy and though the restaurant is not open on Sundays they do have a brunch exclusively for their guests. They also have a gathering area around a fire pit and a great lobby for visiting. The room were very clean and the beds very comfortable. This location is money well spent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavenportPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
And don't forget the petting zoo and duck pond with walking trail! We're glad to know you were able to take advantage of so many of the amenities we offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I have been coming to this hotel many times with my family. The pools are great, the arcade is amazing, petting zoo rocks, and the two miniature golf courses are so much fun. Smorgasbord is excellent for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We were staying on the third floor in the hotel part of the resort and our room was spotless... Housekeeping was very nice to us and we enjoyed an excellent view of the country roads... Overall stay was a 10/10!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey_Castelli_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

After staying 10 or 11 years here I found the front of the hotel very very disappointing . Our girl trip to the most accommodating motel in bird and a hand disappointing . We reserve every year 2 rooms and have had a wonderful experience except last September our room had a cricket that sounded off all night off and slugs on the wall under sink which us sissy killed bugs flying all night in our room a nightmare !!! We told
clerk at front desk her reply was she had a cricket in her house that kept her awake !!! I guess that wasn't answer I wanted at my state of mind with no sleep !!! This is my favorite place to stay so this year we booked room in hotel keeping our fingers crossed no crickets !!
I would say stay here because it is a great place but will not stay out front again sadly because it is nice to sit and watch the balloons and the buggies but I also want to sleep well so I will stay in back!! Also the restaurant has the most amazing waitress Linda is her name ask for her she is fabulous !!!!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviacash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The room was very basic but adequate for our 1 night stay. We had a great experience and would recommend booking the 1 or 2 night family package. The breakfast selection was excellent and the evening dinner very enjoyable and sociable. This was a great addition to our 2 week road trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz20748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Bird-In-Hand Family Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your vacation and for recommending us to others. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Northport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Have been 3 times. Great location. Near everything. Pools are great. Nothing to complain about. I recommend the meal deals. Go see the train museum and visit Dutch wonderland. Everything is with in 15 minutes or less. Mini golf, petting zoo, playground are all on site.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just returned from another wonderful stay with our 2 small children. As always the staff is incredibly helpful and polite. The pools is awesome!(One of which is salt water). I could not recommend a better place to stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the pool building are convenient expecially if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2NJMedix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
7.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Revere Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-In-Hand Family Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-In-Hand Family Inn

Property: Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Address: 2740 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9706
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-In-Hand Family Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bird-In-Hand Family Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Family Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County
Bird Hand Family Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing