We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Bird in Hand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Fernando, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Wonderful Old World Charm”
Reviewed 4 June 2009

Although we were here only a short time, we had a wonderful stay. We had a beautiful room in the Ressler House’s Lamborn Suite. It looked like an old-fashioned bed and breakfast inn from the 1800’s. I knew the minute we walked into the main building to check in that this was going to be something special. Even the lobby area had a feel of by-gone days.

Our room was spotless and decorated beautifully. There was a nice little sitting area with a very big comfy chair and ottoman, surrounded by windows. We opened the windows for a breeze and every so often heard the clip-clop of the horses as the buggies passed by. This added to the charm of the place. A nice continental breakfast was served and we had a delicious rhubarb coffeecake.

Included with our room was a free two hour tour of Amish Country that was very informative and allowed us into the home of a very nice Amish lady who sold beautiful quilts.

The location of the Inn is ideal. It is close to everything you would want to see and do in Amish Country. The staff was also very friendly.

If you have the opportunity, don’t miss this area gem.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwinTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    44
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
46
192
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

In Feb. 09 my husband & I made a last minute visit to Amish Country. We wanted a fireplace in our room. Calling around we found The Original Inn and reserved a room only knowing it had a fireplace. My husband is a very private person and normally does not like B & Bs. When we walked into The Original Inn my husband fell in love with it. I knew I would love it as soon as we pulled up to the Inn. We were led to The McNaab Suite. It was BEAUTIFUL. A Four Poster King Size Bed , A Jaucuzzi (that fit 2 large people)
a gas fireplace and a nice sitting area. We were there for 3 nights and couldn't wait to go back. We reserved another 2 night stay for April. The McNaab Suite was booked so we reserved The Rhoades Suite. There is no Jaucuzzi in this room but it was just as beautiful. We have booked another stay for June 2-5th. After 29 years of marriage it's still nice to find romance.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antmilant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

My husband and I regularly frequent the Bird-in-Hand Village Inn and their sister facility, the Family Inn. We particularly like the Village Inn since it reminds us more of a bed & breakfast than a hotel. The staff is super friendly, the rooms are beautiful (very country and floral), our most recent stay included a new bed in our room which was super comfy. If you ask for their "frequent sleeper card" (I think it's called the VIP Card), you get a $50 credit after you stay 10 nights. It might not seem like much, but every little bit helps. The rooms are super clean and they offer complimentary continental breakfast and snacks in the late evening. It's really quite a special place, and you should definitely consider if over any "name brand" hotel in the area.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — They're a little pricey but definitely worth the money compared to other hotels in the area
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelCritic0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

The Lancaster/Amish country experience was never "my thing" until I met my boyfriend. Now, I can't picture going a year without it. It's nice to get away from the city, rush hours, and hustle and bustle and just go somewhere peaceful and relaxing for a few days.
We've been going every year, multiple times, for the past 4 years and I can honestly say that the Village Inn and Suites at Bird in Hand is the most wonderful stay we've ever had. Every time.
The people at the front desk are extremely friendly and accommodating, they are genuinely happy to meet you and welcome you to their Inn.
The hotel is right next to the hub of the Amish country. You can literally walk next door and pick up some fresh apple cider, produce, or fudge from the Farmer's Market; walk across the street and enjoy some Shoo-fly pie at the bakery; go up the street for a serene buggy ride; or head a half mile or so down and go to Kitchen Kettle Village (which is amazing-try the Jerky and Amish Butter Cheese at the Smoke House Shop!)
Each room at the Village Inn and Suites is uniquely decorated and reminiscent of that old fashioned era. The furniture and layout makes you feel as though you're a guest in someone's home (similar to a B&B). Some suites also have Jacuzzis and Fireplaces. If you're looking for a more hotel/motel experience, you can head up the road to the Bird in Hand Family Inn which is more motel style (with same ownership), and swim and walk around the little lake area they have there.
Seriously, I could go on and on, but if you're looking for a nice, inexpensive, romantic getaway, give it a try! It might become "your thing" too!

  • Liked — Location, Friendly People, Food, Relaxation
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karjgr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We've stayed at the Village Inn several times over the past few years and have never been disappointed. We stayed at the Bitzer Suite in the Original Inn last year and it was terrific but our heart belongs to the Ressler Suite, located in the Ressler House across the street from the Original Inn.

Depending on our budget at the time, we will either stay two nights in the Ressler Suite or one night at another hotel and one night in the Ressler (You might think that it's a huge inconvenience to move around like that, but it's well worth it for a stay in the Ress.)

A lot of the rooms at the Inn can be booked for under $100 per night, with the Ressler Suite usually running somewhere in the $140-180 range depending on the season. If we have a little extra money, we always choose to stay in the Ressler Suite. Some of the amenities of the room include a jacuzzi, a fireplace, a compact refrigerator and plenty of kitchen and storage space, if you're into preparing meals during your stay (I'll be at Miller's, though.)

The staff is always extremely courteous and friendly, making us feel right at home when we arrive. The location is perfect, right next door to the Bird-In-Hand Farmer's Market. Across the street is the Bakery and Antique shop and just a little down the road is Kitchen Kettle Village (our favorite) and all of the other great shops and restaurants. In addition, the rooms we have stayed in have been immaculately clean and extremely accommodating.

Some reviewers have written about noise from the street but I honestly have never experienced a problem with this in all the times we've stayed there. In fact, it's actually the opposite. The Ressler Suite, along with the Inn in general, is both peaceful and relaxing. Guests have full access to the pool and the miniature golf course at the Family Inn and the property is large enough where you can take a nice afternoon stroll around the property or check out the scenic views from the Original Inn.

You can probably tell by this review that we love it at the Inn, but you should stay there for at least one night during your trip and see if you like it (how could you not?) and stay longer the next time you're in the area.

Also, don't forget to get your hands on the VIP card for the Inn on the Bird-In-Hand website and start getting that card stamped ASAP.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beatiful grounds
  • Disliked — Hmm, nope, can't think of anything. Well, possibly cost if you
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayare99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Ressler House for one night but I would gladly have stayed for another . The property is located across from a carriage house which is part of the property and features 4 old fashioned rocking chairs to relax in and watch the buggys go by. The Ressler property is wonderful - pretty without being prissy. We were on the second floor and had a nice view of the main street. The suite is equipped with new modern kitchen appliances, a wonderfully deep jacuzzi and nice shower with heat lamp. The jacuzzi flooring is hardwood and lovely to look at but can be a bit slippery. Nice vanity area with a magnifying lamp. Snacks and the continental plus breakfast will definitely hold you over until you can get to a real meal. We needed additional time and it was graciously given to us. I would definitely return again.

  • Liked — The quietness and details of the home and suite.
  • Disliked — The slipperiness of the steps leading from the jacuzzi to the lower area.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moontide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2006

I'm not sure why other reviewers weren't happy with their stay at this inn, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were 4 of us, so I booked a specific room which had 2 queen beds. Upon arriving we discovered it also had a really nice kitchen area with table and chairs, sink, microwave and fridge. There was always food and a very extensive selection of both cold and hot drinks available in the breakfast room. The continental plus breakfast had lots of choices and everything we had was very fresh, including the fruit. We stayed there in May, so maybe the inn wasn't full, but we had no problem getting a table. Compared to where we've stayed in the past this was a much better value and experience. And the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattylcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
0.2 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
471 reviews
2.0 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,079 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites

Property: Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites
Address: 2695 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bird-in-Hand Village Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird-In-Hand Village Hotel Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn And Suites
Village Inn Bird In Hand
Bird-In-Hand Village Inn & Suites Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing