We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wine area mediocre. Upstairs beer area nice & friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rumspringa Brewing Company

Rumspringa Brewing Company
Ranked #11 of 20 things to do in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wine area mediocre. Upstairs beer area nice & friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We did not get a welcoming feeling in the main floor wine tasting area. There were bottles of wine lined up on the wine bar and you told the two girls behind the counter what flavor you wanted to taste. At no time were we asked our likes or preferences nor were any wines suggested to us. We went upstairs to the beer tasting area and were made to feel welcome. The woman upstairs asked our beer preferences and suggested one of their flavors which were similar. We enjoyed a glass of beer and shared one their great warm pretzels. I would recommend the beer floor but not the wine area.

Visited June 2014
Thank Roxann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
185 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Ok for a stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stopped by the Brewery during a trip to Amish country. Went upstairs to do a flight of their beers, none of the beers really stood out, most were drinkable - a couple not. It wasn't busy on a Friday afternoon and the staff was attentive and friendly. Not sure we'd stop again, but were glad that we at least visited.

Visited May 2014
1 Thank dak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Plenty of session beers on hand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We ordered the sampler and found 14.00 for 8 beers to be more than affordable. The beers were light and refreshing. We liked the ginger beer the best. The tasting room has a light menu. We ordered the fried cheese curds and found them to be light, not greasy at all, and tasty.
Sadly Rumspringa is associated with Mount Hope Winery. Try the beer, for the sake of your taste buds, skip the wine.

Visited May 2014
2 Thank VLouis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good PA and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

A beer and wine place in the middle of the Amish country- the downstairs has exposed barn beams - drinking in a true barn. The staff was friendly but not pushy. Samples samples samples

Visited February 2014
2 Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I took a day trip out to Bird in Hand and stopped by this place. It's neat looking from the outside and has a nice atmosphere inside. We started out downstairs in the wine area. I used to work at a winery doing tastings, so I know things get busy, but that is no excuse for rudeness. The lady working in our area could not have been more uninterested, and acted like we were a complete bother. We wanted to taste a few wines, and each time we would ask to try one, she just had a look on her face like it was just such a pain for her. The guy working seemed ok, but again, not passionate about his job, that's for sure. It just felt off and we didn't like the rude vibe. We went upstairs to where the beer is after the less than satisfactory wine experience. This seemed nice, and we would have liked to get a beer, but the person working behind the counter didn't even look at us after standing there for 5 minutes (and they weren't that busy). We decided to take our business elsewhere. Honestly, this place could have the best beer and wine in the world, and I wouldn't come back, unless they either re-hire or re-train staff to show respect and at least pretend that they like their job. There's just no excuse. Such a shame, because this place is neat and could be a great addition to the area.

Visited October 2013
5 Thank Travelistaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine L, Public Relations Manager at Rumspringa Brewing Company, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We are very sorry for the treatment that you have received from one of our employees. This is not the type of service that we condone, and we have taken action regarding this instance.
We value all of our customers, and hope to be able to serve you in the future. We hope that you will allow us to show you the true customer service of Rumspringa Brewing Company, and to make up for this disappointing experience. You have been sent a private message, and we hope to discuss this with you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rumspringa Brewing Company also viewed

Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County
Intercourse, Lancaster County
Bird in Hand, Lancaster County

Been to Rumspringa Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing