We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”
Review of Greystone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greystone Manor
Ranked #4 of 4 Bird in Hand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2014

good for the price, breakfast good variety and plenty. location good, quality of the rooms varies depending on the location. service seems tardy but behind the gruff exterior is actually helpful and friendly

Room Tip: avoid carriage house if u can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic vacation at the Greystone. the inn was decorated beautifully and the snow on the ground outside just added to the decor. Our room was very nice there was 6 of us it had 3 beds and 2 bedrooms enough room for all of us to move around. Breakfast each day was really good our favorite was definitely the pancakes and sausage topped with fresh apples. We will different remember this vacation the innkeepers made us feel at home and like family.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank ddhypeitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelinapat, General Manager at Greystone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you guys so much. we love having families and are so glad you had a wonderful time. Our family suites make it easy to relax in comfort without having to literally be on top of each other, and we are glad you enjoyed the greystone. Thank you again and God bless

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Purchased a $100 gift certificate for a family member via telephone and was told the $99 special would apply when the reservation was made. Printed out the special which states $99 for a one night stay for 2 in a standard room and put that in the envelope with the $100 gift certificate. My aunt and uncle made their reservation and stated they had a gift cert and an advertisement that stated a price of $99, the person making the reservation for them said, no problem. Off they went to the B&B and at check in were told they had to pay $40 more ? False advertising, false advertisement, false, false, false...this place is definitely a rip-off

Room Tip: Horrible Bed & Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelinapat, Front Office Manager at Greystone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

hello we are sorry you think it is false but we will explain what they had for you. they had a Queen package not standard room package which is as follows...$99 package w/ QUEEN room
Same as the 99 package but with an upgrade to a queen for $19 more. Valid for 2ppl in carriage house queen, private bath, tv, central AC, full brk, dinner, carriage ride. they other 20 was unfortunately tax 11% we are a hotel 5% hotel tax in PA and 6% sales tax in PA. So as you can see they paid for exactly what they were given. We are sorry you feel this way and will be happy to explain in more detail if you would like to call at 7173934233. Thank you and God Bless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a beautiful stay at this inn. The innkeepers treated us like family even offered to let us use their mini van for our group so we wouldn't have to drive seperate cars everywhere. The rooms were well appointed and just stunning, wall paper was seemless, decor victorian and just lovely.
Our favorite part was breakfast each morning time together. We laughed, learned about the show Amish mafia, and ate some wonderful homecooked meals & baked goodies. The baked goods were the best, Angela's dad use to own a bakery and restaurant called the family style restaurant which was our favorite place back in the day, so the baked goods are amazing, restaurant quality, they even sell them if you ask or will give you recipes too, the greek pastries are out of this world. We are planning a trip back in march already, great people & family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelinapat, General Manager at Greystone Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

thank you very much we really enjoyed having you guys and can't wait to see you again. Thank you and God bless you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I go on a yearly trip to the Bird In Hand area. We've had some very good experiences at B&B's. This was a let down. The place itself is nice and the gardens would probably be beautiful in the summer. However, the bed was beyond firm and the pillows and towels need replaced. The innowners were not overly friendly. Breakfast was served with store bought pastries - most Lancaster area B&B's have homemade things that are delicious. The main entree of breakfast was a very small serving (1/2 of a belgian (wheat) waffle and bacon for my husband the one day) and the food wasn't very tasty. Then we had a mouse in our room to boot! We actually trapped it ourselves and left it for the owners. This is so different than any other B&B experience we've had. Other places were more reasonably priced and a much more pleasant experience. One I'd recommend a short drive away is Apple Bin Inn in Willow Street PA. Worth the short drive to Bird in Hand and still in Amish country. If wanting a place right in town there try Bird In Hand Family Inn and restaurant - not a B&B but another one of our favorites to stay and eat at!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrsGrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just visited the Greystone Manor Inn. Lancaster is one of our favorite areas to visit since we are only 3 hours away from home. We searched online for a B & B and chose the Greystone because of the location and it looked lovely in pictures. It's a beautiful inn. We chose room 1 because we like a king size bed and it looked very nice it the pictures. It was worth the extra money, The room was clean and comfortable. We have stayed in many B & B's and like them because of the friendliness and hospitality. Not in this case. We were greeted by Wade whose personality leaves a lot to be desired. Seem to just want to get us checked in and be done with us. Online reviews as well as the website mentioned a home cooked breakfast of french toast, pancakes etc. OR fresh eggs cooked to order, This was not the case. We were given 2 pancakes with sausage. Muffins and donuts were store bought and stale. We were very disappointed. The inn is beautiful but unfortunately we will not return. Everyone in the Lancaster area are so friendly, helpful and the many places we've eaten were always great. Not here. Sorry......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have stayed at B&Bs in the past, some good, some not so good. When trying to book a new trip, the thing I have found is how how you are treated on the phone. First of all I would never suggest booking online until you have actually spoken with the innkeepers, that is your first clue as to how this experience will turn out.I searched all the B&Bs in the Lancaster County area and narrowed it to 2 because we were interested in 2 beds instead of a king or queen. I was totally leaning toward Greystone Manor in Bird in Hand until I read all the reviews. Even then, I still thought I would like to give it a try so I called. The lady who answered, no name given, was anything but helpful or pleasant but still I really liked the location. As our plans firmed up, I called again giving the benefit of doubt that my last call was a busy time, a bad day, anything...BUT...it was the same. She was in a rush, not helpful, not forthcoming with the prices on the internet and then I realized this would not be a good experience if that is how the phone call went.
My other choice was Lovelace Manor and WOW!! what a different experience! You can read my review of our wonderful stay at Lovelace Manor.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank PatKohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
2.2 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
1.3 mi away
Scottish Inns Ronks
Scottish Inns Ronks
#13 of 16 in Ronks
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cherry Lane Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystone Manor

Address: 2658 Old Philadelphia Pike, PO Box 270, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9600
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bird in Hand
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Greystone Manor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Mansion and carriage house (the carriage house is 6 rooms w/ private baths, very rustic rooms. Outdoor pool and hot tub. Breakfast, private baths, central heat only and AC only, on 2 acres in Amish country. Great views and pretty surroundings, Award winning gardens! free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Greystone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystone Manor Hotel Bird In Hand
Greystone Manor Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing