We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amish Country Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Amish Country Motel for 2 nights. It was everything we wanted. The front sign states "Relax and enjoy the view" That is exactly we did. The pool was awesome, the room was great, staff was so friendly and the views were fabulous. They have chairs on the front lawn for people watching. It was great.
We will definitely stay again. There is only one thing I would like to see, this motel, as others in the area, used to offer packages. They no longer do so. Bringing back the 2 night package would invite more travelers to stay, since at least 2 meals were offered.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kharty1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    60
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
98
65
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here last week and could not have been happier. The Amish Country Motel is a throwback to a different era but in an entirely good way. This is an older property but my room was spotless, the beds clean and comfortable, the location is perfect for touring Amish country, TV-WiFi-A/C all worked just fine and the price is right. The front desk is very helpful and friendly. They only serve coffee (good coffee too) in the morning but there are plenty of dining options a stone's throw away.
Lovely tree covered front lawn with numerous chairs and lounges to relax upon while you listen to the cows across the way mooing and forget your cares. Amish Country Motel...thanks for a great if all too short stay. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Donna and company will take excellent care of you in this beautiful property situated among the rolling farmlands of the Amish Country. Great pool and superb staff.

Owned and operated by the Smucker Family - great locals who've been at it a very long time. Yours are offered as part of your stay.
Don't miss this great spot. The rooms are spectacular and the views are breathtaking!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Amish Country Motel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thanks for recommending us! Donna Howe and the Smucker Family appreciate your kind words and look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is an older motel...very charming. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable. The country view was very relaxing with Amish buggies traveling back and forth on the road in front...Amish farm land view from the back deck. There was no breakfast but good coffee in the morning, very good Amish restaurants close by, though. When in the area, we will certainly stay here again...not the typical motel room for sure...which we enjoyed all the more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

In the 20 something years that we have been visiting Lancaster,we've stayed at this Motel at least 7 times and it only gets better. The rooms are always clean & comfortable, a bit pricey for a Motel but is probably because of it's location.There's an Amish farm right across the street,we enjoy sitting outside and looking at the Amish farmers working the land and feeding the animals. A beautiful view! The continental breakfast is not that great but there are plenty of restaurants near by. Last time we stayed was on 2012.We'll be there the first weekend of June 2014.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main floor facing the street and the family suite are the best because you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We would definetly go back, just loved everything about the motel and the location and the friendly, pleasant way that we were treated. Staff was very helpful helping us out with things we wanted to do and the locations. Thanks so much! Make sure to try this out!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia A, Guest Relations Manager at Amish Country Motel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
There are so many things to do in Lancaster County, and we’re delighted we were able to help you find them! We hope you’ll stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here near the end of October 2013 for 3 nights. Since we were on a smaller budget, It was a really great deal price wise.

I thought that the location was excellent. While not right in Bird-In-Hand, the motel was much closer than I thought it would be to stores, the market, outlet malls, and places to eat. When we did drive to different sites the scenery and well tended farmland in this area was wonderful to see.

I loved that the motel is in the middle of picturesque farmland. Farmland is behind the motel and across the street. It was so nice and peaceful just to sit and watch the slower paced, simpler life unobtrusively from my motel room window and balcony. Near the end of each day there were buggies going by; Amish pushing their scooters along the road; Amish boys doing their chores and tending the chickens and livestock across the street; cows going in for milking at dusk; and people at the buggy ride business next to the motel hitching up and heading home.

Just a note: at this time of year the rooster across the street started crowing sometime after 4 a.m. :o) Depending on how light you sleep, how sensitive your hearing is, and how much you like the sound of a rooster, this could be too early for a wake up call.

The motel rooms and bathrooms were very neat and clean and the comforters on the beds were very attractive in their quilt like appearance. While face soap was provided (a wonder eucalyptus scent), you need to provide your own shampoo, body soap and cream.

There were snack and pop machines available and the motel office had coffee available too. The staff are very knowledgeable about the best places to eat and a wise person would do well to heed their advice, as we belatedly found out after the first night.

The only drawback that we found was that there is a lot of traffic on the Old Philadelphia Pike running right in front of the motel. It was bad enough at night and in the early morning to keep one awake. The other sleep depriving thing in my room was that if the room(s) next door used the bathroom, the water in the pipes was loud. Just take some earplugs along.

We did find that the rooms were a bit musty when first opened. My parents complained a fair bit about their room being smelly throughout their stay. Again, it might depend on the season (we had some rain) and how sensitive your sense of smell is and / or if you have allergies. I had no trouble (surprisingly) and could put up with it as we really just slept there at night and were out most of the day and evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RSA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bird in Hand
1.0 mi away
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
Bird-In-Hand Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Bird in Hand
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
AmishView Inn & Suites
AmishView Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Bird in Hand
1,071 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Intercourse Village Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,917 reviews
2.1 mi away
Harvest Drive Family Inn
Harvest Drive Family Inn
#3 of 3 in Intercourse
251 reviews
7.9 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amish Country Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amish Country Motel

Property: Amish Country Motel
Address: 3013 Old Philadelphia Pike, Bird in Hand, PA 17505-9724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Bird in Hand
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bird in Hand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Amish Country Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Amish Country Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amish Country Hotel Bird In Hand
Amish Country Motel Bird In Hand, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing