We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of an ice cream store” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brennan's Big Chill

Brennan's Big Chill
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Bloomsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Have you seen the cow? If the answer is yes, you've probably enjoyed what we call "Handmade Excitement". Established in 2004, the concept was to provide our customers with a new handmade ice cream experience with every visit. Our atmosphere brings back or establishes new memories for everyone that walks through the door. You will find an enthusiastic staff of well-trained employees. All of our ice cream is made on the premises using only the finest ingredients with most of the flavors being all natural. We offer over 200 flavors of ice cream from our own recipes, some of which you will find nowhere else. There are 42 flavors displayed which are rotated on a daily basis. We specialize in making Banana Splits, Sundaes, milkshakes, frozen coffee and fruit drinks.Anyone can sell ice cream and desserts but at Brennan's Big Chill we sell "Handmade Excitement" Open from Groundhogs Day (Feb.2) To just before Thanksgiving
Bloomsburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gem of an ice cream store”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

One block off of Main Street in Bloomsburg, is the best ice cream you'll find in the area. the service is friendly and allows tasting if you are unsure of the flavor. Their is a large variety of unique home made ice creams. Varieties change on a regular basis. The place is always clean and the service is friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    15
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broomall. PA
1 review
“Super way to recognize our son's 21st birthday without being there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Owner Debbie Brennan was so accomodating even at the last minute when we telephoned on the same day to order enough ice cream cake to feed 30 students for our son's 21st birthday. Since our son was unable to celebrate his special milestone with us at home, we tapped into Brennan's Big Chill to help us make his celebration without us being there. They provided two ice cream cakes with "21" candles and accepted our credit card payment so that we only had to get one of our son's fellow student's to pick it up and present cakes to him and his friends as a surprise from us (his parents) since we could not be there on his special day.

30 classmates thoroughly enjoyed this great treat and being a part of the surprise. Debbie Brennan went above and beyond to help make it happen.

GREAT PLACE AND RECOMMEND OTHER PARENTS TO SURPRISE THEIR OUT OF TOWN STUDENTS WITH THIS IDEA AND IT WAS SOOOOO APPRECIATED BY OUR SON AND HIS FRIENDS.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delish!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

All homemade, perfect temp makes it soft but not mushy, probably some of the best ice cream around, and it is consistently excellent (the bear paws and the mint with fudge are two great choices). The take-home ice cream cakes are good too - we loved the cookies and cream one.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Puernux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomsburg
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely not better than Creamery Ice Cream you're joking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

But wow... its some damn good ice cream and very affordable!!

If you got a sweet tooth this place is a must

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank revoishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than PSU Creamery!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Great homemade icecream! Perfect way to wrap up parents weekend with our son at Bloomsburg! Can't wait to return and see what favors are in store for us. I had raspberry cake and fudge brownie, few in our party had the pumpkin and LOVED it. Seven were in pure party and the bill was $ 25.00! Staff was very friendly and the place were sooo clean! You can tell how much the owners care about putting a great product out there, will go back every visit!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brennan's Big Chill also viewed

 

Been to Brennan's Big Chill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing