We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Springfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boalsburg B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Wonderful stay last weekend at The Springfield House, while visiting Penn State. Charming, cozy large rooms, delicious breakfast and very cute historic street. So much better than staying in a chain motel. We stayed in the Oak Suite which has a fireplace and faces the street. We ate at the tavern on the corner, which was also very quaint and food was great.
We will be returning to this bed and breakfast whenever we visit this area.

Room Tip: Oak Suite which has a fireplace and faces the cute street. Very large and spacious connected to ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missouri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Springfield House for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The Springfield Suite was very nice, comfortable and clean with the added bonus of a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was made to order each day and Cheryl was friendly and asked about our stay and offered suggestions for places to visit and things to do. We loved the wrap around porch and the swing and enjoyed walking around town which was quiet and charming. It was very relaxing and eating dinner outside at Duffy's Tavern each evening was an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doha_dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A very nice, clean and well located inn near State College, Pennsylvania in the beautiful town of Boalsburg. Sure it was clean and the room was spacious, but the sitting rooms were not heated (or they were conserving precious heating fuel). The innkeepers were cold, distant, preoccupied and, not engaging. While the bedding was too soft, this is a personal preference. The breakfast was "nothing to write home about" and the innkeeper seemed really eager to clear the table. Maybe we have been spoiled by the treatment received at other inns in this area and elsewhere but there was just nothing special about this place, certainly nothing that warranted the premium price over a chain motel. There are many other really nice inns in that area. In the future we are going to stick with the ones we like.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank socrates321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Spent 1 night at the B&B in Boalsburg, PA, a few miles from State College and well away from the hustle of that college town. The home was lovely and the owner affable. Breakfast was more than generous. It was lovely overnight and I would highly recommend the Springfield House.

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the street should allow for a good night's sleep since Boalsburg is a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssentialExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington,RI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A delightful B & B with friendly hosts, Bill and Cheryl. Cooked to order delicious breakfast. Lovingly restored 200 year old home in heart of the charming village of Boalsburg. Very clean and comfortable. So convenient to Penn State campus, just 4 miles. The village has a wonderful tavern/restaurant and some unique shops. Already looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachglassgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alzey, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A pleasant place, spacious and lovely, in wonderful surroundings and with a gracious host. Entirely fitting to Boalsburg, which is one of the few places in the US that are still REAL and not overrun by chains.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNMNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This B & B exceeded my expectations. It is situated in the heart of the quaint and charming town of Boalsburg. The accomodations were very nice. The staff went above and beyond to make you feel welcome and address any concerns or questions you had. The breakfast quarters were very nice. Our breakfast had some extra touches of sticky buns from The Diner in State College. (wish there were veggies for my omelette...only suggestion) Overall wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again if I need lodging near State College. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boalsburg
4.4 mi away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
758 reviews
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,220 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#12 of 26 in State College
461 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Springfield House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 126 E Main St, Boalsburg, PA 16827-1421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Boalsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boalsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springfield House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Springfield House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing