We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Springfield House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Boalsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed one night at the Springfield House. The owners were very warm and inviting. The house was revnovated in 2005 and beautifully appointed. Bill and Cheryl have an extensive video library for all guest to use. Coffee, tea, water, soda and snacks were available anytime. We stayed in the Shingleton Suite which was comfortable, clean, warm and quiet. Each room has a newly renovated bathroom with seperate heat controls for the bathroom and bedroom. Breakfast the next morning was a delicious generous made to order meal. Will come again when I am in the Happy Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2012

Wonderful stay last weekend at The Springfield House, while visiting Penn State. Charming, cozy large rooms, delicious breakfast and very cute historic street. So much better than staying in a chain motel. We stayed in the Oak Suite which has a fireplace and faces the street. We ate at the tavern on the corner, which was also very quaint and food was great.
We will be returning to this bed and breakfast whenever we visit this area.

Room Tip: Oak Suite which has a fireplace and faces the cute street. Very large and spacious connected to ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missouri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at the Springfield House for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. The Springfield Suite was very nice, comfortable and clean with the added bonus of a jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was made to order each day and Cheryl was friendly and asked about our stay and offered suggestions for places to visit and things to do. We loved the wrap around porch and the swing and enjoyed walking around town which was quiet and charming. It was very relaxing and eating dinner outside at Duffy's Tavern each evening was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doha_dweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A very nice, clean and well located inn near State College, Pennsylvania in the beautiful town of Boalsburg. Sure it was clean and the room was spacious, but the sitting rooms were not heated (or they were conserving precious heating fuel). The innkeepers were cold, distant, preoccupied and, not engaging. While the bedding was too soft, this is a personal preference. The breakfast was "nothing to write home about" and the innkeeper seemed really eager to clear the table. Maybe we have been spoiled by the treatment received at other inns in this area and elsewhere but there was just nothing special about this place, certainly nothing that warranted the premium price over a chain motel. There are many other really nice inns in that area. In the future we are going to stick with the ones we like.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank socrates321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Spent 1 night at the B&B in Boalsburg, PA, a few miles from State College and well away from the hustle of that college town. The home was lovely and the owner affable. Breakfast was more than generous. It was lovely overnight and I would highly recommend the Springfield House.

Room Tip: Even the rooms facing the street should allow for a good night's sleep since Boalsburg is a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssentialExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A delightful B & B with friendly hosts, Bill and Cheryl. Cooked to order delicious breakfast. Lovingly restored 200 year old home in heart of the charming village of Boalsburg. Very clean and comfortable. So convenient to Penn State campus, just 4 miles. The village has a wonderful tavern/restaurant and some unique shops. Already looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachglassgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

A pleasant place, spacious and lovely, in wonderful surroundings and with a gracious host. Entirely fitting to Boalsburg, which is one of the few places in the US that are still REAL and not overrun by chains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNMNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boalsburg
5.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Penn State
Comfort Suites Penn State
#13 of 26 in State College
251 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#10 of 26 in State College
596 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express State College, Williamsburg Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#21 of 26 in State College
811 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#11 of 26 in State College
193 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#19 of 26 in State College
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 126 E Main St, Boalsburg, PA 16827-1421
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Boalsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boalsburg
Price Range: £101 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springfield House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Springfield House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing