We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Serene”
Review of Children's Lake

Children's Lake
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Serene”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The lake is the heart of the village and gives the surrounding area a great peacefulness. It is small and man made, hence the name. However, it fits perfectly into it's surroundings. There is free public parking opposite the fly fishing shop. It takes about 20 minutes to walk around the entire lake. The water is very clear and along the park side and on the bridge you can see numerous large brown trout. Take a blanket and have a picnic in the park. You won't be disappointed if you are looking for a relaxing afternoon. Then pop into the Boiling Springs Tavern for lunch or dinner which is excellent.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JimM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“(Too) Well Fished Lake Makes A Good Catch Unlikely”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Crystal clear water sets this large spring fed body of water apart from so many other lakes in south central PA, It is great place to feed ducks & other water fowl. Took mom here a few times in her later years - she had a ball!

If you want to catch fish so little kids can reel them in, be prepared for their boredom to cut short your casting opportunities. Smack on the Appalachian Trail, next to a nice looking privately owned and publicly accessible swimming pool, the lake can be a romantic place for a before or after dinner walk (see Boiling Springs Tavern review).

It is NOT A PLACE TO TAKE LITTLE KIDS so they can reel in the fish you hook - unless you go the day of or day after stocking. If you do, be ready to fight the crowds and spend a lot of time untangling lines.

Downstream from the lake, the water flows into the WORLD FAMOUS Yellow Breeches creek. THIS is where you can find some feisty trout. Parts of the YB are catch and release so read the postings and the F&B commission regulations. If you pay a big fine, you still do not get to enjoy the catch!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Swimming in the lake? We did and it was lovely!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful time splashing around in the lake. It was picturesque and refreshing on such a hot and muggy day the spring water being in the 50s. There were all types of water foul swimming in the lake from swans to ducks we even saw a small beaver! We were a little foggy on the rules and regulations shrouding this temped pool of water. We didn't see any no swimming signs posted in the park surrounding the lake and decided to swim in the crystal clear waters. My friend whom lives in the town later informed me that there is an unspoken law about swimming in this lovely lake; that being said we still splashed around for several hours talking to several other Villagers and none of them mentioned this counterintuitive regulation. My personal belief is the water is much too cold for the villagers and we fully intend to return to this charming little village to splash about some more!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake and park area”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a beautiful spring fed lake in the quaint town of Boiling Springs, PA. The water is cool and crystal clear. You can see where the water is "bubbling" up to the surface from the underground. What a neat and serene place to visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank katmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Suprizing”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

If you live in Central PA and have not visited Boiling Springs, do it. The place is a step back in time. The town center has a glorious spring fed lake with water so clear that you can see the bottom. People are friendly, the Appalachian Trail runs through it and the area around the lake is cool on a warm day since the springs run out at 52 degrees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank reezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Children's Lake also viewed

 

Been to Children's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing