We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was okay, but not great”

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bradford
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It was okay, but not great”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The lobby was spacious and contained many phamplets to nearby attractions on a rack. But there were a few problems: The door was hard to open, so we had to ask the receptionist to unlock it. The hotel was old and could use a renovation but the rooms and the linens were clean. The breakfast selection was small but had enough food. The room was clean and affordable, and I would stay there again if I had the chance.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the road. It gets kind of loud. Also, try to get a hotel near the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErpyPorpoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    13
    2
    16
See reviews for
15
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed only one night because I chose not to stay there for the second for work. (I let him know upon check in that I may only stay one night instead of the 2 reserved, based on the appearance of the place) I can honestly say this was the 2nd or 3rd worst place I've stayed in over the past 3-4 years and I have stayed in a lot of different hotels due to working on the road (I can think of 20 different hotels without much thought, not counting bed & breakfasts).

Bed was terrible, the room had a very strong musty smell (I left the door open all evening until I went to bed). Not that it's an issue for me, but decor was way out-dated (mint color tub, some broken tiles, no full length mirror)

I guess if you're rolling through at 1am and just need somewhere to crash, it'll work; but don't pick this for any stay where you will spend any time other than sleeping and showering in the room. If money's an issue, I say spend the extra on a better hotel and make up for it by eating ramen noodles for a few meals to save that money back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I want to say this place is horrible, the customer services at front desk was so wrong toward me and my friends,we had to leave the hotel without even using the bed shower or dirty the bathroom and we had to go home early so we all went o turn in our keys for the rooms and left and got no refund we are out 140.dollars and we never sleep in the rooms we were going to stay in for just one night..

Room Tip: dont stay here period!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stay here 2 nights and for $65 per night incl. wifi and breakfast ,also free parking this place was great. Room had two double beds and was very clean and tidy. Got small fridge and microwave with coffee maker ,very useful . TV working just fine . Over all you can not ask for better considering the rate of $65. We were exploring the Allegany State Park near by and that is how we ended staying here.
Cheers Dimi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My parents and I were caught in snow and needed to find a hotel to stay for the night. This was the first hotel we came to and it was available. When we came into the room, it has been updated and was very clean. The bathroom is a little out dated...pink tile walls, but once you figure out the old shower handles, the shower works well. We were there early, so it was very quiet when we got there. With the weather as it was, of course, more travellers stopped in. We were the fortunate souls that had a group of at least 2 adults with several kids that were put in the room next to ours...which was when we discovered how thin the walls were. We could hear EVERYTHING that they said. We were leaving early in the morning and they were very loud. If you are looking for peace and quiet...I would recommend going elsewhere. I am giving this an average rating since the room was clean. We left before breakfast was served, but it was only 15 minutes prior and nothing seemed to be set up.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singer73170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
314 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Excellent water pressure making for an excellent shower. Things are still old but everything worked. Remote, refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker all new working well. Very quiet restful night. Just make sure you bring your own breakfast, minimal choices. They do have real oj for breakfast. They are also doing lots of repair to make it better you can tell its work in progress.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamond3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Despite the reviews on Tripadvisor about this hotel, I was going to give it a try. I made my reservations online at the hotel's website. Something came up and I had to change the dates for my stay. I called the hotel directly to cancel the reservation. The man how answered the phone was just absolutely rude and nasty stating he could not cancel the reservation. He told me I had to cancel it online since I made it online. I called the toll free number - they had no problem cancelling the reservation and told me the hotel should have cancelled it for me. I'm actually glad I had the change in plans - judging from how rude the hotel was on the phone, I can only imagine the kind of customer service they give.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
9.9 mi away
The New Lantern Motel
The New Lantern Motel
#1 of 2 in Allegany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
10.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 920 E Main St, Bradford, PA 16701-3212 (Formerly De Soto Motel)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Bradford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Bradford, located in rural McKean County, Pennsylvania. Bradford is well known as the home of Zippo (a collectible pocket lighters manufacturer) and Case (a collectible knives manufacturer owned by Zippo). The city also boasts an American Refining Group oil refinery, which is the oldest continuously operating refinery in the United States. Our hotel is conveniently located near the University of Pittsburgh At Bradford, Allegheny National Forest, Zippo Case Visitor Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing