We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure In The Most Unlikely Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lodge at Glendorn
Certificate of Excellence
Southern california
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure In The Most Unlikely Place!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Right up front I will stipulate a few things for the record. 1. I am an unabashed fan and supporter of, and native son, from this corner of Southwestern NY and Northwestern PA. 2. I had never shot a gun before, or fly fished, until this week. And so we come to my unexpected, fantastic and even blissful encounter with The Lodge at Glendorn.

We stumbled across Glendorn when back home for our July 4 holiday visit. Looking for something different, we booked into a cabin that accommodates 12 on the grounds of this private estate. I'll cut to the chase. It was superb....the whole thing. This is four star peace and quiet. The menu for our 26 hour blitz with 11 included massages at the spa, shooting skeet on the range, fly fishing at three different spots on the property, bike riding through the forest, swimming in the pool, eating s'mores by the fire at our cabin, and a jeep safari through the property.

The property is a Valhalla for the outdoors with big time resort comfort. We are not outdoors folks but if you want to dip your toe into hunting, shooting or fishing, the Glendorn makes it painless. The guides are ready to go, very friendly and ease you into the activities with the right touch of info, fun and storytelling.

Accommodations are luxury cabins, but cabins aren't accurate. Ours had a full kitchen, AC, satellite TV and stereo, screened in porch, six bedrooms, countless fireplaces, a babbling brook right next to the outdoor fire pit, monogrammed pillows, towels, robes and slippers. This was roughing it without the rough.

The highlight for me was the food. The Executive Chef selects fresh produce from the garden, and serves up world class food in a luxurious but relaxed atmosphere. This is Top Ten in my life dining. The wine list is worthy of the Wine Spectator Honors hanging on the wall. The white wine list was the best I've ever seen anywhere. After dinner it is time to retire to the billiard room for drinks, and if you decide to linger late, the kitchen will whip you up a turkey sandwich gourmet style for late night snack, and you pour your own drinks at the honor bar into the wee hours. We found our way back to our cabin for a late night fire, some guitar playing and cocktails surrounded by the sound of the brook running by us.

The secret of Glendorn is that they make it feel like it is your place. 35 guests and they said they were full, although we barely saw any other parties. If you wanted to do an activity, they were ready to go. If you wanted fly fishing poles at your door at 7am no problem. At several points during the day different pods of our group were out on the property doing different activities. We would then gather for a meal to compare adventures. Our ages ran from 13 to 22 yo and then four adults.

The resort isn't perfect. A few times a meal order got jumbled up a bit. Maybe the sea salt on the chocolate dessert was a bit too strong, and the billiard room was too stuffy so we opened all the windows to air it out, but these are rounding errors on what was a fantastic and unexpected visit. Whether you are big into game hunting and fishing, or an uninterested novice, Glendorn has something for you. We will be back!

Room Tip: For big families Clayts worked really well. Lots of room and easy access to lodge, pool, tennis, fis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    22
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
108
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saltsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

my husband, myself and our three children visited glendorn for the first time on March1-3, 2013, and we had an amazing time. we stayed at the LOFT, and it was absolutely beautiful. The entire glendorn staff were so very kind, and accomodating to anything that we needed. We enjoyed 2 snow mobile trips with guide Shane and it was great. we first explored glendorns acreage and then the second trip we went into the allegheny national forest and it was beautiful. we can not say enough about our whole experience from the wonderful great tasting food, beautiful cabins, friendly staff, and of course the absolute beauty of the resort itself. our family had a very relaxing and peaceful yet adventurous time and we hope to stay again.

Room Tip: each cabin is quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I swear I do not work for nor have any association with the Glendorn---except as a happy, rested, content guest. This was our second stay. We booked the Hideout, which is pretty rustic (no TV, no cell service) but a very cool quiet retreat for two of us, plus one very happy (tired) bulldog. The trails from the Hideout are amazing (and believe the brochure when it lists a trail as "difficult" or steep--they ain't kidding and this is not Kansas). The folks that work at the Glendorn---all of whom I again will refer to as "elves" as I did in my last review----are terrific. They are really a throw-back to an era where hospitality professionals tried to anticipate your every need---leftover turkey sandwiches in the fridge on T-giving evening (check), smores with a lit fire when you return from dinner (check), wood stacks to keep the fires burning (check), scheduled time with an expert skeet-shooter (check), fly reels waiting for your use (check), milkbones for the bulldog (check), and, yes, even two towels specifically to wipe a dog's dirty feet (check)...(check)(check)(check). I love the Glendorn and only wish it were closer.

Room Tip: The Hideout is a wonderful cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

Our long family weekend at Glendorn was absolutely wonderful. There are so many activities to keep you busy, but it is also a perfect place to just relax if you want to do nothing! All of the staff members are warm, friendly, professional and knowledgable; the grounds and accommodations are a perfect blend of charm and elegance; delicious breakfasts and lunches were included; and don't miss Jacque's spa treatments! The family portrait was a great parting gift. (Thank you, Tanya!) We're looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickieCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Once again we enjoyed a wonderful weekend at Glendorn. We tried a new cabin "The Loft" it was beatiful and more modern than some of the others. It has four master suites, a lovely screened porch and would be a great place for a party, or get away with friends. It has a pool table, and a great space to play cards or games. While some of the other cabins are more charming, this cabin has all the finest in fixtures. It's all in what you like Glendorn has something for everyone. I can't write a review withtout talking abut the food. My husband and I love to eat out and consider ourselves unofficial food critics. Chef Joe and his amazing team create a wonderful culinary experience 5 star! The service is always amazing, Natalia and her team, Tanya, Shane, Scott all go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful time again, can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: They have a wide selection be sure to check them out online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanda464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

There are a lot of posibilitis to relax and to practice sport, it is very quite and there are nort a lot of peopel. You have you privacity, the dinner is good, the lunch is not very good. The staff is ok. The rooms are very good and with a very personal decoratiuon, it is as a room by friends your do not fill like in a hotel but you have all the comodities as in a hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My wife and I visited here recently on a return trip. This is the first time we came back since the property was purchased. The new management did a great job of keeping the traditions and elements that made our trip here memorable the first time around and have also improved the grounds. I especially enjoyed trap and skeet shooting.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buster_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
16.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
24.4 mi away
Inn at Holiday Valley
Inn at Holiday Valley
#2 of 5 in Ellicottville
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Glendorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Glendorn

Property: The Lodge at Glendorn
Address: 1000 Glendorn Dr, Bradford, PA 16701-4648
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Glendorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your The Lodge at Glendorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorn Hotel Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing