We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Secluded Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lodge at Glendorn
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstown, PA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Secluded Escape”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I am fairly well qualified to comment on The Lodge at Glendorn. We have stayed there 5 different times dating back to 2005. This is the first review I have written. We absolutely love this place. It is very secluded. You need to like outdoor activities, or you might be disappointed. There are not very many indoor activities available. And there is definitely nothing else around Bradford, PA, in terms of tourist attractions. It is really all about the love of the outdoors.

We have usually visited in the winter. There are cross-country ski trails on the property (about 1200 acres altogether of private land). You can also snowshoe the same trails. There are snowmobiles available to ride on the trails. This is very fun. Skeet shooting is available in winter or other seasons, weather permitting. There is also fishing in their own small lakes. They have had a marketing relationship with Orvis. We also drove up on prior visits to Ellicottville, NY, about 50 minutes north, to go downhill skiing at Holiday Valley. So, that is also an option if you love winter sports.

The lodge itself is just so warm and inviting. The great room in the main house has about a 30 to 40 foot ceiling with huge exposed wooden beams. There is a huge full height stone fireplace at one end with a real wood fire going during the cold winter months. It is a cozy place to spend time on a cold winter day, and also serves as the dining room area in the evening for dinner. It is a classic grand lodge house in the woods.

The food at Glendorn has always been excellent. The current chef has been there now for about 5 years. Glendorn is a member of Relais & Chateaux, one of only two inns in all of Pennsylvania that belong to that prestigious organization (the other one being Hotel Fauchere in eastern PA, in Milford). Anyway, what that generally indicates is that restaurant services will be really top notch. And that is indeed the case here. The dinners are always consistently really good. And the food has always been fairly simple and just really well prepared in my opinion. I love that about Glendorn. Honestly, some of these high-end chefs go off the deep end on some kind of tangent (like a sea salt infatuation). I have never seen that here. Dinner is not included in the room rate. Breakfast is included, and is always good. During breakfast, one of the activity directors/guides will come around to your table and discuss with you what activities you may want to line up for the day.

We have usually stayed in the main lodge, where there are four different rooms, two upstairs and two on the main level. We have stayed in the balcony room upstairs on most visits, which is a cozy corner room. The lodge itself is old, about 80 years old I think. Consequently, you get some of the issues that come with an old building. The bathrooms are not renovated. So, the bathroom fixtures are old. They work fine, and everything is spotlessly clean, but it is not a modern bathroom. The tiles on the bathroom floor are cold in the winter. There are small rugs on the floor, so this is a minor issue, but off of the rugs, the tile is cold. If you are a light sleeper, you can actually hear the grandfather clock in the great room chiming away on the hour. I do not think it has ever actually woken me up during the night. But, if you happen to be awake on the turn of the hour, you can hear it. Anyway, all of these are minor issues in my view. The positives outweigh the negatives by a large margin.

On one prior occasion, when our full family came, we stayed in “The Roost” which is one of the cabins. It was really enchanting. It is about a 100 yard walk from the Big House. It was also warm and cozy. Around every corner, there seemed to be another cubbyhole, some other space or room. It does not look that big from the outside, but inside, there seemed to be a lot of rooms (mostly small rooms). The advantage in the winter of staying in the main lodge is to avoid going outside on your way to or from dinner or breakfast. Of course, the whole point of staying there is to be outside the rest of the time. But, it is nice to get dressed up in nice clothes and walk inside this warm, inviting main lodge to dinner and back without the need for a coat or winter boots.

We have stayed at Glendorn once in the fall. The fall colors are beautiful in that area. And, just to the east of the Bradford area is the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon, which is really beautiful when the fall colors are on full display. It is easily reachable by car from Glendorn. The rest of our visits to Glendorn were all winter visits. The staff has always been extremely friendly and helpful. We have not yet stayed there in the summer. But, in any season, if you are an outdoors activity oriented person, and appreciate really good cuisine, you would probably love it here. We truly do.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiddenGem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    21
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
104
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Top notch, impeccable service and impressive history and grounds. Our family loved the Roost cabin and dinners over in the main lodge. We caught trout with our young children in the stream and shot skeet (for the first time) with Damon. We love to travel and feel this place is beyond compare! Highly recommended for the discerning traveler---not at all budget friendly. We loved it and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We loved the Roost! Would be appropriate for a family visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

From the moment we entered the through the gates, we had an exceptional experience. The lodge truly feels like you are stepping back in time. We had very high expectations and was not at all disappointed. The dining experience was ultimate, every course just kept getting better. Even though the food was definitely the highlight, everything was phenomenal. The server was knowledgeable and never missed a beat. The property is quite charming and was decorated tastefully for the Christmas season. We were in awe from the time we arrived and are still. Visiting Glendorn is a treat and is highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti_25643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at this exquisite location in Bradford,Pa. This was our second visit and the fall foliage was peak that weekend and the accomodations were spctacular as usual. We were able to stay in a nicely appointed"cabin" and took advantage of the hiking and skeet shooting. The staff is friendly, the food is really delicious and takes advantage of local produce and meats which are excellently prepared by the kitchen staff.
When I say "cabin" , it is really quite more than the usual cabin that comes to mind. These are actual residences that were built by the Dorn family back when the retreat was created in 1929. Cliff and Tracy Forrest, the current owners, have upgraded the resort but each cabin has it's original charm and oftentimes the original cabinetry and furnishings.
If you are looking for a quiet retreat, with excellent scenery, ammenities for recreation, and truly excellent cuisine in the heart of the Allegheny wilderness in northern Pennsylvania, you really must make the Lodge at Glendorn one for your bucket list.

Room Tip: The rooms in the lodge are beautuful and a little less costly than the cabins. But the cabin experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland County, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Beautiful property but way over priced. No one mentioned the $100.00 per night resort fee in addition to the $700.00 per night room-suite cost. Limited menu for lunch and dinner. Count on spending $1,000.00 plus per day for two not including activities.

Nice people.

Rooms out-dated and kind of depressing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlendornLodge, Owner at The Lodge at Glendorn, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Glendorn. We value all feed back, it is our goal to continuously improve on the job we do at the Lodge. As you know, the Lodge was built by the Dorn family in the 1920’s and many of our accommodations date back 60-80 years. The ambiance of this period is one of the special and unique aspects of our property. It is our goal that we continuously exude the 5 C’s that distinguishes a Relais and Chateaux property; character, charm, courtesy, calm and cuisine. Cuisine is the cornerstone which we feel our Executive Chef executes exceptionally. Since we cater to a small clientele, generally less than 30 guests, an extensive menu is not practical. The resort fee should be described in the reservations and check in procedure and we apologize it was not. The fee is calculated in any online bookings and is listed on our website under the “Frequently Asked Questions” section. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We hope our guests enjoy the pristine environment surrounding Glendorn. We are a three hour drive from Toronto, Cleveland, and Pittsburgh and could be described as being in the middle of nowhere but it does transport you away from your daily routine to the simple rewards of rest, renewal, and perspective. We hope to welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a really great place to get away. We did the Fin and Feather package and totally enjoyed a day of steelhead fishing and a day of pheasant hunting. The guides were great! The cabin we stayed in was clean and very comfortable, and close to the lodge. Meals and general service were also fantastic. I could write pages about this place. Really, one of the best vacation stays I've evry had.

Room Tip: Rooms are in the lodge and looked "very" spacious for couples. If you have kids I think yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonitaBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently spent our fall weekend at the Glendorn and this is our second time at the resort. From the moment we pulled in, the staff were friendly and welcoming. It is the amazing staff and attention to detail that make the Glendorn a five star, incomparable experience. From the fresh baked cookies in your room to the fresh baked banana bread packaged for your travels on check out, the Glendorn is an outstanding retreat. Shane was our guide for fly fishing, he was knowledgable, patient, friendly and helped to make the day a memorable experience. Dinner was impressive and Natalia and staff attended to every detail, making each dining experience both special and complete. The piano player who accompanied dinner on Saturday night, added to the ambiance. S'mores at Skipper lake allowed us to socialize with other guests and the presentation of the ingredients on a silver tray contributed to the unique experience. We are grateful for finding this gem in the woods and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The possibilities are endless but a suite in the the lodge is so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseColouredGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites - Bradford
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bradford Inn
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 6 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
16.8 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Glendorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Glendorn

Property: The Lodge at Glendorn
Address: 1000 Glendorn Dr, Bradford, PA 16701-4648
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > McKean County > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Glendorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lodge at Glendorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendorn Hotel Bradford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing