We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lodge at Glendorn
Nearby Hotels
US$60
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bradford)
US$104
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$129
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
160
23
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
23
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingskeet shootingbig housedorn familyoutdoor activitiesthe main housetrap shootingtroutdining experiencetook advantagerustic elegancecourse dinnerjeep touroverlook cabinhigh endscreened in porchpool table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 205 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Oklahoma
17
Reviewed 3 December 2005

I've spent nearly half of my 20-year career in hotels and resorts, traveling all over the U.S. I've stayed in everything from boutique hotels in NYC and luxurious Florida resorts to New England B&Bs and California wine country inns. Glendorn ranks among the best when it comes to the total package.

We spent Valentine's Day there in 2005 and it was fantastic. The scenery is beautiful--everything was covered with snow and it snowed much of the time we were there. It was like jumping into a picture postcard of a rural winter wonderland.

Our favorite thing about it was certainly the food--"incredible" doesn't do it justice. The meals were perfect and the wine selections for each were exactly right. We also enjoyed the cozy atmosphere in the main lodge at dinner. If you're adventurous, ask the staff for the "cocktail of the day." Each day during cocktail hour, they fixed us a different drink and each was delicious.

Equally wonderful were the accommodations: private cabins with a fireplace, living room and even a hot tub. Each had rich wood paneling (made from native trees, such as butternut and wormy chestnut) and the bed/linens were sumptuous. The bathrooms were vintage tile with nearly all of the original fixtures--it was like stepping back in time 50 years.

We would especially recommend taking part in the outdoor activities. We shot skeet for the first time and the instructor was terriffic--he had us feeling confident within minutes. We also took advantage of hiking, snowshoeing and even sledding. We had the longest sled ride of our lives and felt like we were 12 years old again.

I would heartily recommend Glendorn to anyone who wants a romantic getaway in luxury. The service was impeccable and omnipresent, and we never heard the word, "no" from anyone. If you need to relax, I'd suggest 3 or 4 days at Glendorn, having a massage in your cabin and hot tubbing at night after a 5-star dinner. You'll feel brand new.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh, PA
14
Reviewed 3 December 2005

We had the most enjoyable trip. We have stayed at several Relais & Chateaux and Glendorn is the epitome of the 5-C's...Calm, Courteous, Charm, Character, and most all Cuisine. The Chef is fantastic. It is a tasing menu in the evening but if there is something you do not care, just mention it and a equally satisfying substitution will be presented. The rooms and cabins are reminiscent of a bygone area and that is where the "Charm" and "Character" come into play. If you want marble, glitz, then go to Vegas. If you want a truly unique experience, then Glendorn is the place. Damon in Activities is world-class in fly-fishing, his staff is wonderful in Trap and Skeet instruction, tennis, mountain bikes, swimming, Glendorn has it all. Can't wait to return in the winter for cross country skiing, wood burning fireplaces, and those full jars of cookies.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Cleveland, OH b
14
Reviewed 2 December 2005

Found the service and accommodations to be just dreamy--best place--so relaxing and romantic and I had a VERY full cookie jar with the best chocolate chip cookies! Wonderful for relaxing in front of a fire or cross country skiing--when we went had tons of beautiful snow--just a dream!!!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2005

I usually am full of excitement for what is considered a luxury resort. Especially a Relais & Chateaux property. I was stunned when I visited the Glendorn with my husband, it did not deserve the RC stamp of approval for many reasons:

1. When we arrived we were given a key and shown to our cabin. This was nice. But we weren't shown anything else on the grounds. We didn't know where the main dining room was, where the office was, where the fitness center was, etc. We had to figure it out on our own.

2. They boast their "homemade cookies" in each cabin. When we arrived, there was one cookie in our jar, and it was stale and hard. My cookie doesn't matter to me...but they should be on top of things like that. DETAILS...they matter so much.

3. There was thick ice (it was winter) all over the sidewalks. We couldn't get to our cabin easily because the ice was never removed, even after we asked.

4. One night at dinner, my husband asked for a second cocktail when we sat down. The waiter actually said "No. The bar is closed." We sat in stunned amazement. Relais and Chateaux pride themselves on "yes".

5. Food was ok....not worth the money.

The best part of the stay was our cabin, it was very cozy and beautiful. Except the bathroom, which was reminiscent of something from another decade. Too rustic for what they charge.

Go to Blackberry Farm. The owners should go to Blackberry Farm. They have a lot to learn about service and details.

Stayed: January 2003
5  Thank Les68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
13
Reviewed 7 September 2005

Pay close attention to the fact that Glendorn is the epitome of RUSTIC luxury. The dinner food and service are amazing, but the bathrooms (all of them--cabins and room) scream of the 1970s-- at the very most recent. Breakfast was rather ordinary and lunch varied from fantastic to mediocre. Back to the bathrooms: they're small, cheesy and, quite simply, WAY out of date. Not a relaxing place to spend time after a long hike or bike ride. Activities abound here (especially if you like to fish and shoot), but a few days at Glendorn is plenty. The Saturday dinner did take about 4 hours (and was not much more extravagant than the other dinners, which lasted about 2 hours). Since the family still owns part of the property, I doubt changes and updates will happen anytime soon. Beware-- your cell phone won't work here, so you're forced to relax! We tend to spend $600 - $800+ per night when on vacation, but for what it is, Glendorn’s price is steep. We'd visit again, but probably only for a few days. If you have a choice, look at Blackberry Farm in Tennessee or The Greenbrier—both are accessible from Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews