We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In The Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Butler
Certificate of Excellence
wny
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Hotel In The Area”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

I spent 2 hours looking for a good hotel in Butler. All of the hotels on my GPS
turned out to be in very bad shape and in questionable areas of the city. Comfort Inn is located on top of a hill on the outskirts of Butler in a quiet area on route 8. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    57
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
84
42
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Didn’t realize until few weeks prior to stay that had booked a smoking room. Wasn’t able to change it, but didn't matter much since the whole hotel - lobby, elevators, and hallways - reeked of smoke. The room not only smelled of smoke but also had some type of fowl odor almost like urine. The sheets, pillows, curtains, etc smelled of smoke. The walls are so thin that we could hear the TV in the room next door to us. Can barely get into bathroom and close the door since it’s so small. Beware of the air conditioner. My wife tried to turn it down and instead accidently turned on the heat which set off the fire alarm. After that the room smelled like burnt rat tail. The complimentary breakfast was fair, but the eggs were lacking. The eating area is very small and fills up quickly. Would never stay in this hotel again and would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights for an event in town. The staff was very friendly. We had our two small dogs with us. There are a lot of nice grassy areas to walk pets. Amenities aren't brand new, but the rooms are clean. Pillows were a bit small and uncomfortable. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. They opened the doors for us, offered to vacuum our room for us while we had the dogs out for a walk, and suggested the best pizza delivery in town and got us a menu and phone number. Breakfast was nice (waffles, sausage, eggs, bagles and toast, cereals and oatmeal) but the breakfast area was very crowded. We had to take ours back to the room since there were not enough tables for us to sit down. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mudgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We chose Comfort Inn in Butler because of its vicinity to where we wanted to visit and also because the person at hotels.com highly recommended it. Due to a booking mistake on part of hotels.com, despite my strong insistence on reserving a non-smoking room, we were assigned a smoking room. Though the hotel staff was polite and helpful and changed us to a non-smoking room immediately, it didn't matter much since the whole hotel feels like it is a smoking zone. Each floor has smoking and non-smoking regions, which made it difficult to breathe in the hallways, elevators and extremely uncomfortable in our room too. Every single sheet, curtain, pillow etc smelled of smoke. So, if you are particular or sensitive to smoke, I will not recommend this place to you. The rooms themselves are barely worth the money, even if you discount the smoke. It feels like a place put together cheaply, the bathroom is really small, the whole environment is somehow not very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was decent, but with all the smoke, we were in a hurry to leave as soon as possible. It was bad enough that we checked out next morning and found another hotel in the vicinity. Since we were not satisfied with the service, hotels.com fortunately refunded our money. We are never going back there, and I would not recommend this place to anyone. Simply not worth the trouble.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PolarPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

I returned to my room in the late afternoon to find my bed unmade. At first I thought that they had forgotten to clean the room, but then I saw a form left on the bed with a box checked that said "Items were on the bed, or around the bed area. The bed was not made." I had left my pajamas on the bedspread at the foot of the bed, therefore they did not make it! I have stayed in many, many hotels, from 5-star to real dumps, but I have never stayed in a hotel that refused to make the bed if you left your pajamas on it! Strange...

I called the front desk to complain, but the receptionist was very apathetic. His response (instead of apologizing) was to say that he didn't know how many things I had left on the bed, even though I had told him exactly what was on the bed. I told him to have the manager call me. He or she never did.

Other than that, the hotel is okay, but nothing special. Okay indoor pool. Terrible soundproofing between rooms. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_kester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed one night after a day of shopping and a Pirates' game. Our room was just off the main lobby, but unfortunately, near the ice machine. The room itself was plain, but clean. the bathroom is so small, the sink is actually outside and part of the rest of the room. The beds were ok, though I found the blankets to be a bit uncomfortable, and the bed a bit short. The free breakfast buffet wasn't bad, with a good selection, including fresh waffles, cereal, bagels, danish, yogourt, granola bars, boiled eggs, fruit, juice and coffee. Overall, it's not a bad spot if you need a place to stay for the night. The hotel is located up a hill, just off the highway, so there isn't any outside noise. The area of Butler isn't the best, but the hotel is secluded enough that this doesn't matter. Our night's sleep was ok, but the ice machine did wake me every couple of hours as it cycled through it's ice making process.

The pool was good - kids loved it. The fitness centre was a treadmill, an exercise bike and a TV. Pretty basic, but if that's all you wanted, it would work. You will have to drive to get any food other than breakfast, as there is nothing within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnieuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Stayed here in February. It did snow some during the day. I arrived in the late evening and found the lot to have about 6" of snow in it although the nearby roads were only wet. The desk clerk asked how the roads were and I told her that they were very good until I got to the hotel parking lot. She said she would have to contact the campany that plows for the hotel. When we left the next morning at about 11:00 a.m. the lots were in exactly the same conditon as they had been at check-in. On the way home I checked the lots of the nearby Super 8 and Days Inn as I drove by. Both parking lots had been plowed. Incidently, snow had prviously been plowed into the handicapped parking area and it was completely unavailable because it was covered by a very large pile of snow.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Butler
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Butler
Hampton Inn Butler
#1 of 8 in Butler
229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Butler Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butler
19.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kittanning
12.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Cranberry
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Cra...
#2 of 15 in Cranberry Township
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites
Address: 1 Comfort Ln, Butler, PA 16001-3841
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Butler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Butler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Award Winner hotel Comfort Inn & Suites Butler PA located on Route 8. We provide the hot complementary breakfast with eggs/sausage/waffles and much more, free internet, free parking. Our hotel is smoke free hotel. Our friendly staff is always waiting to greet you upon your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Butler
Comfort Inn Butler
Butler Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing