We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, Very Friendly”

The Inn at Mt. Chestnut
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Butler
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Mt. Chestnut
Ranked #1 of 6 Butler B&B and Inns
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Very Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Booked this B&B based off of the great reviews and overall we weren't disappointed. Our room was nicely decorated, very comfortable and very clean. Much better than staying at a Holiday Inn or the like. However, there were two things that could have been better:

1.The signs say quiet hours begin at 11pm. We found out (both nights) they don't begin at any point before this time. There was quite a bit of noise (especially on the first night) coming from (we think) above us, and it didn't stop until exactly 11 on the dot. Next night, same thing. The blessing is that at 11, it was very quiet and we could sleep.

The only other negative was that during our second night, the house got REALLY hot in the middle of the night. I love a warm room, but this was really something. Hubby cracked a window and it cooled off sufficiently, but it was quite a surprise to all of a sudden be baking!

All in all, the Inn is lovely and Leslie was very warm and friendly. We'll probably stay again, but we'll be more prepared for the 'quirks.' I advise anyone tired of the "Hotel" shuffle to try the Inn at Mount Chestnut!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank roadtripper_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Hi my husband and I stayed at the Inn at Mt Chestnut in Butler PA. on our trip back home from North CArolina. The Inn was recommended by another B&B that was booked solid so we took the chance and went. We were not disappointed. The home is beautiful, the rooms are very nicely done and the king bed was the most comfortable bed we had slept in. The host Leslie is a very lovely lady and the breakfast was delicious. If you like peace and quiet and a good nights sleep this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gwennie095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Everything about this B&B is topnotch. The location is serene and quiet, but only 10 minutes from downtown Butler. The Inn itself is absolutely lovely with both the public rooms and guestrooms decorated with quality furniture and tasteful accents. Our guestroom and bathroom were spotless and the king sized bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get up in the morning. However, the gourmet breakfast that awaited us in the dining room was enough motivation to get us moving. Even though the Inn had other guests we were never disturbed by noise because the walls are plaster which makes the rooms virtually sound proof.
I have paid double and triple the price for B&B's that weren't anywhere nearly as lovely as this one. There is absolutley no reason to stay anywhere else if business or pleasure brings you to Butler, PA.

Room Tip: Dietary restrictions are willingly accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pgbNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I highly recommend the Inn at Mt. Chestnut if you are in the Butler area, or want a weekend getaway from Pittsburgh.

1. Extremely quiet. The Inn is at the end of a very quiet street. There was no traffic noise.
2. Very large rooms, modern and absolutely clean.
3. Super comfortable king size bed. Mattress had the perfect combination of firm underneath yet soft on top.
4. Reasonable price! It cost the same as the Comfort Inn in Butler.
5. Friendly, helpful hosts.
6. Great breakfast, plus she accomodated my dietary restrictions with grace and charm (some people are irritated over things like that, or worse, get it completely wrong).

I saw in the guest book that several people came to the Inn at Mt. Chestnut for their first night on their honeymoon, and also saw one who came back to celebrate their 5 year anniversary. It would be a perfect place for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phrederica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

We came to PA to shop homes and booked this inn instead of a cheap motel. Amazing value of $89 a night, better than Comfort Inn. Mount Chestnut is right at the edge of the forest, kind of magical. Breakfast is HUGE. You will love this place.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rondalee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburg, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

The beautiful Inn at Mount Chestnut is located off a suburban road on a little lane that is sheltered with beautiful trees. The reception was warm and the room we stayed in was beautiful! The bathroom was amazing with a huge jacuzzi tub (bring your own bubbles, they didn't have any) and a double shower. The closet was huge and the room contained a nice fireplace, but we didn't use it in the middle of the summer. Their was a common balcony that looked out over the lawn and a lovely breakfast served the next morning. Everything made for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fortunesf00l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Butler hotels
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Butler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Butler
Hampton Inn Butler
#1 of 7 in Butler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Butler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Butler Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Butler
1.3 mi away
Locust Brook Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mt. Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mt. Chestnut

Property: The Inn at Mt. Chestnut
Address: 102 Patriot Ln, Butler, PA 16001-0210
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Butler
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Butler
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing