We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good family experience ”

Theo's Bar & Grille
Ranked #18 of 112 Restaurants in Camp Hill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winston Salem, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
579 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“A good family experience ”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I dined here with relatives. The 4 adults in our party all enjoyed the experience. Our server "Jo" was excellent and gave us good recommendations. The salads were very good, particularly the Greek Salad. The entrees were all well prepared. The seafood dishes were the highlight. The atmosphere is quite nice and shows a lot of pride and care.

Helpful?
Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    24
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mature Clientele”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Theo's seems to be popular with the same people who have been coming since they were children, and are now bringing their own children. The bar is populated by middle-aged people -- couples and singles.

I ordered the blackened Delmonico steak with sautéed jumbo lump crab meat, medium rare (which I described to the server as a "warm red center between rare and medium rare") without the blackening seasonings. The helpful server carefully noted that. When the steak came, it was brown throughout and tasted like liver. Perhaps the basic problem was that the Delmonico was less than 1/2 inch thick, making it hard to cook medium rare. I rarely send a meal back, but this time I had no choice. The server was most gracious and agreed that the steak was not medium rare and took it back. Without much delay, another steak was brought to me that was, indeed, medium rare (still less than 1/2 inch thick). With that said, I still have to disagree with the description of the crab meat as "jumbo lump." It was nice crab, but hardly "jumbo."

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCtarheelNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
306 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice Business Lunch Venue”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Nice choice for a business lunch with an extensive menu, good service and nicely prepared food. Booths are large and the atmosphere is comfortable. Food was really good and the French Onion soup was outstanding. Will visit here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
270 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Gathering Place”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Went to Theo's on recommendation of a number of people. I was not impressed with dinner, but did like the starters. We had calamari and fried mozzarella for starters. A number of us had lobster with crab meat, which was probably OK if one was not used to fresh lobster and crab. The lobster ravioli received very good reviews. Walnut salmon was OK. Vegetables were not good at all. They had a spicy sauce that just did not work and the veggies were overdone. Service was cheerful and very good. Atmosphere was great. Overall, I probably would not do fish here again. I might try a chicken dish.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam52787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great restaurant for mature couples”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Theos is a great restaurant where a couple can sitdown for a quiet, good, enjoyable meal.
The temperature was great. The ambience was great. I tried a new wine called little black dress, it was very very good.
Since it was crab fest week I had an item off of the crab fest menu. Stuffed flounder With baked potato, salad, and rolls. They were all delicious. The only negative that I have for this restaurant is the pieces of flounder were pretty small. The cost of the meal was $16.95 though.
I didn't need a doggy bag, and I wasn't stuffed when I left. It was a pleasant experience And we will return many times in the future.

Oh, I forgot the service. How could I do that? The staff was very friendly, and attentive to every need. They are definitely a strong point for this restaurant as it is everything else

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afkrenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theo's Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Theo's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing