We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Scranton(Scranton)
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn Scranton(Scranton)
US$111
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Dunmore)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
188
74
19
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
188
74
19
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski packageski weekendcomplimentary breakfasthome friescovered parkingelk mountainplace to stayhotel managementexcellent hotelchecking outroom was spaciousfront desk staffclean hotelwould definitely stay here againnice stayweddingambers
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very nice small hotel, in town, great little eatery with fireplace and lovely gardin and fountain in an enclosed courtyard. Great car to door parking in a large open feeling parking garage. Nice staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank M3109YYmarkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear M3109YYmarkg,
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza in Carbondale & for taking the time to write this wonderful review! I am very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy Ambers, our on-site restaurant & that you were able to admire our fireplace & beautiful courtyard! I am also glad that you found our parking garage to be convenient. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Northeast PA! Thank you again!

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Special thanks to Lisa, Chris and all the wonderful staff at the beautiful, new Best Western Pioneer Plaza Hotel in Carbondale, PA! What a wonderful addition to this Historic community. We had relatives from across the US stay here and each family raved about the excellent service, from making their reservations directly with the hotel, check-in and the exceptional guest-service they each received during their stay. We joined the family there for breakfast one morning and the food was delicious! The entire property is gorgeous and they even have an enchanting courtyard to gather and relax.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear KatieB,
Special thanks to YOU for writing this excellent review & thank you & your family for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza. We really appreciate your kind words about our staff & service...I will be sure to let them know what a great job they are doing! I am happy to hear that you were also able to enjoy breakfast as well. Ambers Restaurant is open 7 Days/Week for breakfast, lunch & dinner, so we hope you will visit us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to leave such positive & encouraging comments.
All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A great place to stay when in the Carbondale area, on business or fun, alone or with faimily. A lot to do, a lot to see, and best of all the people in NE Pa are simply great, The fact is, it is the only place to consider. I'm doing it again and very very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Harry K,
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza for your recent visit to Carbondale, PA. I can't tell you how much we appreciate this review & your kind words. We strive to be the industry leader in superior customer care & for us that means exceeding our guests' expectations with our "hometown hospitality." I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay & we hope you will visit again soon!
Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nothing extraordinary but all very good with no bad surprises. To me that's a positive. Hotel pretty new. Good complimentary breakfast. Rooms are clean and the location is convenient when in town on business. Nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank publicdfndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear publicdfndr,
Thank you for staying with us & for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel clean & conveniently located & that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are visiting Carbondale, PA. Thank you again for your business & for your loyalty to the brand.

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This Hotel is polished,clean and nicely appointed from the parking to the lobby to the rooms and restaurant. I go to Elk MT. for a ski weekend every winter this was my 1st stay in Carbondale. Its is our new "place" to stay and I have recommended it to everyone who visits this area. Easy,friendly check-in. Our room was clean,spacious and comfortable. We wanted to explore the downtown area,but were exhausted from skiing,so we ate dinner in the on site restaurant. The bar and dining room were lovely and the food was delicious! The complimentary breakfast was a full service meal with multiple choices..no inadequate continental "breakfast" that we've experienced at so many other inns and hotels. This property is a gem for business travelers,families,skiers and singles. I would have no problem skiing and staying here solo. Everyone on staff was friendly and accommodating. Nice experience..cant wait till next season.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Mary A,
WOW---what an a great review! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us & for your many compliments. We are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations & that you plan to return! We really pride ourselves on making our guests feel at home & upholding the highest standards of cleanliness & service, so it's always great to hear that our hard work is paying off. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future & happy that we will be your new "place" to stay when skiing at Elk Mountain. Thank you again!

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews