We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Awesome Hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A little unexpected in Carbondale. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The hotel restaurant was also excellent. and the staff was professional and helpful. Although the reason for our trip was a sad one we were very comfortable here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear ericj309,
Thank you so much for staying with us & for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room & were pleased with our restaurant. I am also glad that we were able to provide a comfortable experience while you were in Carbondale. I will pass along your kind words to our staff as well. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting the area. Thank you again!

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    68
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
126
44
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great hotel in every way. Excellent food, rooms, and service. If you want to stay where they care - stay here and you will be delighted. My second trip the Carbondale and same experience - great. Could not believe the quality of the hotel in rural area - very pleased and will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Walter F,
What a great review....THANK YOU! We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel & want to thank you again for staying with us. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay the 2nd time around & that you will return! Thank you also for your kind words regarding our rooms, restaurant & our staff. We really do care about our guests here & take much pride in our facility so it's always so nice when folks like you notice! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Since our last (previous) stay at Best Western Pioneer Plaza the restaurant and lounge have opened and they are beautiful and well managed. We were fortunate enough to have stayed over the Saturday evening before Mother's Day and the hotel management was treating every guest to the Mother's Day Breakfast Buffet, Free-of-Charge. Couldn't stay to enjoy it, as we had to be somewhere else early Sunday morning. The management team really knows their business.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Vince M,
Thank you so much for staying with us...and staying with us again!!! We appreciate the time you took to write this review & the compliments that you gave to our management team. I'm sorry that you could not take advantage of our special Mother's Day Buffet, but glad to hear that you liked our idea! I am also happy that you were able to enjoy our on-site lounge & restaurant. We hope to see you again soon & look forward to you staying with us again.

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was the third time I have stayed at this hotel. As always, I was very impressed by the cleanliness and beauty of the room; also this time around, I found they have opened their full-service restaurant, including separate bar area (happy hour Monday-Friday). The restaurant is beautifully decorated and the food I ordered was excellent and very well served. I will definitely return here. It's a little detour to make off the highway but well worth the effort.

Una Raymond

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good but, if you would like to have a room close to the elevator, ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank somadjinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear somadjinn,
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel & for staying with us 3 times already! We really appreciate the time that you took to write this review & the kind words that you offered. I am so happy to hear that you see the value in making a "little detour" to stay with us. I am glad to hear that you find our rooms clean & beautiful & that you enjoyed the food & decor in our restaurant (and our Happy Hour!). Thank you again & we look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are visiting Northeast PA!

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Pioneer Plaza on my way through to Canada. Although the hotel is a little way from the highway, the extra trip is well worth it. The rooms are excellent - still in very new condition, and the recently opened restaurant is a great asset to the hotel, with pleasant servers at both dinner and breakfast times. It was very easy to check in and out with very pleasant and helpful staff members. I would definitely go back here. This time, I did not try the spa but will make a point of doing so next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Una71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Una71,
Thank you so much for making the "extra trip" to stay with us here at the Best Western Pioneer Plaza. I am glad that you were able to experience all of the amenities that we offer, including our on-site restaurant & that you found value in our services. We appreciate the compliments with regards to our staff & the upkeep of our property. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you again for staying with us.

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice hotel, friendly & helpful staff, great restaurant called Amber's located in the hotel's lobby area-never have to leave the hotel in the evening after a long day at work-or play. I would recommend this hotel to anyone-unexpected nice stay in the town of Carbondale!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Holly M,
We really appreciate the time that you took to write this review. Thank you for staying with us & for dining with us at Ambers Restaurant. I am happy to hear that you were able to relax while you were here & that you found the amenities that we offer to be convenient. We can't wait to see you again the next time you are visiting Carbondale! Thank you again for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza.

All the Best,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Very nice small hotel, in town, great little eatery with fireplace and lovely gardin and fountain in an enclosed courtyard. Great car to door parking in a large open feeling parking garage. Nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank M3109YYmarkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C, Director of Sales at The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear M3109YYmarkg,
Thank you for choosing the Best Western Pioneer Plaza in Carbondale & for taking the time to write this wonderful review! I am very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy Ambers, our on-site restaurant & that you were able to admire our fireplace & beautiful courtyard! I am also glad that you found our parking garage to be convenient. We hope to see you again the next time you are visiting Northeast PA! Thank you again!

Safe Travels,
Lisa Criscera
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
16.2 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,559 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fern Hall Inn
Fern Hall Inn
#1 of 2 in Clifford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 25 S Main St, Carbondale, PA 18407-2328 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center conveniently located just off the Casey Highway in the heart of downtown Carbondale. Placed in the pristine northern end of the Lackawanna Valley in the Pocono Mountains, and the southern tip of the historic and beautiful Endless Mountains, this hotel in Carbondale is close to a variety of exciting activities, including being just minutes from Elk Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing