We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Certificate of Excellence
Bluffton, United States
1 review
“Best place to stay in area!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very wonderful new addition to the town of Carbondale, PA! Very friendly staff, safe and comfortable accommodations. I enjoyed the room very much. I stayed by myself on a family/friends visit and I felt very safe and secure. The staff was helpful in many ways and attentive to my stay. The manager was available and friendly as well. The pillows and bed wasn't the best I have ever experienced in a hotel, but I did get a good night sleep. The location is great-right on the main street of town with accessible parking. The hotel is a perfect addition to the town of Carbondale, PA!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    68
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
126
44
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The hotel was clean and modern. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good. My only complaint would be that they stop serving food at 9pm (at least during the week). My group and I were travelling on business and by the time we were able to make it downstairs (9:05 pm) we were told the kitchen was closed. When we asked about bringing food from the pizza shop across the street, we were told no outside food was allowed. I completeley understand not allowing outside food if they were still serving food, but given the limited options for food in the area, I think it was silly for them to not allow us to bring in a pizza so we could enjoy a drink and food at the end of a very long day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gabriela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is maybe the best hotel we've stayed at in the Scranton / Dunmore / Waymart / Dickson City / Hamlin region, hands down. (It helps that it was just built from the ground up last year.) In a sea of 3rd-rate remodeled hotels with questionable management that keeps changing hands, this was like a different world. This is absolutely where we'll stay from now on whenever we are in the Northern Scranton area. It's only 15-20 minutes from St Tikhon's Monastery where we visit 2-3 times a year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank johnmblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richboro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel 2 years in a row, before visiting our son's overnight camp and found it to be clean, convenient and perfect for our needs. The rooms are large and the hotel has every amenity that we could have needed for our stay. It was very comfortable. It is new, but since we have now been here for 2 stays it has been maintained beautifully!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank richborogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Pioneer Plaza and found it to be an excellent hotel. The room was clean the staff was great and the restaurant was excellent. The continental complimentary breakfast was bigger than expected and was more like a full service meal and was included in the room price which was an added surprise..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SixtyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
395 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Pulling into the town of Carbondale, I was worried that this hotel might be reflective of the rest of the town which, sadly, has seen much better days. But we were pleasantly surprised. It's very nice both outside and in. The rooms are large and clean and probably some of the best kept rooms of a chain hotel that I've stayed in for a long while. The hallways are wide and clean. The foyer is very nice, they give you a voucher for breakfast, free wifi and there is a bar/restaurant with a courtyard outside where you can have your drinks. The guy at the front desk (Mike) was extremely helpful. We were very pleased with our choice to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bucks17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamaqua, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here on our way to Bethel, New York; a wonderful experience. Rooms were spotless, nicely decorated; staff was courteous, informative, and very friendly. We were extremely satisfied with our stay at Best Western in Carbondale, PA

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Terese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carbondale
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
10.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
9.3 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Pocono Lakes Region
16.2 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,552 reviews
5.4 mi away
Fern Hall Inn
Fern Hall Inn
#1 of 2 in Clifford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center

Property: The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 25 S Main St, Carbondale, PA 18407-2328 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Pioneer Plaza)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carbondale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carbondale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center conveniently located just off the Casey Highway in the heart of downtown Carbondale. Placed in the pristine northern end of the Lackawanna Valley in the Pocono Mountains, and the southern tip of the historic and beautiful Endless Mountains, this hotel in Carbondale is close to a variety of exciting activities, including being just minutes from Elk Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing