We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Comfortable”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We also attended a military reunion here Sept 19th-21st. Very good banquet food and love the patio in front to gather. Very comfortable inside and clean. Staff always friendly. Only reason not given 5 stars is that it is hard to find. Staff very helpful with directions and all but because we don't use gps had hard time locating it. Maybe a street side sign?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James and Sandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear it was a comfortable and clean one. I will pass your comments on to the staff. Unfortunately, we are a Downtown property and easily blend in with other properties. If you're in the area the next time, the easiest way to find us is look for our Comfort Suites Flag and our patio. However, being downtown places us in walking distance to many restaurants, gift shops, and Dickinson College. We hope to see you on next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for my husband's military reunion September 19th to 22nd. Very nice hotel. Friendly, attentive staff. Clean, comfortable room. Nice complementary breakfast. Inviting front patio to chat with friends. Large, comfortable meeting rooms. Good banquet food. Nice bar in hotel with another tavern, The Gingerbread Man, around the corner when the hotel bar was closed. Nice location. Easy parking in garage behind the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieP323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay! We are pleased you found our hotel accommodating. We are located near several bars, including the Gingerbread Man, located right next door. A nice place to spend time with friends and family after our bar does close. I greatly enjoyed reading your feedback and will pass on the comments to the staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Carlisle.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We attended a military reunion September 18-22. Very clean property, and very friendly and cheerful staff. Lot's of great restaurants within parking distance. Would definitely stay there again. Close to Carlisle Barracks and Army Heritage and Education Center.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Tbaca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are located in the heart of downtown Carlisle in walking distance to many restaurants, gift shops, and Dickinson College. In addition to the wonderful restaurants in walking distance, we offer room service and on site restaurant and bar. We are only a few miles away from the Fairgrounds, in addition to the Carlisle Barracks you mentioned in your comment. We appreciate your business and hope to see you on your next trip to Carlisle, PA.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

First time in the Carlisle, PA area. Nice hotel, clean, comfortable, quiet and prime spot in the City. Staff was efficient and friendly. Would recommend to anyone looking in the Carlisle, PA area. The breakfast was decent. The hotel was an overall good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siedschlawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are located downtown and are in walking distance to plenty restaurants and shops. We have a restaurant on site as well as a lounge, making downtown Carlisle a nice place to stay. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel opened in 1999. We know that because we have been staying at this hotel for the Corvettes@Carlisle car show weekend for the past 14 years. The hotel is centrally located in Carlisle and many quaint restaurants and shops are within walking distance. We have experienced every sort of natural disaster while staying at this hotel - hurricane, wind storms and power outages - and through it all the hotel staff has kept the hotel operating and taken care of the guests in the best manner possible.

The property is clean and well maintained. Problems are addressed quickly. The staff is one of the best assets that this property has - helpful and friendly. The hotel restaurant has a very nice patio looking out on Hanover Street and the food is tasty and well presented.

While there are some rough edges after 14 years of operation they are not as serious as one might expect. The rooms are comfortable, the HVAC system will keep your room comfortable and the bathroom is adequate. Parking is provided in an adjacent municipal parking garage which is convenient and reasonably priced. All in all an enjoyable property for a weekend getaway - we've come back for 14 years straight.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room in the front of the hotel as street noise may be disturbing. Rooms on the 3rd a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdStumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear your compliments to the staff. I will personally take the time to let them know of your kind words of praise. We thank you for your loyalty at our hotel and hope to see you again next year.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Upon checking in, we were greeted with Excellent, friendly faces! Had one question that the desk clerk couldn't answer and was told it would be addressed to the General Manager. Got to our room, the phone rang 5 minutes later and the question was totally answered! Now that's what I call Superior customer service! Have to thank Teresa, at the front Desk and the kindest, caring General Manager, Jerry Burns, that I've ever met who didn't wait till the end of our stay to take "special care" to make sure we were satisfied with the end result! We have been staying at this particular Comfort Suites for 10 years and will continue for as long as we can for Corvettes at Carlisle weekend! A special commendation should be given to Monica & Ruby who went out of their way to make sure the breakfast buffet was clean and full for each of those entering the room. Monica was such a caring lady, running around the whole time -- even going out of her way to bring me a "special dish" - she was smiling the whole time and I could definitely tell she was someone who "cared" about those she was servicing. She honored Ruby with whom she has been working for the past 3 years by telling me Ruby is the most wonderful person she's ever had the pleasure to work with. In fact, for the past 10 years Ruby has always done an outstanding job at the breakfast buffet -- only now am I taking the time to commend her! Same goes for your "retired" General Manager, Heather, always helpful and kind (enjoy Retirement!). Comfort Suites of Carlisle, thank you for hiring such a group of caring and kind employees -- and yes, with SMILES on their faces for each and everyone they are there to serve!! THANK YOU, THANK YOU. (PS. We even stayed here when we attended a Corvette event in May of 2011 which was showing the premier of "The Quest" at the theatre around the corner. In fact, my husband just reminded me as I was writing that the parking garage behind the Suites is well-suited for Corvette parking!!!) Tom & Kathy Nolan

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

On behalf of the entire staff, I personally thank you both for the kind compliments. I will pass your compliments on to the staff members listed. We are completely committed to customer service and guest satisfaction. It is truly rewarding to hear positive comments from our guests to inform us how their stay was. We appreciate you're loyalty to the Comfort Suites and enjoy having you at our hotel.

We are excited to see you next year for the Corvette show! Thank you again for providing us feedback on how your stay was.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

i just spent the last 4 nights at this hotel for a conference.

The good: The staff is friendly, the check in was speedy and it has all the amenities, like a gym and bar and restaurant on site.

the bad: the bed was hard as a rock and there was nothing i could do short of purchasing a mattress topper. the shower was ok. just barely enough water pressure to not deduct any circles. the toilet backed up once while i was there owing to a flow pressure issue. i plunged it myself. the room walls are paper thin, i mean like rice paper thin. for 3 nights there was a young lady coughing up a lung next door that only kept me awake to ponder the rock hard bed i was laying on. And after she finally left, i heard the snores of the new person next door. how nice.

i require these things to make my stay 5 stars: a great bed, not to hear anyone next door; and a sustained hot shower with enough pressure to rince the shampoo out of my hair. thats it. deduct two stars for the bed without mercy and one star for not insulating the walls between rooms.

Room Tip: bring your own mattress toppers to this hotel or find another place to stay. however, if rock hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethlehemUpintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you providing us feedback on your recent stay. It is truly unfortunate to hear you're stay was not satisfying. We are currently updating our bedding program and amenities. Thank you for your compliments on the staff and check out process. We try to ensure our guests have a satisfying stay. I apologize on behalf of the staff for failing your expectations on the bed. We do kindly suggest if you should ever experience an issue while at our hotel or any other property to alert the front desk immediately, so we can make it right. I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
753 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Carlisle
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#7 of 27 in Carlisle
911 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 10 S Hanover St, Carlisle, PA 17013-3306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: £64 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites, situated in the HEART of historic downtown Carlisle, ideally located one mile from 1-81, Exit 47 to 34 North, three miles from PA Turnpike, Exit 226 to Route 11 South, to 34 South. A 105 room all suites hotel with meeting and banquet facilities for up to 400 people, the Comfort Suites Hotel will provide all the amenities the discerning business or leisure traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Carlisle
Comfort Suites Carlisle
Carlisle Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing