We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, decent value, but still needs updating”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Clean, decent value, but still needs updating”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've stayed at this property multiple times in the past. In fact, the last visit didn't go so well (see prior reviews) However, our work team selected this property for the proximity to walking distance eateries and the overall value. About $79 nightly through our corporate rate. Check in cookies are yummy.

Nothing has changed with this place. The same old treadmill in the workout room. The same decor, the same older, very basic fixtures in the room. The same cheapest kleenex and TP they can source. The carpet is in decent shape in the room. The room was clean. The sheets are horribly scratchy. I was either too cool with just a sheet, or too hot with the duvet. The shower head offers 3 options but none of them are just right. I'd prefer a basic shower head. Others in our group liked the shower head - it just didn't have a good option for water coverage and for someone with a thick head of hair to wash!

I'd say sleep quality is 6 out of 10. Cleanliness 9 of 10. Breakfast 6 out of 10...nothing spectacular there. They do have hard boiled eggs if you want "real" egg instead of those egg pattie things.

The a/c heater wall unit is so annoying. It makes clicking and buzzing sounds everytime it cycles on. However, at least on this visit, it worked. (previous visit A/C didn't work) Of course didn't try A/C this trip - it was freezing and we got over a foot of snow one day!

I was in room 406, which was a good spot for me, not too close to the stairwell or the elevator. 410 would have even been closer to the middle.of the hall.

Overall, if they could spruce up this place with some renovations this could really be THE desired spot to stay. The public areas still have the same old decor.

They were very accomodating to our group to use the library on the day we had to stay in the hotel due to weather shutdowns at our work facility.

I'd probably stay again, but only if the price was right and others were with me.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKJACKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. We strive on guest satisfaction, and take your comments very seriously. We are currently transitioning to new ownership and will have many renovations within the year. Hopefully on your next visit to this area, we show improvement. I will pass your comments on to the appropriate managers for review. We hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you need help with any future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Carrie Snyder

Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites in Downtown Carlisle
717-960-1000
gm.pa266@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    100
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
92
57
15
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Factoryville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have stayed here 3 times times now, always pleasant people welcome us then get us checked in quickly. The hotel is up kept very well and clean. The rooms are nicely appointed with plenty of pillows and a cozy bed. The on site Kitchen and bar are small but clean. The menu is small but good prices could be a little better but room service is available so again convenient.
There is an exercise room which is decent. You'll have to pay for parking if you wish to park off the street it was relatively cheap and the parking garage is great condition.
The hotel location is great and within walking distance to many local sites and restaurants.
Always looking forward to a return stay in Carlisle and the Comfort Suites. I highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The only rooms with a view are in the front the rest are roof top or adjacent buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We strive on guest satisfaction, and it is truly rewarding to hear your stay was satisfying one. Parking is at a small fee for the garage, of $3.75 a night, per vehicle, but we bill it directly and there's easy access to the garage from the hotel. The garage offers coverage for your vehicle, and security. We do offer room service from our restaurant which stays open until 9:30PM. We also, have a lounge on site. We are glad you had a comfortable stay! I will pass on your kind words to the staff. We hope to see you on your next travels to the area.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you need help with any future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Carrie Snyder

Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites in Downtown Carlisle
717-960-1000
gm.pa266@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We like the location of this Comfort Suites -- very interesting and quaint college town. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. There are several good dining options within walking distance. A nice breakfast was included in the room rate and service by the dining staff appreciated (Monica). Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FillyFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with kind words of praise, on your recent stay. Monica is our full time breakfast attendant, and goes out of her way to assist all guests. We are truly pleased to know you were able to experience her customer service. I will pass on your compliment to her and the staff. We truly strive on guest satisfaction and are happy you found our hotel comfortable.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you need help with any future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Carrie Snyder

Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites in Downtown Carlisle
717-960-1000
gm.pa266@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I was visiting my son at Dickinson and needed a convenient place to stay. Located right in the center of Carlisle, Comfort Suites is everything you could ever want from a small hotel. Clean, comfortable, private and friendly customer service. It is easy walking or driving distance from campus, and they provide you with cheap access to parking in the garage next door. There is free WiFi and every cable TV station you could ever want (sports!). The rate was very reasonable and includes breakfast. Highly recommended for a short stay (and probably even for a long stay).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Mark,

On behalf of the entire staff I want to Thank You for your kind words of praise. We strive on customer satisfaction, and it is rewarding to hear your stay was a good one. I will pass your compliments on to the staff.

We love sports, and normally will have the games on in the lobby and our bar. We do offer an array of channels to meet the needs of our customers. We hope to see you on your next stay at the Comfort Suites! Again, thank you for your review.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you need help with any future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Carrie Snyder

Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites in Downtown Carlisle
717-960-1000
gm.pa266@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed here one night in October to attend a wedding in Carlisle. Very comfortable beds (especially the linens) The building itself needs major updating though. The bathrooms are clean but a bit worn out. There was no ventilation fan in the bathroom and the heating/AC unit for the room had a musty smell to it leaving me raspy in the morning. Would have had a good nights sleep sere it not for the constant slamming of the other guests doors. (No mechanism for silent closing on the rooms, just how the doors latch) Which woke me CONSTANTLY through the night. Paper thin walls, luckily the other guests were quiet, except for the impossibly loud doors.When we went for early check out. I attempted to hold the door from slamming shut, the closing mechanism was still incredibly loud and echoed down the hall.

Room Tip: I would say they are all equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for sharing about your recent experience at the Comfort Suites in Downtown Carlisle! We recently updated our linens, and are pleased to hear you enjoyed them.

As you mentioned about our door mechanism, I apologize for the inconvenience. I will pass your comments on to the proper management and maintenance department to look into the situation.

Please feel free to contact me directly should you need help with any future reservations.

Warm Regards,
Carrie Snyder

Front Office Manager
Comfort Suites in Downtown Carlisle
717-960-1000
gm.pa266@choicehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We also attended a military reunion here Sept 19th-21st. Very good banquet food and love the patio in front to gather. Very comfortable inside and clean. Staff always friendly. Only reason not given 5 stars is that it is hard to find. Staff very helpful with directions and all but because we don't use gps had hard time locating it. Maybe a street side sign?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James and Sandr... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. We are pleased to hear it was a comfortable and clean one. I will pass your comments on to the staff. Unfortunately, we are a Downtown property and easily blend in with other properties. If you're in the area the next time, the easiest way to find us is look for our Comfort Suites Flag and our patio. However, being downtown places us in walking distance to many restaurants, gift shops, and Dickinson College. We hope to see you on next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for my husband's military reunion September 19th to 22nd. Very nice hotel. Friendly, attentive staff. Clean, comfortable room. Nice complementary breakfast. Inviting front patio to chat with friends. Large, comfortable meeting rooms. Good banquet food. Nice bar in hotel with another tavern, The Gingerbread Man, around the corner when the hotel bar was closed. Nice location. Easy parking in garage behind the hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieP323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay! We are pleased you found our hotel accommodating. We are located near several bars, including the Gingerbread Man, located right next door. A nice place to spend time with friends and family after our bar does close. I greatly enjoyed reading your feedback and will pass on the comments to the staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Carlisle.

Sincerely,
Carrie Snyder
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Carlisle
117 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 26 in Carlisle
706 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Carlisle
Sleep Inn Carlisle
#11 of 26 in Carlisle
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 10 S Hanover St, Carlisle, PA 17013-3306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Family Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites, situated in the HEART of historic downtown Carlisle, ideally located one mile from 1-81, Exit 47 to 34 North, three miles from PA Turnpike, Exit 226 to Route 11 South, to 34 South. A 105 room all suites hotel with meeting and banquet facilities for up to 400 people, the Comfort Suites Hotel will provide all the amenities the discerning business or leisure traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Carlisle
Comfort Suites Carlisle
Carlisle Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing