We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice basic hotel”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
“Very nice basic hotel”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Comfortable accommodation. Nothing fancy, but clean and servicable. Firm mattress, AC worked well, helpful staff. A block away from Dickinson College. You have to pay a few Dollars a day for the parking garage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for joining us here at the Comfort Suites. We strive to make everyone's time here enjoyable and look forward to your return.
Remember to keep your eyes peeled on some new exciting changes at the hotel that everyone is sure to love.
Thank you for taking a few extra minutes to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    98
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
88
56
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Can't really located downtown but it old use some updating. We were in the second floor and the floor in the room were uneven and have large bumps under the carpet. The AC worked when it was turned all the way down but wouldn't hold the temperature when set above 65. Safety latch was falling off the door and the maid service forgot to make up the room one day. The hotel has changed hands and the new staff is not as well graininess as the old. A few exceptions was the very nice lady that worked the breakfast area (Monica ) was very helpful and tried very hard to keep the stations loaded with food and drink but she appeared to have no help and had a difficult time keeping up with demand. The new chef Set a good buffet for the weekend crowd and had his staff checking in the customers to make sure they were satisfied.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are a bit noisy. The drive is hard to access from the front but if you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Good Afternoon,

After reading your response, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay here at the hotel regarding your air conditioner and safety latch.

We would love to make sure this doesn't happen to anyone else, if you have a few minutes and would like to provide us with a little more information, we would greatly appreciate the assistance. You can contact me directly at the number listed below, as we would like to take care of you upon your future return, and hopefully rectify this past experience for you. We definitely don't want to leave a bitter taste about Carlisle and the Comfort Suites with you because we want to make sure your needs and all of our guests needs are met.

Next time you are in the area, keep your eyes open for the new changes that will be occuring within the hotel. We think you're going to like it, and would love to have your feedback!

Any questions, concerns, or other feedback you would like to share with us please do not hesitate to call me, Rachel, at 717-960-1000. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I gave this a three because of the location and cleanliness, otherwise it would have been lower. We were in Carlisle for Corvette Carlisle. It was our first time. The location of the hotel was perfect. The corvette parade came right by the hotel and then they parked right outside as the streets were closed off for it. We were able to grab something to eat and then wander the streets and look at all the cars without driving anywhere! There was a band right across the street, shops were open, it was a great night! Now, getting to the hotel. Check-in was easy. Staff OK, when I asked about restaurants in the area she just gave me a listing of them, no recommendations. They had a dinner buffet at the hotel but it was $35 and we didn't feel what was on the buffet warranted such a price. Our room was spacious and clean but the air conditioning was terrible! It barely blew any air and it was uncomfortable sleeping. That's a big one for me. Even the kids were warm. The bathroom was too small. The counter was nice size but if you wanted to have two people at it, you were standing against the toilet. I've never seen this in a hotel I've been in until now. A breakfast buffet was included in our stay so we went. It was like many other hotels but I would not call it a buffet. Egg and cheese omelets and bacon, the rest cereal or a few pastries or bagels. A real issue for us was that there was no non dairy creamer, just half n half! My husband is lactose intolerant like millions of people, and this is the only hotel we've seen that did not have non dairy creamer. He could not even get a coffee! Thanks goodness we had leftovers from last night dinner. It's a shame most hotels don't think about non dairy breakfast items or sugar free options for diabetics. There are millions of both. Not sure where we will stay next year.

Room Tip: Ask for and air conditioner that keeps the room cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaMauied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking an extra few minutes to tell us about your stay.

On behalf of our staff, I would like to apologize for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay. I have shared your feedback with our staff, and the restaurant manager is looking at non-dairy options in hopes to accommodate all of our guests more appropriately.

We are also hoping to fix your air conditioner, so that this problem does not continue. If you have an extra minute and would like to contact me at your convenience I would love to talk to you and hopefully get some more specific information regarding your stay.

We would never want anyone to leave our hotel feeling disappointed, so if there is anything that we can do to change your perspective of our hotel, do not hesitate to ask. We would love for you to return in the future and hope to accommodate you fully.

Thank you again for taking those few extra minutes.

Rachel Gray
Front Office Manager
717-960-1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Clean, comfortable, spacious rooms, and within walking distance of all the cool shops and restaurants downtown. Has all the amenities needed for an extra comfortable stay. We will definitely stay here again when we come to visit Dicinson.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nory Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted to see your time here was a positive one, and we look forward to having you back anytime!
Please contact us directly when booking again, and ask about the Dickinson Parent Plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Our family chose this location to spend the weekend while visiting Hershey Park. We wanted to stay somewhere with some character and quality. This was a great choice. The hotel is newly remodeled and very clean. The staff is great, the free breakfast has all of the extras, and it is right downtown in Carlisle. Parking is $3 a night in a parking structure behind the hotel. Also, if you are planning on doing any shopping in the great stores along the downtown streets in Carlisle, take note that they are closed on Sunday and Monday.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Good Morning!

Thank you so much for taking a few minutes to tell us about your trip to Carlisle and the Comfort Suites. We are ecstatic to hear that the stay was a wonderful experience! We are delighted to see you were able to take part in our limited discounted parking garage rate. You mentioned our updates here at the property, and I just wanted to let you know to keep your eyes open for many new exciting renovations coming in the future. Our goal is to provide everyone with a great stay here, and we look forward to doing so for you again in the future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I must admit to not knowing much about Carlisle, PA. We chose Carlisle, because it was four hours outside NYC on our trip back home. After arriving late at night in a constant rain storm we found ourselves in a cute colonial town. We unfortunately did not have a chance to visit, but look forward to returning some day to wander the streets of the town and visit nearby Gettysburg. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FLsetzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! We were thrilled to hear that we were able to accommodate you on short notice, and happy to see that you had a great time while here.
When coming back to the area, please come join us again here at the hotel! We'd love to have you!
Thank you for your review and your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel was a little dated but clean. The staff was friendly, and the continental breakfast was free. The hotel was close to the Pennsylvania Turnpike with easy access. We didn't have reservations on a Friday evening, but we got a room without any problem.

Room Tip: Discounted rate coupons available in the hotel booklet found in any of the Pennsylvania Turnpike res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torero reviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We appreciate the feedback and are glad that everything was to your liking here.
When travelling back to the area, keep your eye out for exciting new changes here.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Thanks again for taking a few minutes to tell us about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 26 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 10 S Hanover St, Carlisle, PA 17013-3306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites, situated in the HEART of historic downtown Carlisle, ideally located one mile from 1-81, Exit 47 to 34 North, three miles from PA Turnpike, Exit 226 to Route 11 South, to 34 South. A 105 room all suites hotel with meeting and banquet facilities for up to 400 people, the Comfort Suites Hotel will provide all the amenities the discerning business or leisure traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Carlisle
Comfort Suites Carlisle
Carlisle Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing