We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good service, nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location, good service, nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hotel is undergoing some renovations but that didn't infringe on the service or the quality of the hotel. Staff was helpful, location good and amazingly the room was quiet even though this hotel is located close to the PA Turnpike toll booths. There were a lot of young swimmers in the hotel visiting the area for swimming meets; however, we didn't hear them! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Great location! Clean, quiet, friendly, good value for the $$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgblady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    161
    44
    29
    8
See reviews for
266
177
43
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oceana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We have stayed here several times in the past and really appreciate how nice the hotel is. During our stay this time the hotel was being renovated, but it did not interfere with our stay. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. The complimentary breakfast was good, and the breakfast staff made sure there was enough for everyone. WiFi worked very well. The beds Were comfortable and the pillows are great. We will recommend this hotel to family and friends who need to visit the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
605 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is the place I usually stay when in Carlisle. The facility has been pretty good, but last couple of stays this year were not as good as usual. The AC units were really loud and one of the dressers in the room had a busted drawer which was very obvious, yet there was no sign of it being addressed. I still like to stay there as it is convenient and has a nice view out the back.

The staff is always very nice and friendly, I really like that.

I see they are getting some work done to update it, which will be nice. It is an average property now, but I hope to stay again when it is very good or better.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GoodFood88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed here several times and always appreciate its location and welcoming staff. Even our little dog likes i! The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast area is large enough to accommodate the guests and the staff is exceedingly helpful. It is one mile off of I-81 and near restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MzJaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

We spent a night at the Hampton Inn Carlisle PA while travelling by car from the Northeast to the Midwest. It is very conveniently located on the road that connects Interstate 81 with the PA Turnpike. I picked this hotel over some of the lower priced alternatives in the area because it is a non-smoking hotel. While the public areas on the ground floor were being renovated, this did not affect our room. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. the included breakfast was good. WiFi worked well. The hotel is on the outer edge of Carlisle. I recommend you take a look around the town before continuing your journey. It's very nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoPoME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
330 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

We arrived to find this Hampton Inn adorned by a construction permit. One of the desk staff, when I asked, said that the location had been operating for 12 years now and Hilton had recently decided to bring it up to "Hampton standards". Right now they're working on the common spaces, mostly the lobby; in the next year they're hoping to bring the guest rooms up to snuff.

That's fortunate, and I would perhaps have rated them lower if they hadn't been addressing those issues. Frankly, our room was not well-appointed. The decor is dingy and the finishes show signs of wear. The bed was comfy, but the sofa felt like concrete. The desk on which my laptop rested was rickety and too high for comfortable use. No closet space--rather a wardrobe with limited capacity. Mini-fridge, TV, chairs, coffee table--it was all a little crowded and clumsy.

Another minor frustration--the little courtesy hygiene items in the bath were packaged with caps that were brutally hard to open. Whoever works with the manufacturer of those things should get them to re-design.

The hotel has a little fitness room with just a couple of treadmills, a bike, and an elliptical. Probably serviceable for short stays.

The plus side here, and it's huge, is that the staff was so friendly, efficient and cheerful that I barely knew how to respond. Most notable was Star, the young woman who administered the breakfast buffet. Now, this buffet was a nice cut above the usual, they did have all the pastry-and-cereal options and that flip-over waffle iron that I'd come to love when staying in a motel, but they also had great mini-cheese omelettes and fresh fruit salad, so I felt my diet was balanced. All the while, Star moved about making certain that everything was well stocked and clean, greeting everyone and offering help without being obtrusive. She's a treasure and I hope her manager reads this.

Honestly, I started out rather disappointed at the value of this location. Judging by room and price alone, I'd have rated it a 3. But the quality of the breakfast and especially the congenial staff won me over. When the renovations are complete, I might rate this place a 5. They're doing things right, even if a little slow to upgrade the facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Very clean and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful! Location is a bit tricky to find but once there, we were greeted and given directions into town to a local restaurant we really enjoyed. Room was clean and large. I'll stay again if I'm in this area!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#4 of 27 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Carlisle
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlisle

Property: Hampton Inn Carlisle
Address: 1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Carlisle 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel in 2014! The area around the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Carlisle boasts dozens of reasons to visit. For history buffs, there's Gettysburg nearby as well as The Whiskey Rebellion. We're home to Carlisle Barracks, the second-oldest military installation in the United States. George Washington himself admired our town and suggested the location of the barracks. You can explore much of Carlisle's history at the Cumberland County Historical Society's museum. It's all just minutes away from our hotel in Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing