We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient for travelers”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel while traveling home from Florida. It was at the meeting point of the PA Turnpike and I-81, about 1 mile off the I-81 but easy to find. We stopped for gas on the way to the hotel and found several more stations in the area--so easy gas for getting away in the morning. This hotel was older but clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order--sink, shower, toilet, heating and air. I liked the bigger fridge in our room because we travel with lunches and like to have the fridge for convenience at night. I believe there were some fast food restaurants but not a lot of choice for eating out. There was a little bit of noise from the truck traffic to an from the Turnpike but nothing that kept us awake. Breakfast was very good (omelet, potatoes, hot oatmeal, waffles, fruit, yogurt, etc.) and the attendant made us feel welcome. I might not stay here again because I didn't like the location but there was nothing wrong with the hotel. It was what you expect from a Hampton Inn.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mavis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Hello Mavis A!

Thanks so much for staying with us! We appreciate you stopping by and reviewing our hotel!

I am glad you were comfortable here and that you enjoyed our breakfast!

Please let us know if you have additional comments or suggestions you would like to share. We are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed.

Thanks so much for your review and thanks also for your business!

Travel Safe!

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    166
    47
    30
    8
See reviews for
274
184
48
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pen Argyl, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn in Carlisle, PA and would definitely come back again. Everyone was very friendly and eager to help us. We requested an early check in and were able to accommodate us. The rooms were very clean and the bed so comfortable we didn't want to leave. The continental breakfast was amazing and there so much food to eat. We are looking forward to coming back in. Thank you Hampton for making our stay amazing.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timothy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Hello Timothy E!

Thanks so much for staying with us and thanks also for sharing your experience in your review!

I shared your review with the team recently and the were very happy to hear your comments. They work so hard everyday and they love to hear when it pays off with happy guests!

Thank you again and safe travels to you and yours!

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I will go back time and again. I have read that people think that it need's updating, and yes maybe it does, but I was completely satisfied. Immediately upon arrival, we were made to feel at home. The staff alway's smiling, offering assistance, giving of their time, 110%. I just couldn't get over the fact that they welcomed our dog,so openly, and made us feel they felt, as we do, he is family too. The food was delicious!! A very nice selection for breakfast, not just cereal and toast. I was made to feel like this was my home away from home. Yes it might need updated, but personality and attitude wise, I hope they never change!!! Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy6254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Hello Judy6254,

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for staying with us!

I am glad that you and your family were comfortable in your home away from home! I shared your review with the staff this week and they were very happy to hear your kind words.

Thanks again and travel safe!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Worn and dark needs a little updating. The shower in my room on the 1st floor was hot and cold which is the reason for poor rating. Didn't bother reporting colleagues did not have same problem on second floor?The hardware in the shower was old and loose. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kljes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hello kljes1!

Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you also for posting a review!

I am sorry that you had intermittent hot and cold water in your shower. If you have a moment would you mind messaging me your room number so we can investigate and correct the issue?

Also, please know that we will be undergoing a room renovation in the last quarter of this year. This will freshen up our rooms...we are very excited for this project!

If your travels ever bring you back to the area we would certainly appreciate a second chance! Please reach out to me directly and I will be happy to assist in booking your reservation!

Thanks again for your business and review!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The 100% satisfaction or your money back guarantee was a pretty safe bet for the Hampton Inn in Carlisle. I was a little fearful when I first entered the lobby as there was a bit of the old hotel smell, but our room was exceptionally fresh and clean. The beds (2 queen) were quite comfortable and the bed sheets and cover were spotless white. The bathroom was clean and my only wish was that the shower had a hand held nozzle, but that's nit picking. The breakfast was the usual type served at Hampton Inns, which is good with a decent selection, and I was impressed that there was a staff person who stayed the entire time I was there, friendly but not intrusive, offering help if wanted/needed. And she optimized the best thing(s) about this hotel - its staff. From check in to check out they were friendly, helpful and always had a smile, even when there were two things that needed to be done at once and when, while I was checking in, a gentleman had stopped but was not satisfied with the price of the room and expected them to bargain - left in a huff when they wouldn't. We arrived a bit late, and they gave us a recommendation of where to find a close, good and still serving restaurant - and they were right on. The restaurant was the Middlesex Diner, another good bet if you stay in Carlisle. One thing to be careful of we found was that upon exiting the PA Turnpike, our iphone GPS had us turn the wrong way, and then announced we were there when we weren't. It had us in front of a being built other motel and we almost gave up, thinking the Hampton Inn was being renovated. Luckily my husband didn't think that building had the look of a Hampton Inn and so asked directions at a service station. We actually had to back track, then go past the Hampton Inn and do a u-turn so that we could turn into a road leading to it - a bit confusing, but worth the trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verikoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hello Verikoko!

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn Carlisle and Thanks also for your business!

I will be sure to share your review with our team. They do so much to make sure our guests are comfortable and welcomed and they love to hear from our guests as much as I do!

I am concerned about your ordeal locating our property with your GPS as this seems to be a trend. I intend to get with our e-commerce team to see if there is something we can do to correct the directions. This has been an issue since the township changed the on/off ramps for the turnpike.

Thanks again for your review and we wish safe travels to you and yours!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

lovely hotel with warm and friendly staff - breakfast bar was ok, but the staff member working the bar kept it clean and filled with a friendly smile and cheerful greeting - would definitely stay here again when in the area

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Hello Donna P!

Thank you so much for your kind words!

Our team will be so excited when I share your review with them this week! They work so hard everyday and they truly love to hear when their efforts and, "Hamptonality" pays off!

Safe travels to you and yours and thank you for your business!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This property is some 14 years old. It has been maintained immaculately. When most mainline properties would probably have been converted to a Quality Inn or HoJo this one is still bright and shiny. However, the age shows in some ways good and bad. The old inconvenient v-shaped corner vanity in bathroom remains, but the larger rooms than newer HI's are a plus. Bed was comfortable, but heating system was very poor (on a night w/temps near freezing) -- either on and roasting you or off and freezing you, nothing in between. Breakfast was one of the best we have enountered ever. Staff were helpful. Automated computer check-in is strange.

On balance, with some definite positives and some definite negatives, it is a toss-up whether to stay here.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on back side away from US 11, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Carlisle, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Hello James R,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and thanks also for staying with us!

I am glad that your bed was comfortable and that you enjoyed your breakfast! i will be sure to share your comments with the staff!

Also, regarding the heating unit and age of the property please know that we are slated to start a room refresh (renovation) near the end of the year. Our rooms and guest bathrooms will be updated to the new Hampton Standard in the very near future!

Lastly, if you have the opportunity to reach out to me with your room number I would appreciate it! I would like to have my team look at the heating unit to see if it needs to be repaired or replaced.

Thank you again for your business and input! It is truly appreciated as it helps us improve our product and service!

Yours in Hospitality,

Wayne Ambrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 26 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Carlisle
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Carlisle

Property: Hampton Inn Carlisle
Address: 1164 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carlisle
#3 Business Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Carlisle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Renovated Hotel in 2014! The area around the Hampton Inn(R) hotel in Carlisle boasts dozens of reasons to visit. For history buffs, there's Gettysburg nearby as well as The Whiskey Rebellion. We're home to Carlisle Barracks, the second-oldest military installation in the United States. George Washington himself admired our town and suggested the location of the barracks. You can explore much of Carlisle's history at the Cumberland County Historical Society's museum. It's all just minutes away from our hotel in Carlisle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Carlisle Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing