We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean, Great Staff, but very noisey due to highway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Selden, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Clean, Great Staff, but very noisey due to highway”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The hotel was nice, very clean rooms that were big. Breakfast in the morning was great. Major negative was the sound from the freeway. It is literally right outside the window and you can hear the cars and trucks all night long. I highly recommend bringing a nature sound sleep system or something to block the noise at night~maybe two pairs of earplugs! Otherwise, we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: ask for the parking lot side of the building to try to block some of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica M, Director of Sales at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I apologize for the concerns you have about your experience on the highway noise during your stay here as our guest. However, please note that within the next two months we will implement towards the highway side of the hotel a noise reduction project involving replacement of 33 AC Units with quieter split AC Units and installing 42 windows inside existing windows and it is then expected that the highway noise transmission to the room will be reduced appreciably, resulting in sound sleep for our guests. I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it is only through reviews like yours that we can make changes to our hotel to better serve our guests. We thank you for choosing the Country Inn and Suites Carlisle for your recent lodging needs and look forward to seeing you in the future!
Yours in hospitality,
Jessica Miller, Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    107
    24
    24
    16
See reviews for
167
64
26
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed at several Country Inn and Suites and have been very satisfied. This time was an exception. It was extremely LOUD in our room, primarily from highway truck traffic RIGHT outside our room. In addition, the heat kicking in and those at the proximate ice machine were also noisy. Admittedly, we probably had the worst room in the whole hotel - 1st floor just off lobby and on the highway side (#109 - avoid it!). I can't imagine it was any quieter in any other room on this side of the building, though. In addition to the noise, two of the lights in the room were not working, which led to a bit of fumbling when entering the room at night.

Included breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable and the facility is pleasant and clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the quiet/non-highway side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j1959c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were very happy with our stay here. On check in, the receptionist, un asked, changed the computer generated room number to one on the quiet side of the hotel. We were given a Welcome goody bagand . After driving 500 miles, we loved the hot tub. The Inn is only 3 years old so everything is still shiny and new. the room and bathroom was spacious, lots of counter space in the bathroom. We very much enjoyed breakfast, hot egg and sausage(him), granola, fruit and yoghurt (me) It's about a mile from the highway to the Inn but we found it well worth the trip. Check out the hotel discount coupons as using one of those made our stay pretty reasonable

Room Tip: Quiet side of the hotel away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 113pine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed 2 separate nights. We were traveling from NC to NY to visit family for New Years. Breakfast food was good. 1st morning there was scrambled eggs, bacon & potato's. Hot oatmeal, waffles, yogurt and fixings were available. Better breakfast than some other Country Inn & Suites that we have been to. 2nd time they had Fried Eggs, biscuits & Sausage. They use real dishware, not paper products. That was a nice homey touch.

1st room needed a little TLC, the bathroom had some ripping wall paper by the Shower Head. Other than that, no real complaints. Room was quite. 2nd room on the way back, needed a good dusting. I noticed a bunch of dust on the hair dryer. In the morning I saw little white hairs on one of the bed spreads. I'm wondering if the previous guest had a dog. I meant to tell the staff, but with a little one in tow, I forgot. Nothing for me to say we won't be back. I think we'll make this hotel our "Stop Over" hotel for future trips.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My friend and I were in town for a wedding on the weekend. We checked in on a Saturday and left Sunday afternoon. Upon arrival the front desk staff was very friendly. We noticed there was a high school soccer team or maybe even college checking in as well. We were asked what floor we wanted to be on and whatever floor we chose they would put the kids on the opposite floor, We choose a front room on the 3rd floor because we were told the back rooms are noisy because of the highway. The kids were put on the first and second floors.

We found the sheets to be clean, the room was clean and overall the bed was so comfortable. (pillow top) The downside to the hotel was that the bathroom tub does not have any protection against slipping while showering. If there is too much lather from your soap in the shower you could fall. My other issue was that the water in the sink would drain out very slowly, while brushing my teeth I had a sink full of water.

We never had the chance to have the continental breakfast or use any of the amenities, but again it was only an overnight stay.

I did not unpack as soon as I got home but about a day or two later I noticed I had left my pajamas and a few other items behind in the room. I contacted the hotel and spoke to Jennifer who told me the items had been retrieved. She said i could pick them up the next day, unfortunately I do not live in Pennsylvania, I live in NY. When Jennifer heard this she offered to mail my things back to me. Who does that? I thought this was such a great gesture on the hotels part and I thank the people that turned my things in!!! It has only been a day so I have not received the items yet, but I am so happy they are on the way.

For one night the price was great for two people and the hotel was acceptable. If I was passing through that town again for a short stay I would definitley stay at this hotel. We were very satisfied with our visit, in fact if we are ever in any other locations we will definitely check out Country Inn & Suites.

Room Tip: Dont choose any room on the back side of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper you will not apprecia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have stayed here several times and will continue to stay here when we are in the area. The staff are warm and friendly. They can't do enough to make you feel comfortable and welcome. Breakfast is included which is always nice. There are several hot and cold items to choose from. The hotel is clean and well cared for. There are several stores and restaurants near the hotel. One of the best features are the warm cookies waiting for you when you arrive!

Room Tip: Stay in the front of the building. There's a highway in the back that can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacheragain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shokan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

This was a disappointing stay. At first it seemed OK; the manager offered us a room on the non-highway side, so I was expecting good things. The lobby was cute, and there were cookies and fruit available. But then it all went downhill. Our first room was so dirty we had to request a new room. When I pulled back the covers in on the bed in our first room there were black specks all over the sheets. The bed was so poorly made it looked like it had been slept in. We couldn't figure out if they were bugs or not. My husband's pillow was so dirty it looked like something was spilled on it. The hairs in the sheets and pillow case were too much so we asked for another room. Unfortunately we got the room next door, cleaned by the same person. The sheets were better (far from perfect) but the carpet was disgusting. By the door it had obviously never been vacuumed, and there was a huge mat of black hair on the floor. The bathroom counter had dried patches of lotion(?) on it. I have never stayed in such a dirty room. I wanted to switch hotels but it was very late so we stayed. The sheets and towels looked like they were 50 years old. Extremely thin and discolored. It was unbelievable. The next morning we went to the free breakfast buffet which was ready on time (yea). Unfortunately the scrambled eggs were so bad I couldn't eat them. They were gritty, like they were instant and not well made. I tried a hard-boiled egg, (aweful) and the "bacon" was terrible. The fruit tasted strange, so we ate packaged items - cereal and nutri-grain bars. We travel a lot and stay at many places, and this was by far my worst experience ever. I will never stay there again and I recommend everyone else stay away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 26 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 26 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Address: 1529 Commerce Ave, Carlisle, PA 17015-9166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer hotel in Carlisle PA where you are treated like a friend. Hot cookies and coffee upon arrival, complimentary newspapers also available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Country Inn And Suites Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing