We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Overall very good place!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at the Country Inn during the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg. The price was great and, having booked late, we were very glad to find a place so close. It was easy to get to our destination; the hotel provided shuttle service, which we used the first day of our stay. The hotel is very nice and clean. Check-in and check-out was easy. The staff was good, especially Pam. Our room was nicely decorated. We did not take advantage of all available amenities since we were already booked for the celebration in Gettysburg. The bed was very comfy and the room was quiet. Linens were supplied daily. The complimentary breakfast was good; there were different foods provided each day. I especially liked the seasonal berries for the yogurt (the yogurt was not in a carton-a plus!). Our only complaint was that the room smelled; it had a dank, mildewy scent. We did not know what caused the odor, but it was in the carpet. We heard the sound of a drip in the bathroom, but did not see any drips from the shower head, the bathtub faucet, or the faucet in the sink. It sounded like it came from the pipes behind the sink. I spoke with Pam about the odor; maybe it will not be a problem in the future.

Room Tip: We were in Room 128 that faced Commerce Drive and not the interstate. Our room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightingale1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    109
    29
    25
    16
See reviews for
172
66
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here when attending the 150th anniversary of Gettysburg because the hotels were much cheaper in Carlisle. The room was small, but nice. The hotel is adjacent to the Internet but they had noise reducing glass on the windows which cut down on the outside noise. The food was good for breakfast, but they could really stand rearranging the food so that the flow of traffic was smoother. The ice machine wasn't working but this could have been caused by the number of sports teams at the hotel. Loved the cookies. Hotel is located on a side road near several industrial companies and the hospital. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeekendWanders52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this property during the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg and chose this particular hotel for it's comparative value. The staff was very friendly during check-in/out and the breakfast service. The room was spacious and clean, and the beds and pillows were comfortable. Only once during our 3-night stay did the housekeeping staff leave one of our used bath towels in the room, otherwise keeping the area very tidy. The pool area is quite small and the spa has a maximum capacity of two persons, but it's open late so there's not too much trouble involved in avoiding the kiddie crowd. The complimentary breakfast offers a lot of hot and cold options, including fresh eggs and bacon, lifting it above what you'd typically expect from a mid-priced hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the center of the hotel facing the parking lot. Only the main entrance (in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KY_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked in advance for 150th anniversary of the battle of Gettysburg. We stayed in Carlisle because the prices were higher in Gettysburg. It was about 30-40 minute drive there (our GPS took us thru pretty countryside, including an orchard where my husband got some great cherries). The room was great and the service was great. We left before breakfast was served to get to the battlefield early. I asked for the bag to go breakfast and requested 2 choco-chip for the kids and blueberry muffin ones for me and my husband. He included 4 bagel sausage-egg sandwiches too! This end up being breakfast and then lunch on our bike ride around the battlefield. The rest of the days we ate breakfast in the very tiny room. The food was good and a great variety each day, but the tables were crammed together (maybe they had extra because of the 150th?). There was a shuttle to Gettysburg available, but we didn't use it. Only thing wrong was the tight fit in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We weren't really sure about staying at a Country Inn and Suites. We normally stay at the Hampton Inn but, it was late and we were so tired or driving. To our surprise, it was AWESOME!!!! We will be staying again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vglindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Export, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Service and staff were excellent. Pam is an extremely helpful service desk attendant. She went above and beyond what was to be expected. She made many fresh warm cookies for guests (which were amazing, btw), told us how to get to the nearest Pizza Hut, told us about a tourist attraction, and even offered to change our room when a miniscule issue was mentioned (toilet would keep running after flushed, all it needed was to have the handle shook--they are going to look into it). The room was nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The warm and cold options in the continental breakfast were great. Thanks Country Inn for a such a nice time!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrugalTraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Well, this was our 2nd. Time at this location the first one was very good that's the reason why we choose to stay here for 2nd. Time, but what a surprise the service was very bad, first of all the 1st. Lady who received us for check in was very rude and we ask some questions and she was looking at the computer at all the times and just answer with bad attitude...and at the second day in the morning we were ready to get our breakfast but the choices that we got was nothing, because the trays was empty no more omelettes, no more fruit and they said the breakfast is served from 6:30 thru 9:30 and when we come down was at 8:45, but what a disgusting surprise one of the the two ladies who supposed are there to take care of that section (to be more specific the oldest one) GRAB SOME PIECES OF BACON WITH THE FINGERS AND PUT IN HER MOUTH AND GO TO GRAB SOME SILVERWARE AND JUST PUT THEM ON THE BREAKFAST AREA AND NEVER WASH HER HANDS, and the last when we was checking out the lady who was in the front desk never ask about our experience at the hotel, for all this reasons we never will comeback to this location, they need to take care of many things.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mundomay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather M, Assistant General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Mundomay,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your experience at our property. I would like to personally apologize for any discomfort you may have encountered. I had attempted to contact you through an earlier email in the hopes of further discussing your stay, but it may not have reached you. If you would like to further discuss the issues mentioned, please do not hesitate to contact me. However, I want you to feel that your comments have been heard and we will certainly investigate and correct any inappropriate actions on the part of our staff that may have occurred.

Thank you,
Heather Macomber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle South
Days Inn Carlisle South
#5 of 26 in Carlisle
838 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 26 in Carlisle
694 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 26 in Carlisle
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Carlisle
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Address: 1529 Commerce Ave, Carlisle, PA 17015-9166
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newer hotel in Carlisle PA where you are treated like a friend. Hot cookies and coffee upon arrival, complimentary newspapers also available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Country Inn And Suites Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing