We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic International flavor in small town PA”
Review of Issei Noodle

Issei Noodle
Ranked #10 of 161 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic International flavor in small town PA”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We can't get enough! We had a extended 5 week stay in Carlisle and by chance stopped into Issei. Each dish was more outstanding than the next! The Pho noodle broth was brought out in a huge bowl that could have fed out entire table! I had the chicken red curry which was excellent! We've been back twice after that initial visit and everything we've had has been incredible! Our only let down on the last visit was that they were sold out of 2 of the 3 desserts offered on the menu. Guess we'll have to make another trip!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    57
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find in Carlisle”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Had dinner here this evening after finding on TripAdvisor.
Great food. Will definitely mark as a favorite when we are back in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maryann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic noodles and yakisoba!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Outstanding noodles and yakisoba. Spent five years in Japan. Have talked about how we'd like to go back just to eat! It was a wonderful, unexpected surprise to find out we just had to come to Carlisle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hearty, rustic, family-style ramen!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Issei Noodle is a classic family-run, family-style restaurant serving food like mom made for you! We started with a hearty miso soup--probably the best I've ever had in a restaurant--and had two ramen noodle dishes: chashu and spicy tan-tan. Both soups were individually distinct in broth, contents, and flavors: everything was fresh, and obviously prepared on order. This is not elegant food: for that, go to a chef's three-star restaurant. This is hearty, flavorful, stick-to-your ribs noodle soup, with authentic tastes and textures. Service was family-style as well: friendly, attentive, and hoping you'd like what they served.
This place is absolutely worth a detour off I-76 or I-81.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Good!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

One of my favorite places to eat! The Chicken and Egg Don-Buri and Thai Bubble Tea are amazing! I have also tried the Pad See Ew and Egg Noodle Delight, both are tasty as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MnW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Issei Noodle also viewed

 
Carlisle, PA
 

Been to Issei Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing