We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't believe how disgusting it actually was.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Harrisburg - Carlisle
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Last summer my boyfriend and I were heading home to NJ from Indiana and got really tired so we looked up a place we could stop for cheap on the way home. Figured for $50 a night it was not going to be great but we could not believe how disgusting it actually was! Room was beyond filthy. Upon turning the bed spread over a large insect appeared from under the sheets. The sheets and bed spread had yellow stains and burn holes in them. The bathroom was gross and the toilet barely flushed. Tiny old tv and beat up desk and chair. It was literally like a flea bag hotel room you would see in a movie. Never ever stay at this place. Front desk woman was also grumpy not very friendly. WORST MOTEL EVER no standards they should pay people to actually stay there not the other way around.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lor1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

I was stuck in Carlisle, unexpectedly, over the weekend and thought the Motel 6 appeared to be a good deal. It was absolutely atrocious. As if it were not enough that the sliding doors of the balcony were without the ability to lock, the room was filthy and then, to my horror, upon picking up the receiver to the telephone, I spied a short black curly hair as if placed there strategically to echo someone else's presumption of just how poor Housekeeping could be. They were right.

Room Tip: Select a hotel either up or down the street. They cannot be worse than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LockportTrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

No longer carpeted in some rooms but the bamboo floors are filthy . If I walked barefoot from the front bed to bathroom my feet were filthy . They need to be cleaned with a wet swifter type mop weekly , hope the management reads this.
The beds are good , sheets and pillows are fine . TV was decent but only about 25 channels .
I can't comment on the wifi because I used my own portable satellite link. I was there for car show and friend with me used the wifi only with his phone and didn't complain .
Walls have been repainted over a knockdown finish and are a great improvement but the place is still older with just a facelift.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front or west side may have less noise from the nearby highway. If there on a car sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 262Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I've been here three times now and wish ALL Motel 6 locations were like this one. Quiet, clean, and incredibly inexpensive. Just 29.99 weeknights, and 35.99 weekends, can't beat the value and cleanliness. Remodeled, and just clean. Sounds like a fake review I'm sure, but I look for $40-$60 rooms and try to be fair on all my reviews - this one earns it's high ranking. The only thing good about driving all the way across PA on the I-76 toll road is this inexpensive, yet comfortable hotel. This is my stopping point every time I head to the east coast!

Room Tip: Restaurants are a couple miles away, but plenty to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This Motel 6 is less than 60 seconds off of the PA Turnpike, is super affordable and impressively nice. The floors are hardwood which are nice, although we stayed on a particularly snowy night and so we tracked in a lot of snow which left puddles on the floor and made it slippery. But I'm guessing that the hard floors are easier to clean, and they certainly look nice. Otherwise, we were really pleased - we've stayed at some really awful places for a lot more money, and we couldn't find much to complain about with this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisamdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This was a road trip stop over. Usually the best I can hope for is a clean room at a reasonable price. So based on the price of this motel I wasn't expecting much. Was I surprised - yes it's a basic motel but the bamboo floors, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and a spotlessly clean new bathroom was more than I could ever expect for the price I paid. The front desk personnel - one at night at check in and another in the morning at check out were wonderful - friendly and helpful. What a nice stop! And as an added bonus - stop in at Rutters service area across the street - they carry Maple Donuts - a PA staple - excellent!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have been redone as I described. Without a doubt - you cannot find a nicer room for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dav695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Traveling from Columbus, OH to Clifton, NJ we were looking for a place to stay after about 6 hours on the road. We checked other motels in the area and they were out of our price range, but then we found Motel 6. We were so lucky to stumble upon this motel, nice and friendly staffing, great rates, and clean, quiet rooms. If you are looking for someplace to stay that is turnpike accessible in a good location, look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megsimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Carlisle
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle
Travelodge Carlisle
#22 of 27 in Carlisle
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Econo Lodge Carlisle
#13 of 27 in Carlisle
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
#5 of 27 in Carlisle
38 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle North
Days Inn Carlisle North
#9 of 27 in Carlisle
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Harrisburg - Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Harrisburg - Carlisle

Address: 1153 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1669
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £34 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Harrisburg - Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Harrisburg - Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlisle
Motel Six Carlisle
Carlisle Motel Six
Carlisle Motel 6
Motel 6 Harrisburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing