We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little park”

Kings Gap Environmental Education and Training Center
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, PA USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great little park”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

a little gem in Central Pennsylvania. Lots of educational offerings in the great outdoors suited for all ages. children's camps in the summers. enjoyable hiking, except that we can't ever seem to find any trail maps and many of the trails are not marked by names.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlisleJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun and educational”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Great view... if you check out information, one or twice a year you can TOUR the mansion. Good programs for the kids, interesting enough for adults.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenmore ny
Level Contributor
229 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Mansion in there too!”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Nice trails and old mansion there with beautiful views of the area.Mansion is used as cinference center and wedding venue too. Be aware if small winding roads to get to to the top.It is free and has many beautiful trees and trails to explore.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biglerville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An Annual Autumn Visit”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Our family has loved coming to Kings Gap to hike, picnic, sketch, and more for years. A day there during each Autumn was a much-anticipated break from our everyday lives of homeschooling and working. We packed our lunch and ate it at the foot of the mountain on the porch of the old cabin. (You can't go inside.) We took our kitchen strainers and "fished" for insects and bits in the pond about half-way up the mountain. We hiked the trails and "hoped we'd see some bear." LOL I always loved the garden at the top of the mountain beside the mansion (now used as offices and closed to public) with its formal herb garden, composting demonstration site, and native borders. Lots of good ideas there for mid-Atlantic gardeners. Additionally, we have participated in a few programs over the years and found them to be very well done.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank writercook21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Free outdoors fun.”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Hike, learn, be at peace with nature. Also probably one of the BEST places, and cheapest, to have a wedding reception (or any other large party) at. The view is amazing, and the forest is really nice, pretty clean hikes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eddie86Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Gap Environmental Education and Training Center also viewed

 

Been to Kings Gap Environmental Education and Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing