We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking views, Great Gardens, and enough trails for all”

Kings Gap Environmental Education and Training Center
Ranked #4 of 27 things to do in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Gettysburg,PA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Breath-taking views, Great Gardens, and enough trails for all”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We visited Kings Gap for the annual Mothers day sale of native plants. As always, our trip was delightful. After we made our purchases, we stopped by the gift shop where the staff members were helpful in answering all our questions. We always stop bythe small pond in the garden to visit the frogs and salamanders -- and this time we lingered to watch all the underwater antics. Don't miss the views from the mansion veranda.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fairville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun place for the family”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We live nearby and visit in the summer as well. Be sure to find and enjoy Laurel Lake on you visit there

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pugpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and a mansion to boot”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a beautiful place to take a day hike or two. The trails are well maintained - 16 mile worth- and the views of the Cumberland Valley are very pretty. There are sponsored night hikes with a ranger that really would appeal to the young and/or curious.
There is also an Italian style mansion at the top of the mountain that can be rented out for weddings, etc. Very picturesque and open on Sunday afternoons for self guided tours (unless there's an event going on). Well worth the day trip!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank enternamehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hikers dream”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Being new to the Carlisle area, and a new dog owner, I am always on the prowl for new places to go. King's Gap was No Dissapointment- The veiws from the over looks were breath taking. The Mansion and Estate grounds were lovely, & very well maintained. My rescued Fox Hound and I loved the trails. They are very well marked and had several levels of difficulty. We Chose a short 1.7mile trail of (More difficulty). It was wonderful! I cannot wait til next weekend to go back and try another Path. There are a dozen trails to choose from-so they will be seeing us a lot this summer!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Love this place. Great walking trails and gardens. Beautiful mansion and views of the valley. Go to their harvest festival... a very nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kings Gap Environmental Education and Training Center also viewed

 

Been to Kings Gap Environmental Education and Training Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing