We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Tooth Satisfaction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helena's Chocolate Cafe & Creperie

Helena's Chocolate Cafe & Creperie
Ranked #2 of 9 Dessert in Carlisle
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Tooth Satisfaction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Crepe's were excellent, well prepared and so tasty. Didn't have a bad experience in four visits. Pastry's are excellent and the speciality coffee's were good as well. The place is a little run down, but if you crave a dessert or something to satisfy your sweet tooth this is the place to be. Friendly service, worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tazmwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
country
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Helena's in Carlisle PA”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Carlisle PA has a few good restaurants & artsy stores & even an indie theater within a few blocks. Helena's a great place for breakfast, brunch or coffee next to the Carlisle theater. It has homemade macaroons and other wonderful sweet treats. Also serves crepes. My friend had cheese, sausage white crepe which was delicious! I had buckwheat and spinach with dill crepe & it fell apart and was rather tasteless. (Suggest they add cheese to the spinach & I'll skip the buckwheat next time). Casual atmosphere. Compares favorably to the ubiquitous diner-type breakfast/lunch elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GypsyTravelerCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle,
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best deserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stop for deserts. The cookies are eclectic and fun to try. The cakes are always original. Servers are sweet and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank J Eliza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok for desserts, not impressed with lunch offerings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I was drawn in by the name of the restaurant, and was expecting a lot more chocolate desserts. There were 4 of us. The hot chocolate was good, but it tasted like the hot chocolate I make at home with Hershey's unsweetened cocoa. Three in the group had the clam chowder, and thought it was excellent. I had a turkey and provolone crepe with red pepper mayonnaise, and it was OK, nothing I'd ever order again. I didn't try any of the 6 dessert crepes, as there wasn't one that appealed to both my husband and me. They did have many scrumptious looking desserts, several types of cheesecake (we had 2types at the table, both delicious!), a flourless gluten free chocolate mini bundt cake (the only chocolate cake offered), apple pie, carrot cake, cream puffs and a few other cakes, as well as an assortment of cookies and dark chocolate candies. I'd suggest skipping the lunch sandwiches or crepes, and going for one of the desserts. There is on-street parking, and while we felt lucky finding a parking space right in front of the restaurant, we failed to notice the parking meters that were partially obscured by the Christmas decorations, so 5 minutes after we entered the store, we got slapped with a parking ticket!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The coffee shop in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

They have moved a few doors up the street on W High Street to a place with bigger kitchen. They now offer more choices and the best cakes and chocolate in town. On Saturday morning fresh bread and croissants from Metropolitan bakery in Philadelphia on sale. Saturday's service can be very slow due to one till and only one cashier. Owners are very friendly and very involved with their cafe. Some comfortable armchairs in the window.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helena's Chocolate Cafe & Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Helena's Chocolate Cafe & Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing