We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Clean and recently refurbished! Terrific customer service. Nice fresh fruit at breakfast buffet. It's about 10 times better than other hotels on the same road, but only costs same or a little bit more. I'd definitely stay here again. Perfect location if you're needing to be at the USAHEC.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there's a bad room - all newly renovated, I think.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Pamela M,

Thank you so much for the great review on your recent stay with us. Also, thank you for your "5 Star Rating." We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found us accommodating. We look forward to your stay with us should your travels bring you to the Carlisle area in the future.

Regards,
Sam Patel - General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlisle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

New hotel that was very close to where we needed to be. Knowing that the PA turnpike ran by the back of the hotel, I had requested a room on the front side of the hotel, and we had no noise issue. Our room was big enough and clean. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool. The breakfast buffet is great, as it includes both hot and cold items and the staff works hard to keep it well stocked. A special thanks to Patricia who went above and beyond to make sure my Mom was happy with her breakfast!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the hotel are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Stephanie C,

Thank you for taking the time tor review your recent stay with us and for the "5 Star Rating." We appreciate your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy our amenities. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Regards,
Sam Patel - General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlisle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is a little out of the way so it is in a nice and quiet area. The staff were pleasant and our room was great! We paid the extra $40 and got a room with a jacuzzi and man was it worth it! When you consider you will pay $80 for a roach motel in the area and this was $130 (with stuff like red roof at $90 a night) this was definitely worth the extra. The parking is free and the bed and pillows are soft with the room having a modern look to it. IF I was going to nitpick about the room I would tell you the thermostat was mounted crooked otherwise it was very good. As for noise level we were woken up once by noisey kids in the hallway late at night only once. The hotel does tack on a $20 charge in case of damages, but my credit card company tell me this is due to be released tomorrow so no issues unless that does not turn out to be the case. Now the hotel will tell you they offer a complimentary breakfast - OJ (fresh and pulpless) apple and cranberry (ok but not great), water - standard, coffee and tea. As for the food do yourself a favor PASS ON THE FOOD! The food is bland and aside from the bacon barely cooked, they do have a pancake maker which cooks the pancakes in 2mins flat, but the pancakes only come in plain with no option to add anything else to the mix. The omelette uses american yellow cheese and eggs, the ham is warm, but not browned, just avoid the stomach issues and pass on the food - this is the only downside here. There is a cracker barrel about 15mins drive away do your stomach a favor and go there - cheap good quality food at the cracker barrel - the Express Inn is great, just not for the breakfast - AVOID THE BREAKFAST!

Room Tip: we stayed in a king size bed opposite the main pool, away from the ice machine, a clear line of sigh...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martok78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Martok78,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and the "5 Star Rating" for your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and we apologize that our breakfast was not to your liking. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Thank you,
Sam Patel - General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlisle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent a single night here and were generally pleased with the room. The hotel is new. The room size was probably larger than the average Holiday Inn and Suites room. It was clean and comfortable but a bit noisy. The hotel sits on a busy road and there is a busy service station near one end of the hotel so traffic noise was apparent until about 11 PM or so. We also noted we could hear voices emanating from rooms nearby, something we hadn't quite expected in a new building. There is a small but nicely setup exercise room. Towels were available but there were no alcohol wipes to sanitize the equipment, something that these days is pretty standard. Breakfast was good. Service staff were helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Steve O,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear about the noise you experienced during your stay. We are happy you enjoyed our amenities that we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Carlisle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

New hotel with opening pains. My door opened without a key. I went to the front desk to report it. The maintenance man was fixing it before I got back to the room. Great response. Super friendly front desk clerk (Julie). This town needed a good hotel. Finally has one.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Julie B,

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel. We hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you the the Carlisle area again in the future.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Recently had a trip to this area to visit my sons and grandchildren. Very new hotel, so was actually excited to stay here, thinking this will be great!! Unfortunately this was not the case! Room was okay, but not great! Walls EXTREMELY thin! Could hear EVERYTHING in the night, traffic going by on the interstate all night, but worst of all waking up around midnight to a neighboring guest having sex! Hearing everything down to the moans and the bed banging against the wall! Had to have the TV on all night to keep from hearing this, and sadly it did not just happen once!! If you have children I would definitely choose a different hotel!! Needless to say we checked out the next morning with only a 25 percent discount, which in my opinion was not enough! Happily, we drove to the next hotel The Hampton Inn...they took us in right away at 7am even though check in was not until 3 pm even offered us breakfast, and the room was fantastic!! It was a little more per night, but like my husband has always said...you only get what you pay for!! This was so true in many ways with this visit! I realize this is not the hotels fault, but this needs to be put out there for other families, so they do not have the same experience we had! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Kristie C,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Staying at this hotel was a pleasant experience! Check-in, with no reservation, was quick and easy. We had a king, non-smoking room. Unfortunately, the walls were not very soundproof, but our understanding is this will be rectified in the near future. There was a very nice lounge area; perfect if coffee/tea would have been available throughout the evening. The pool hours were extended; not closing until 10 pm. Both the pool and the hot tub were extremely clean with perfect temperatures. Breakfast hours were very adequate with a large area in which to eat. Trays were also available to take items to your room; that was a pleasant offering! The breakfast attendant was very efficient and courteous. There was an extremely large group of teens eating and she worked diligently to keep all items in ready supply and cooked perfectly. She addressed guest questions effectively and courteously. Check-out was very quick; the option for express check-out was extremely convenient. There were no problems with the free wi-fi and the cable offerings were satisfactory. Front desk staff was quite helpful in my search for medicine for my husband who had taken ill; the lady's thoughtfulness was appreciated. This hotel is in close proximity to the Carlisle Fairgrounds; as we were visiting for Spring Carlisle.It is also right across the street from a nice steakhouse. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our king room was extremely large and comfortable; we stayed on the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shershe699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Shershe699,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review on your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed our amenities that we have to offer and that you found our staff helpful. We strive to make all of our guests stays here a pleasant one. We look forward to you staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Carlisle
5.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Carlisle
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Carlisle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area

Address: 1152 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Carlisle Harrisburg Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing