We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as in past”
Review of Rillo's - CLOSED

Rillo's
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not as good as in past”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Feel sad that restaurant has lost quality over the years. Keep trying them and meals remain average. Very limited lunch menu. Needs remodeling-feels worn.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atl157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    29
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“I think they were having a bad night”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went to Rillo's on a Saturday night after receiving a strong recommendation. We had about ten people in our group and they squeezed us in at the same table. The waiter was knowledgable and friendly and put in a good effort, but he had too many tables to serve to provide sufficient attention to us. We knew people at a nearby table and their waitress must have been new as she barely paid any attention to them. At our table, one person stated that his meal was a mix of good items and a main dish that was too rough to chew; my meal was just okay; and another person said that his lasagna was as good as the meal his Italian grandmother used to prepare. Service was extremely slow for the people we knew at the other table. Although they arrived at the same time, we were finishing dessert when they were being served their meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newengland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had lunch here over the Easter weekend. The food was edible but nothing to brag about. I had the Veal and Artichokes. The recipe was there but the delivery of the final product failed to meet my expectations. The veal was overcooked and it needed more flavor. The service was not good at all. They obviously did not have enough wait staff for the busy weekend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle, pa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Italian food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rillo's has been around for a very long time. The founders....the Rillo Family....ran a wonderful family restaurant with great food. Over the years owners have tried to duplicate the food but it is not the same. This said it is still a good...not great bot ok. Carlisle is lacking in great restaurants....sad but true.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob, CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All around good”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Authentic homemade Italian food. Appetizers were great (bruschetta with pesto, very rich seafood bisque, mozzarella sticks). Mixed feelings on the entrees, non-pasta entrees pricey (mostly $25+). Very friendly service. Comfortable booths. Decor average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank merlot94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing