We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great little place”

Hamilton Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 161 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great little place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We loved our visit to the Hamilton. The food was great, portions were huge. I visited with my three daughters for lunch. Three of the four of us took boxes away and had enough for dinner as well. I had the fish sandwich. My girls had the steak sandwich, chicken tenders, and a grilled chicken salad. We were a little surprised at the fries on the salad, but my daughter still enjoyed it sans fries.

The staff is friendly and efficient. One thing to know, though, this is a cash only establishment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perkyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    29
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
395 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Maybe a Landmark...But I'd Keep Looking”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I don't get these reviews.

Hamilton was a disappointment...every dish including Hotcheedogs. Best in PA? Really?

Famed hot dog platter was offered with onions and chili only (see pics)...but no sauerkraut was available. Huh?

Fish sandwich was over-fried and dried out.

Friday Clam Chowder was near clam-less.

Friendly, helpful service.

Certainly great prices. Popular with local clientele.

Personally, I'd prefer higher prices AND better quality of food/preparation.

Cash only.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food. Great price.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A legendary restaurant in Carlisle! Their cole slaw is delicious. Seriously. You won't find any lunch meat here, all sandwiches are made with sliced meat and plenty of it. Hot dogs are famous- notorious hotchee dogs are made with onion, mustard, cheese and smothered in chili- a must have! They even serve alcohol!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PittGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's a hometown landmark”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hamilton is noted for not only great hotchee dogs, the Greek salad is wonderful and authentic. Everything is always fresh. The crab cakes are comparable to upscale restaurants. The portions are more than generous and priced very reasonably. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 9worldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I'll Have Another!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If ever in Carlisle, PA for a car show or a hike on the Appalachian Trail, don't miss out on the oportunity for a Carlisle classic; the Hotchee Dog, a real "Barker thru the Garden!" These dogs really hit the spot; reasonably priced meals and a very friendly atmosphere. And do yourself the added favor of pulling up a stool at the ol' time bar and be sure to add an order of fries with extra beef gravy. Brrrp! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hamilton Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hamilton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing