We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Diamond Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamond Inn
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed 13 October 2013

No wi fi..when reported by phone the staff hangs up on you..when asked to connect to manager no action..when asked to refund so we can vacate and take another hotel, the staff said that's not possible..asked us to come over in the lobby to use the internet..overall terrible experience..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suneesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

When I arrived at 6:45 pm, one of the 3 rooms I booked wasn't even ready. So my party had to wait outside until it was done. Another one of my rooms was missing a set of towels. The room I stayed in had a hole punched through the wooden bathroom door and the drywall above the towel was also punched in....We even had to spray cologne to tolerate the moldy smell of the room. As far as I am concerned I will never book this hotel ever again !! In another room a couple of the lights were not working... The coffee at breakfast was cold, and all there was available were tiny soft bagels what looked like mini egg plain omlettes

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very impressed by hotel staff & service. Specially hotel with bar / restaurant and huge parking. We had a newly upgraded rooms, breakfast really cool. I must say best on exit. Well hotel does have a issue, owner & manager are actively involved to resolved.

Room Tip: Best on exits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Gaah. I've read about better hotels in H. P. Lovecraft stories.

First off, this place is situated in a blasted heath directly across the road from a truck wash. Carlisle, PA appears to be a town dominated entirely by trucks and truck-related emporia -- so it makes sense that the Howard Johnson's in Carlisle looks like a place where truckers might ... sheesh, I don't know ... drink themselves to death, re-create favorite scenes from David Lynch movies, or enjoy a night of illicit something-or-other -- maybe even with another human being.

Not that I have anything against truckers. My ex father-in-law drives a truck. Great guy.

The man at the front desk was ... ummm, I think the word is "obsequious." He sort of simpered and appeared to be pre-deflecting criticism he hadn't yet received but was confident was on its way. We tiptoed to our room, hoping no other doors would open. The ice machine looked like it had been hit with a missile of some kind. The room smelled funny and the carpet was damp. There was a weird collapse-y couch in the room. I did not get along well with that couch.

We did not brave the continental breakfast. Based on other reviews here, that was a good choice.

In sum, this institution won't set your wallet on fire, but it may make you feel lucky you don't live in Carlisle, PA.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. I am confident of that. If there were good rooms at one time, they left in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Total trucker hotel, dirty, beat up. We got a cheap deal on Priceline doing a name-your-own price late at night, when we'd been driving all day. I fell into bed and tried not to look at the stain on the comforter. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the sheets were reasonably clean, but that's where the positives end.

The place is right across the street from a truck wash. The bathroom is moldy and smells like mildew. But you won't smell it until you step in the shower, because the carpet will be wet and reeking of industrial orange cleaner. The water coming out of the faucet is hot but the shower is ice-cold. I washed myself off hovering over the tub and got out of there as fast as I could. As soon as I got to my house three hours later, I was in the shower scrubbing my hair. Enough said.

Room Tip: Don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carboncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Edwward B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Carlisle
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle
Travelodge Carlisle
#22 of 27 in Carlisle
231 reviews
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#16 of 27 in Carlisle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Carlisle
Econo Lodge Carlisle
#13 of 27 in Carlisle
159 reviews
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle North
Days Inn Carlisle North
#10 of 27 in Carlisle
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
Red Roof Inn Carlisle
#5 of 27 in Carlisle
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Inn

Address: 1245 Harrisburg Pike, Carlisle, PA 17013-1621 (Formerly Knights Inn Carlisle)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: £47 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Diamond Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Carlisle
Carlisle Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing