We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night In Carlisle PA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A beautiful location on an early Spring weekend, we checked in for one night and was greeted by Kit and Rehab (the dog). Our room was on the first floor and it was very clean and beautifully decorated. We picked this B&B because we were doing a walking tour of Carlisle and it is just outside of town. After dinner in town, we came back and walked the grounds before sunset and pet the visiting horses. It is a very serene location - just wished we had more time to spend. It would be a lovely venue for a wedding! Breakfast was great and talking to some of the other guests made us want to linger but we had a train to catch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit and Robin S, Owner at Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Spring is beautiful in PA and we are happy you found Pheasant Field to be a serene location. Our guests enjoy walking our grounds and taking in all the various flowers and garden areas. We hope to have you as our guests again and thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This is truly a wonderful B&B. Kitty and Robin are incredible hosts, both laid back and professional at the same time.

The property is full of history and the hosts are more than happy to tell you all about the stories attached to the barn, house, piano, and more! It was incredibly pleasant and homey feeling.

We stayed in The Cottage and it was perfect. Equipped to fulfill basic cooking and dining needs with a perfect table for cards or games. There was also a living room with a futon, making the space perfect for families or couples needing a little extra space.

Every accommodation we needed we got. The food in particular was unbelievable. There were sweet or savory choices for each breakfast we had and everything tasted fabulous. Kitty is particularly skilled at making her own bread.

This place is the perfect spot for a weekend stay, a wedding, shower, birthday party, or any event. Absolutely can't wait to visit again! I miss it already.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Allieob416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit and Robin S, Owner at Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for the great review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our quiet B&B. We love sharing the story of Pheasant Field and we're happy to give our guests tours of the property. Thank you for sharing your breakfast photos! It's rewarding to know you enjoyed your breakfast as much as we enjoy preparing it! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed one night, and it was wonderful. We are planning another trip in the spring because of how great our stay was. We ended up checking in late, and the hosts were very understanding and accommodating of our needs. They had drinks out for us when we arrived. They also made time to give us a tour of the house. It really is a gem, so beautiful and full of so much history. Breakfast in the morning was AMAZING, and they had no problem accommodating me as a vegetarian.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are part of the main house, so the kitchen and common areas are downstairs. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit and Robin S, Owner at Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we really like when we have the opportunity get to know our guests too! Thank you for the kind review and we hope we are fortunate to have you as guests again very soon. Thank you for staying at Pheasant Field!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Traveling with horses is stressful; Robin and Kit made it so much less so; we called Robin about a 1/2 hour before we anticipated arriving, and he asked us to give him a call when we hit the exit off 81 so he could talk us in. We were greated in the driveway by Robin and ofcourse Rehab the sweetest lab cross you could ever meet. The paddocks were clean, with large run-ins and well fenced, with big buckets of fresh water ready for our horses.(There are stalls available for those who prefer stalls, but our horses are outside all the time and they had another day of travel ahead of them so stretching their legs all night was good). Once the horses were settled and fed, Robin set us up in our beautiful "room" we were in the little cabin with a kitchenet, a bedroom and a sitting room. Everyting was beautiful. In the main house, kit provided us with a menu for a local place that delivers for Dinner and when dinner arrived they were brought over to us. After a good nights sleep, breakfast was fabulous! The history of the inn makes staying here that much more interesting. Wish we had had time to take advantage of the trails and see more of the area. Have already booked our stay on the return trip.

Room Tip: Pet friendly facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BCH_Cody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Whether you are a seasoned bed and breakfast kind of person - loving the thrill of searching out various bed and breakfast places and trying them out, or whether it is your first time at a bed and breakfast, you will find joy here at Pheasant Field. It is a meaningful, worthwhile retreat kind of a place. It is charming to look at, of course, full of country flare and clean surroundings and blissful scenery indeed; but there is more than that at Pheasant Field where you can learn some history of the buildings and grounds and barn; get acquainted with the calming rhythms of the sounds of nature; meet wonderful folks - the caring, nurturing innkeepers, Robin and Kit and their sweet equally as nurturing dog, Rehab (even if you are not a "dog person", you will be charmed!); have a restful night's sleep in a clean room; and be nourished with care and good nutrition with the breakfast prepared by your innkeepers. Do choose this spot and leave joyful and grateful that you did.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargieAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit and Robin S, Owner at Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

What a treat it was to stay at this absolutely lovely B&B! The grounds are beautiful, with the views of the pond and the old barn. The room was amazing! We stayed in "Sweet Remembrance", luxurious room with fireplace, whirlpool tub, and a 8 nozzle shower!
But the best part are the gracious and welcoming owners, Kitty and Robin and their sweet dog Rehab. The breakfast was Delicious!! Kitty makes a pretty amazing omelet!
Highly recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit S, Owner at Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Suite Remembrance room! The fireplace is a favorite and our guests love the whirlpool tub and spa shower. If we have the opportunity to have you as guests again I'd be happy to whip up another omelete for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Wow! We felt like we hit the jack-pot when we arrived at this beautiful B&B in the Cumberland region of PA. The moment my husband, son and I arrived, we were greeted by our amazing hosts Robin, Kit and their sweet dog Rehab. Everything was top-notch, from our room, to the breakfasts, to the fantastic recommendations for recreation and dining in the area. We sincerely appreciated the way Robin and Kit welcomed our 12-year son. Kit went out of her way to make sure he had some of his favorites at breakfast and Robin showed him some of the most interesting parts of the historic property. Overall, our stay at Pheasant Field went beyond our expectations. There is no doubt we will return and will recommend it to all of our friends who visit the Carlisle area.

Room Tip: The "General Miller Room" has a day bed and lots of space to spread out which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kit S, Owner at Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Pheasant Field. We really enjoyed meeting and hosting an Army family, and it's always fun to share the history of the underground hiding space. Best wishes and we look forward to seeing your family again soon. Hooah!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 27 in Carlisle
346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlisle
Hampton Inn Carlisle
#1 of 27 in Carlisle
744 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carlisle House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Thornwald Mansion
Thornwald Mansion
#4 of 6 in Carlisle
26 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fallen Tree Farm Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 27 in Carlisle
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast

Address: 150 Hickorytown Rd, Carlisle, PA 17015-9732
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Carlisle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range: £108 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved, historic property with spacious guest rooms (some pet friendly!) Easy access from I-81 or I-76 in Carlisle, PA; Conveniently located between Gettysburg and Hershey; Delicious breakfasts, overnight horse boarding also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Pheasant Field Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing