We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Breafast, Your Experience May Differ Cheap!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmers Market Restaurant

Farmers Market Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 157 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
315 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Decent Breafast, Your Experience May Differ Cheap!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Note that this is a cash only establishment.

Located right next to the entrance for Rt 81 south I have passed this place for years without stopping. It is an older building that you could almost even call shabby. After I ate here I checked the web on their inspection and violations history and did not find anything alarming.

I stopped in for breakfast. The clientele seem mostly to be older retired locals with most people being on a first name basis. They do have a special board but I ordered off the menu. Their omelets come standard with toast, home fries are a side but the price of the omelet reflects that. I ordered a hot sausage omelet, no home fries, which arrived quickly. The presentation surprised me a bit as it was a large amount of egg, must have been ex-large eggs, with a tomato based sauce with sausage, peppers and onions ladled on top. It was not very hot sausage, but it was very tasty. The coffee was excellent, I just sat and drank several cups after I finished eating while talking with one of the regulars.

During my visit the service was excellent. They only have sugar on the tables so if you use an artificial sweetener you will have to ask for it, they use Sweet 'n Low. Overall a really good place for breakfast for the budget minded consumer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OBX717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dirty, Cramped and Cash only.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I walked in this restaurant, looked around for a minute, and walked out. I was ok with it being cash only, however the dirty floors, and smell from inside was horrible. Not a place to take children or elderly...I would not want them to get sick!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank REF60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old, tired but somehow busy?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

A step inside reminds me of my great grandmother's kitchen, if you've never done any upkeep to it since she passed away 25+ years ago. But the place has it's regulars and the food, though very basic, has never given me any intestinal upset...

Have only met friends here for breakfast a couple of times. Given my choice, I'd pick Kim's Creamery or Fay's Country Kitchen for breakfast. That said, this little restaurant has it's regulars- an older crowd- who obviously visit much more often than I do.
Service is friendly, not always quick, but not too slow, either, depending upon the crowd. Prices, however, are super reasonable- probably why there are regulars!

If you're looking for basic breakfast at a great price, visit. But you have been forewarned about the decor! :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank enternamehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The surroundings are sort of dingy, though the food is typical diner and the prices are good

Helpful?
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for a local greasy spoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

Found this thru our GPS on a road trip and dedided to try it. At first I wanted to run for the door, but we stayed. This is your typical greasy spoon/locals diner. The prices were LOW LOW LOW! I got a patty melt and sweet potato fries for $3.95 TOTAL!!! portions were small, but just enough for lunch. Really the food was not too bad...but you must go into it with out any expectations...its just not FANCY food...but for the price and fast service you can't beat it! I would probably stop here for fun again.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank appkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmers Market Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Farmers Market Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing